We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Spectacular Position'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nugget Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nugget Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'Spectacular Position'”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

'Lighthouse Unit' definitely preferable. However we have stayed in the Ground Floor Unit 'Sealion' which is still fantastic. Outstanding Ocean and Coast views. We found copious numbers of Mussels (only took legal 25 p/p ) on the rocks nearby.
Either lie in Bed or sit on the Lounge Suite and absorb the sensational views.
If you wish you can be self-sufficient as they have Stoves to cook on. Pauline & her husband were great hosts.
Absolutely love the place, as it hasn't changed and offers a 'way from it all' philosophy.

Room Tip: If possible Book the 'Lighthouse Unit' however rather than miss out the 'Sealion Unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    6
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

So glad we stayed at Nugget Lodge. Pauline was very friendly and offered great advice for where to see sea lions. Had we been traveling west, she had all sorts of maps and brochures to give us regarding the Catlins. The unit is very well equipped and had one of the few ovens we had during our 2 week trip. It does not have a freezer however. Pauline offered the freezer in her home, but we really didn't need it. I also thought the layout was well done and very quaint with the sloped ceilings.

The views were fabulous! I could see the water tanks below and for the small price difference, you are best to get the Lighthouse Unit over the SeaLion Unit.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Unit is best by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deSchenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a beautiful place. We only stayed for 1 night but wished we could have stayed longer. It is overlooking the beach and the sunrise and is in a perfect position. At dawn we visited the seals on the beach. We were delivered an excellent breakfast in the morning. Would have preferred the upstairs (Lighthouse) unit but it had already been booked, nevertheless the Sea Lion unit was lovely but without some of the views.

Room Tip: Lighthouse unit has the best views but Sea Lion unit is stiil great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the Lighthouse Unit for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. The accommodation was great with all the facilities you need to be self-sufficient if you want to be and the views .....!! From our bed(!) you could look out over the sea and once out of bed you could look out on the lighthouse (about a mile away) or directly onto a beach with seabirds and even sealions (you need to look carefully!). We saw all sorts of birds from our terrace including albatrosses out at sea.
Pauline was lovely and really helped us to get the best from our stay including where to see penguins and fur seals. We were lucky with the weather but there is 'heat pump' (not really sure what that is but can cool or heat the room apparently) and so staying in the room would be no great hardship. We fended for ourselves except for one breakfast supplied by Pauline the night before and this also was really good with plenty to eat (fruit, bread/toast, etc).
We were sorry to leave and if we ever get to NZ again we would certainly stay there again and for longer.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Unit has fantastic views - cannot comment on Sealion Unit Make sure you have enough memo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent three nights in the upstairs (Lighthouse) unit and couldn't have wished for more wonderful views.
The studio was well equipped,the king size bed being set back in an alcove and with sitting and dining areas to the fore.
We were warmly welcomed by Pauline who also provided us with a delicious breakfast tray each day with home laid eggs and bread and selections of spreads.
This is an ideal spot to visit the attractions of the Catlins.Many things are almost on your doorstep.The beach below was wonderful and although the sealions were not around during our stay we saw plenty of them on nearby Cannibal Bay and Surat Bay beaches. We also saw yellow eyed penguins coming ashore viewed from the hide at Roaring Bay.The lighthouse itself is an absolute must to visit with terrific photo oportunities.
This accommodation is peaceful,comfortable and comes highly recommended by me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummygaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After 2008 and 2011 we stayed again in this wonderful accommodation. We chose every time the Lighthouse Unit, so you have a fantastic view over the ocean and up to the Nugget Lighthouse. Even from your bed you can see the sea. The room is well furnished and nothing is missing. When ever we arrived we felt at home immediately.
Now there is also a heat pump, so the temperature is always comfortable.
The wildlife in the area is awesome, there is the penguin viewing spot near the lighthouse, fur seals at the nuggets, nesting areas of gulls, spoonbills and other sea birds. Even from the balcony you can observe sealions or you can view them at Sandy or Surat Bay, not far away.
The hosts Pauline and Willy are very nice people.
We loved this place so much that we are sure to come back.

Room Tip: The Sealion Unit is bigger and has a nice garden with a BBQ. The Lighthouse Unit has the better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_pingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location if you want to stay in the Southland and be able to explore the Nugget Point area. We stayed in the Lighthouse unit which is the upper one with the view of both the beach and the lighthouse. The unit is about a 5 minute drive to the actual lighthouse on the point and you can see it in the distance from the upper deck. We arrived about 4pm, had time to explore the lighthouse area as well as see a couple yellow eyed penguins at the viewing hide just a few minutes away from the unit. During the evening, sitting out on the deck we had amazing view of the night sky and all the stars. The location has good east exposure so you can see the sunrise from the deck, or venture up to the lighthouse area for pictures. Pauline who runs the place with her husband met us as soon as we pulled up and made sure we had everything we need - excellent service.

Room Tip: Choose the lighthouse unit, as it has the best views. The lower unit looked fine, but I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
6.6 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
6.5 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
5.0 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Lodge

Property: Nugget Lodge
Address: 367 The Nuggets Road, R.D. 1, Kaka Point, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing