We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Ranked #6 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Beijing
2 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Kenthurst Lodge would be a very good choice for those who want to watch the yellow eyed penguins and visit the Nugget Point. Heather gave us very useful and practical advice, and kindly lent us warm clothes. Without her help we couldn't have stayed in the cold hide long enough to watch the very rare penguin. The B&B itself was also comfortable and great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I really wasn't sure what to expect of either Kaka Point or Kenthurst Lodge but both proved to be highlights of our 3 week stay in NZ! The room was lovely - so tastefully decorated and the bathroom very large and similalry well decorated and equipped. It was one one of very, very few places we've stayed in where every single thing has been thought of by very discerning hosts.
Heather and John are marvellous hosts and we really enjoyed talking to them and hearing tales of their family and previous lives as farmers! The garden is stunning and it's so nice that they are prepared to share it with their guests by having a lovely deck with tables and chairs for both rooms.with views towards the sea. Breakfast was excellent - served in a pretty little sitting room. The web site doesn't do justice to the reality of Kenthurst Lodge, we can't recommend it highly enough and we loved Kaka Point too which was a very late addition to our NZ itinerary.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We and our friends stayed at Kenthurst Lodge for 3 nights in September 2011 - a fabulous stay which will be long remembered. Heather and John were brilliant hosts and the location was superb for exploring the Catlins.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwar950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B&B and couldn't have picked a better place to start our 4 week road trip through NZ. The room was great, with a comfy super kingsize bed and fluffy towes in the ensuite bathroom. The fresh flowers on the bedside table were lovely, as was the breakfast in the reading/living room next door.
The house itself has a nice garden and a great view to the beach over the treetops. Just a short walk or drive down the road brings you to the small town of Kaka Point right at the beach. The famous lighthouse with the nuggets is only a 10 minute drive away and we were lucky to see some penguins there, first at Roaring Bay from the hide and later when we came back from the lighthouse one jumped on the street right in front of our car!
Heather and John are really nice and wonderful people. They know the area very well and told us about a lot of places and restaurants to go to. They even lend us their binoculars as we only had very small ones and Heather did our laundry.
Thank you for a great stay and such genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca_2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had such a great stay at this outstanding B&B. Heather and John really go above and beyond the normal excellent new zealand hospitality. We stayed here for 2 nights and felt so relaxed by the end of it we would loved to have stayed longer. The rooms are fantastic, modern and luxurious - top quality everything and all the little touches really make it from the fresh flowers, yummy treats, delicious breakfast, meticulous cleanliness - you really couldn't ask for more. The property as a whole is really delightful with an amazing garden and spectaculor view. Heather and John are so inviting without being intrusive. They can give advice on all aspects of the region and are so warm and welcoming. We will definitely be coming back only this time for longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We loved our stay at Kenthurst Lodge and plan to return for a longer look around the Catlins, one of our favourite areas of New Zealand. Heather and John were perfect hosts, looking after our every need. Heather's advice re which attractions to visit was spot on and allowed us to see the best of the waterfalls, wildlife and many bays. On the day of our arrival, we had been caught out on the beach at Cathedral Caves and arrived with sodden clothes and boots sloshing with sea water. Heather's offer of laundry for our clothes and a drying cupboard for our boots couldn't have been more welcome. The gardens and decor were right out of New Zealand Home and Gardens - stunning, yet very comfortable and user friendly. We enjoyed the exclusive use of the comfotable guest lounge - watching TV, Wifi access and using the kitchen for our coffee, breakfast, etc. You will not find a better stay in the Catlins!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights to explore the Catlins and could not have been happier with our stay. John and Heather were amazing hosts- they recommended sites, gave us directions, called restaurants for us, and even did our laundry for us! Our room was very nice, clean, new, and modern.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nileriver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catlins Gallery and Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenthurst Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenthurst Lodge B & B

Property: Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Address: 36 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenthurst Lodge is a boutique Bed and Breakfast providing luxury B&B accommodation in the small seaside township of Kaka Point in the Catlins Region of southern New Zealand.Heather and John Hurst are your hosts. After farming for 47 years they have moved to the spectacular Catlins area. They are widely travelled and enjoy meeting people from all corners of the world. Breakfast produce is homegrown and largely organic, and fresh fruit and baking is provided during your stay.Kaka Point is a popular holiday destination and rapidly growing as the Catlins area is discovered by more and more visitors. It's close to Balclutha, about 75 minutes drive south of Dunedin and the Dunedin airport. Kenthurst Lodge is a great place to stay as you begin to explore the Catlins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing