We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Ranked #6 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Banks Peninsula NZ
2 reviews
“Luxury Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The room was spacious, very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. We had our own sitting-room with TV if we wanted to see what the outside world was up to. Treated to yummy home baked goodies to go with coffee or tea, a plentiful and wide selection for continental breakfast. Heather suggested places to visit, places to go for dinner, whatever we asked, Heather was able to help with ideas. We thoroughly enjoyed the conversations we had with both John and Heather. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed two nights and would we do it all again? most certainly! We were made very welcome and enjoyed our two night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed two nights at this wonderful B&B with the best hosts we ever had. We enjoyed not only the comfortable room but also the yummy breakfast, especially the delicious cakes and cookies Heather pampered us with. John and Heather also recommended great trips around the Catlins giving us the opportunity to see penguins, sea lions and a lot of scenic spots. Thank you so much, we most appreciated this marvellous stay in your home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We four stayed in Kenthurst Lodge B & B for only one night but it is a fantastic experience for us, nice host Heather & John,comfortable lodge and delicious food. Thanks Heather for getting up very early to make breakfast for us. We hope we could stay longer. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beautiful and nicely appointed B&B with very comfortable bed and nice views. It was spur of the moment decision to go down to the Catlins and we were not sure of where to go and what to see. Heather spent the time to put together a great itinerary that allowed us to see all the highlights of the Catlins. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Kenthurst Lodge in Kaka Point from 31.01. until 02.02.2013, for us probably the best B&B in the Catlins. - Every thing was so nice and perfect, the hospitality of Heater and John, our room, the bath- and living room, the beautiful garden, the quietness and the view down to the sea and it's beaches. - If ever we would come back to the Catlins, we would not hesitate to choose Kethurst Lodge again, and we can recommend this B&B to everybody who like a very lovely and weel-kept place. - C. + M. Fries, CH-4153 Reinach / Switzerland

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfswitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

If you are looking to stay in Kaka Point on your new Zealand trip, then you should stay at the Kenthurst Lodge. It is very good value for money. The bed and bathrooms look like new, they are even better in real life then on the pictures. They have been decorated with so much attention to detail. The breakfast that was served was amazing and the hosts were so helpful and welcoming with lots of good advice what to see when and where.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Kenthurst Lodge would be a very good choice for those who want to watch the yellow eyed penguins and visit the Nugget Point. Heather gave us very useful and practical advice, and kindly lent us warm clothes. Without her help we couldn't have stayed in the cold hide long enough to watch the very rare penguin. The B&B itself was also comfortable and great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
6.9 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenthurst Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenthurst Lodge B & B

Property: Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Address: 36 Rata Street, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenthurst Lodge is a boutique Bed and Breakfast providing luxury B&B accommodation in the small seaside township of Kaka Point in the Catlins Region of southern New Zealand.Heather and John Hurst are your hosts. After farming for 47 years they have moved to the spectacular Catlins area. They are widely travelled and enjoy meeting people from all corners of the world. Breakfast produce is homegrown and largely organic, and fresh fruit and baking is provided during your stay.Kaka Point is a popular holiday destination and rapidly growing as the Catlins area is discovered by more and more visitors. It's close to Balclutha, about 75 minutes drive south of Dunedin and the Dunedin airport. Kenthurst Lodge is a great place to stay as you begin to explore the Catlins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing