We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal seaside accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cardno's Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Situated just up the hill from the beach, this was a good stopover for our journey through the Catlins. Although we had the economy back unit (without the seaview), this did have the advantage of a sheltered deck with barbeque, which we happily used for dinner.

The indoor dining table was a little on the small side, but the facilities were good and well-maintained, and we had a good night’s sleep before continuing on.

Kaka Point is a lovely little place, where the focus is on strolling on the beach or enjoying the nearby seals and yellow eyed penguins, and it would have been great to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Manager at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live here and enjoy the wildlife in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Cardno's Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, great location, good views - Paddy's pub - come beach shop nearby selling food and all you need. Beautiful beach. Nugget Point nearby well worth a visit.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themilkybarkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your great comments - appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed at Cardno's accommodation while on our honeymoon in the Catlins. We spent our first night there, travelled down further the coast and then decided to return and stay at Cardno's again.
Room was clean, modern and very nicely decorated. It had everything we needed. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom very clean with nice soft towels.
The owners were lovely and friendly and we had no problems at all.
The view was awesome, especially at sunrise!
We would not hesitate in recommending Cardno's accommodation to anyone who is traveling through the Catlins or Kaka Point - we will definitely be back in the future!
Thanks for an awesome place to stay!
(We also inspected another couple of places in Kaka Point before we decided to stay at Cardno's, the others did not even compare!)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RileyMarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your awesome review. It was nice to meet you both and hope to see you back in Kaka Point at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in the back apartment which had no view and we could see the front units would have had a lovely outlook. The back room was also a little unusual in layout, rather quirky. Don't stay here if you are tall. But it was comfortable and clean and welcoming. Kaka Point is stunning place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timandmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. Unit 1 & 2 do have great views. Unit 3 is our budget unit but I find it is a lovely warm unit and if you are going to be out all day and just need to crash, its the unit for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Cardno’s was had been given good reports on Tripadvisor so we decided that we would book in for 2 nights on our recent trip. We were not disappointed, the room was spacious and very clean with spectacular views of the coast line – what more can I say! A nice feature was a pair of binoculars that were in the room that you could use to look along the coast or out to sea. If the weather was a little better we would have utilised the deck area attached to the room. Cardno's is walking distance to the local pub, which after a busy day was great to relax in, with good pub food. Cardno's was an ideal place to base ourselves for a visit to The Catlins area of NZ. Cathedral Cave is great, but you have to get the timing right for low tide (Clyde had put a leaflet in room information stating when low-tide would be for the following few days), Curio Bay where we spotted a couple of Yellow Eyed penguins, McLeans Falls, etc it is all just a beautiful area that is not commercialised. Two nights is not quite enough to see it all.

If we are in the area again we would not hesitate to book at Cardno’s again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your review. Great to get feedback from our visitors, and hope you enjoyed your break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

These apartments are a great base to explore local beaches and Nugget Point. Clean and well appointed, the hosts are very freindly. The pub on the water front does great Fish & chips. If your lucky you will see peguins at veiewing point. We saw two at 14.30 in the afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

These apartments are a great base to explore local beaches and Nugget Point. They didn't disappoint in any way - but don't expect too much from the local amenities at Kaka Point or elsewhere in the Catlins. If in doubt, stock up in Balclutha.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your comments. Kaka Point is a beautiful place to stay, and if you wish to cook your own meals it does pay to visit the supermarket in Owaka or Balclutha before you get to Kaka Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
0.0 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardno's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardno's Accommodation

Address: 8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: £63 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laura and Chris welcome you to their Catlins Accommodation in Kaka Point, you will be well-placed to explore one of the last frontiers of tourist destinations in New Zealand. The seaside accommodation is only 1 hour's drive from Dunedin Airport, following the Southern Scenic Route. The accommodation offers quality, modern contemporary furnished accommodation: either a self-contained unit (apartment-style) with cooking facilities or studio unit with breakfast facilities, both with fantastic sea views. Also there is a well appointed modern styled economy unit, with out sea views. Long stays welcome and tariffs adjusted accordingly. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing