We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PROBABLY ONE OF THE THE BEST B&B'S IN THE CATLINS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Ranked #5 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Kenthurst Lodge in Kaka Point from 31.01. until 02.02.2013, for us probably the best B&B in the Catlins. - Every thing was so nice and perfect, the hospitality of Heater and John, our room, the bath- and living room, the beautiful garden, the quietness and the view down to the sea and it's beaches. - If ever we would come back to the Catlins, we would not hesitate to choose Kethurst Lodge again, and we can recommend this B&B to everybody who like a very lovely and weel-kept place. - C. + M. Fries, CH-4153 Reinach / Switzerland

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

If you are looking to stay in Kaka Point on your new Zealand trip, then you should stay at the Kenthurst Lodge. It is very good value for money. The bed and bathrooms look like new, they are even better in real life then on the pictures. They have been decorated with so much attention to detail. The breakfast that was served was amazing and the hosts were so helpful and welcoming with lots of good advice what to see when and where.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Kenthurst Lodge would be a very good choice for those who want to watch the yellow eyed penguins and visit the Nugget Point. Heather gave us very useful and practical advice, and kindly lent us warm clothes. Without her help we couldn't have stayed in the cold hide long enough to watch the very rare penguin. The B&B itself was also comfortable and great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I really wasn't sure what to expect of either Kaka Point or Kenthurst Lodge but both proved to be highlights of our 3 week stay in NZ! The room was lovely - so tastefully decorated and the bathroom very large and similalry well decorated and equipped. It was one one of very, very few places we've stayed in where every single thing has been thought of by very discerning hosts.
Heather and John are marvellous hosts and we really enjoyed talking to them and hearing tales of their family and previous lives as farmers! The garden is stunning and it's so nice that they are prepared to share it with their guests by having a lovely deck with tables and chairs for both rooms.with views towards the sea. Breakfast was excellent - served in a pretty little sitting room. The web site doesn't do justice to the reality of Kenthurst Lodge, we can't recommend it highly enough and we loved Kaka Point too which was a very late addition to our NZ itinerary.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We and our friends stayed at Kenthurst Lodge for 3 nights in September 2011 - a fabulous stay which will be long remembered. Heather and John were brilliant hosts and the location was superb for exploring the Catlins.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwar950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B&B and couldn't have picked a better place to start our 4 week road trip through NZ. The room was great, with a comfy super kingsize bed and fluffy towes in the ensuite bathroom. The fresh flowers on the bedside table were lovely, as was the breakfast in the reading/living room next door.
The house itself has a nice garden and a great view to the beach over the treetops. Just a short walk or drive down the road brings you to the small town of Kaka Point right at the beach. The famous lighthouse with the nuggets is only a 10 minute drive away and we were lucky to see some penguins there, first at Roaring Bay from the hide and later when we came back from the lighthouse one jumped on the street right in front of our car!
Heather and John are really nice and wonderful people. They know the area very well and told us about a lot of places and restaurants to go to. They even lend us their binoculars as we only had very small ones and Heather did our laundry.
Thank you for a great stay and such genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca_2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had such a great stay at this outstanding B&B. Heather and John really go above and beyond the normal excellent new zealand hospitality. We stayed here for 2 nights and felt so relaxed by the end of it we would loved to have stayed longer. The rooms are fantastic, modern and luxurious - top quality everything and all the little touches really make it from the fresh flowers, yummy treats, delicious breakfast, meticulous cleanliness - you really couldn't ask for more. The property as a whole is really delightful with an amazing garden and spectaculor view. Heather and John are so inviting without being intrusive. They can give advice on all aspects of the region and are so warm and welcoming. We will definitely be coming back only this time for longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaka Point hotels
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Catlins Gallery and Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenthurst Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenthurst Lodge B & B

Address: 36 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: £103 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenthurst Lodge is a boutique Bed and Breakfast providing luxury B&B accommodation in the small seaside township of Kaka Point in the Catlins Region of southern New Zealand.Heather and John Hurst are your hosts. After farming for 47 years they have moved to the spectacular Catlins area. They are widely travelled and enjoy meeting people from all corners of the world. Breakfast produce is homegrown and largely organic, and fresh fruit and baking is provided during your stay.Kaka Point is a popular holiday destination and rapidly growing as the Catlins area is discovered by more and more visitors. It's close to Balclutha, about 75 minutes drive south of Dunedin and the Dunedin airport. Kenthurst Lodge is a great place to stay as you begin to explore the Catlins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kenthurst Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing