We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I expected but an enjoyable stay nonetheless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cardno's Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clever photography on the website gave the impression you stepped right out the door on to the beach (which is in fact about 200m away down the hill and past other houses), so was slightly disappointed on arrival. However, a very clean room, comfy and a great view - particularly good for sunrise over the beach and we were inspired to make the amble down to sit direct on the beach itself!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are not trying to mislead anyone with our website photos. If you look at all our photos I think you will find its obvious we are not on the beach, plus there is a map showing our location. We do have great sea views which we show in our photos taken from the units. It is easy access to the beach from our units and most people that stay here enjoy their walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We love Kaka Point and Cardno's rooms. This time we've traveled with another couple from overseas and have to give them our favorite room with the view, so we've stayed in the budget unit. I was a bit upset when I saw it first time, but at the end I quite liked it. It looks like a cosy kiwi batch and quite private. Its quite nice for people traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. Hope your friends enjoyed their visit too. Unit 3 is cosy but if you want the sea views Unit 1 & 2 are a must. Hope we will see you again for your 4th visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in the budget unit at the rear without views. The unit was very clean & comfortable and equipped with microwave,toaster & jug. The hosts were friendly and helpful. In fact we left a transistor radio & they transported the radio to Dunedin to make it easy for us to collect. Outstanding!! It is close to the beach & the exceptional natural attractions of the Catlins. There are limited cafes/pubs in the Catlins but a short walk away is the local pub which serves good quality pub fare,especially the blue cod meal. I would recommend staying here on a trip to explore the Catlins

Room Tip: If you are on a limited budget select Unit 3. Unit 1 & Unit 2 are more modern & have great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes Kaka Point is a great place to stay and it is so handy to Dunedin. Great place to come for a weekend getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We recently spent 2 nights here and absolutely recommend it. Wished we could have stayed longer and would love to return. Furnishings were very smart and comfortable, spotlessly clean, kitchen well stocked with cooking equipment, beautiful views, great decks out back and front and really helpful hosts . The chocolates were appreciated! Kaka Point is a lovely place to visit the Catlins from.
Robyn, Neal and Luke

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Much appreciated, its great to get feedback on our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights here. We booked the unit without a view because it was the only one available. We were very pleasantly surprised. The unit was extremely well presented and had a lovely private and sheltered deck. Very cozy inside, the only thing someone could complain about would be the lack of a full sized dining table but it didn't worry us. At this price it's an absolute bargain.
Robyn and Clive are very friendly and helpful hosts.
Overall, a highly recommended stay in a fascinating environment.
Thanks guys

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for your great comments. If we put a dining table in that unit we would have to remove the couch. I think the couch is a better option if you have been sightseeing all day and want to relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and i spent a night in mid Oct at this motel during our honeymoon vacation in NZ. We both agreed that it is the best accommodation we had in the whole trip. The modern furnishing room is very very nice, cozy, warm and clean, definitely ranked top among all the motels we stayed at south island. The view from the room is also fantastic. The manager is very welcoming and considerate, offering candies and even a telescope for viewing. We still miss this place after we returned China and will definitely recommend it to our friends!

Room Tip: a seaview room is a must in kaka point!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you do spread the word to your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Cardnos' is of international travel standards with southern kiwi hospotality.
I stayed one night on the start of a couple of days exploring the Catlins coast.
The room was immaculate, warm and modern. The views across the bay from the deck would have been stunning if the weather wasn't so awful!
There are native birds to watch in the little bit of bush planting outside the apartment- just no Kaka at kaka point!.
Would recommend staying here in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn and Clive B, Owner at Cardno's Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Its great to see lots of New Zealanders getting to see what our own country has to offer. The Catlins is a beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
67 reviews
0 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
#6 of 6 in Kaka Point
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardno's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardno's Accommodation

Address: 8 Marine Terrace, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: £67 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laura and Chris welcome you to their Catlins Accommodation in Kaka Point, you will be well-placed to explore one of the last frontiers of tourist destinations in New Zealand. The seaside accommodation is only 1 hour's drive from Dunedin Airport, following the Southern Scenic Route. The accommodation offers quality, modern contemporary furnished accommodation: either a self-contained unit (apartment-style) with cooking facilities or studio unit with breakfast facilities, both with fantastic sea views. Also there is a well appointed modern styled economy unit, with out sea views. Long stays welcome and tariffs adjusted accordingly. FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cardno's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing