We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Two stays and still can't get enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Du Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Du Glacier
Ranked #4 of 16 La Thuile B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two stays and still can't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was my second time staying in Hotel du Glacier. I absolutely love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else! It is in a good location for the town and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to the slopes. The rooms are very big and clean and have enough room for all your ski gear, have lovely little balconies if you want some fresh air, are very comfy and good size beds.
Susanna really is the star of the show here; SO friendly and helpful and attentive and cannot do enough for you. She will recommend and book all your restaurants and you get the Susanna discount at some places. We didn't have a single bad meal in La Thuile. My boyfriend hurt his arm one day so he asked her for an ice pack which she immediately provided. Every time we came down for breakfast/in from skiing she offered the ice pack to him before he even had to ask. She is the most lovely and welcoming woman and a really great person to chat to after a day on the slopes. I cannot praise her highly enough.
Breakfast at du Glacier is lovely; continental and Susanna will break you fresh croissants and tea/coffee/hot chocolate. As the week progressed she remembered our order! We had to be out of the hotel at 5.30am on the Sunday so the night before she left us a lovely breakfast in our room.
I already can't wait for my next stay at Hotel du Glacier.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicedaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a fantastic week I have had at the Hotel Du Glacier. Suzanne is a lovely friendly and very helpul lady and speaks very good English. Rooms for singles are very hard to find and I was amazed at the space of the room and in having a full sized single bed ( I usually have to put up with a childs bed). The shower was good too after a long day skiing. There was a really good selection of spam or ham with cheese, yoghurts, bread rolls and a croissant, tea or coffee, cereals and pots of jam. The hotel is only 50m away from a bus stop- ask Suzanne for an up to date bus timetable. After skiing there is a short path you can ski down to from piste no.7, walk into the car park area and head down the road past the Entreves, take a left. another left and a very short walk up to the hotel...or hire a locker at the bottom of the pistes. I cant thank Suzanne enough for a brilliant comfy clean and warm stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We just returned from a great week of skiing and stayed in this lovely hotel. Continental breakfast and large comfortable rooms and the owners just cant do enough to make you feel welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Booked through a tour operator by my friend, my wife plus two teenagers joined my friend and his niece/nephew. First time we had stayed in a hotel on a skiing trip, we normally choose apartments. The hotel and service were fabulous. We had four rooms and all were a good size and well equipped. Beds were comfortable, made up every day and towels were changed every day! Nothing was too difficult for our hostess, Susannah, she was keen to offer advice and guidance on La Thuile. Breakfast was a great start to the day and there was never a problem if you wanted more croissants/coffee. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant, so you eat out every night, but there was always a warm welcome after a day on the slopes when we immediately sat down for a drink and Susannah supplied the cakes!

The hotel is situated at the top end of La Thuile, away from the centre of the village, so it is a bit of a hike up and down but don’t be put off by that. It’s not great when carrying skis and boots, however that’s only necessary at the start of the holiday. It is possible to stop skiing at a point at the end of the San Bernado run, just after it joins Golette and opens up to see the bottom of the lifts. You leave the slopes to the left giving you a short walk to the hotel (because there was plenty of snow we could even climb over the fence at the back of the hotel to shorten the walk further).

For eating out we took Susannah’s advice and visited a different restaurant almost every night, she booked for us and enjoyed the discount she gets. Le Rascard, close to the hotel, was good with a friendly atmosphere, we went back there for our last night. Le Coq Maf steakhouse, was a disappointment having read previous review. La Fordze, food was good when it arrived but service was atrocious, another party didn’t get what they ordered. La Grotta and La Dahu pizzerias were both good, my preference goes to former. The Coppa Pan was ok but the menu was rather restricted when it came to the kids.

The mountain restaurant to go to is Maison Carrel, but arrive before 12:00 or after 1:30pm to avoid rush, one to give a miss, the Off Shore.

Would we go back to Hotel du Glacier? Definitely! As previous reports say Susannah is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APM_Lazlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos,
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Terrific place and well deserving of all its fine reviews. Immaculately clean and hospitable. Susannah is a gem especially as I had two croissants/brioche each morning as opposed to just one mentioned below! The location is ok, the walk to and from the old town and the lifts is a bit of a pain and there's still a little bit of an uphill hike to and from the slopes. The free bus stops nearby, is reliable in its timekeeping but stops fairly early after skiing. I had a single room that was as large as many doubles or twins and the bathroom was superb. Susannah booked me dinner on three occasions, but I was unimpressed with Le Rascard, off-hand service and over-priced food. However, she did recommend a winner in Le Coq Maf - two of the best steaks I've had anywhere in the world at a brilliant price in a lively atmosphere (and the beer was the best all week too!) I would recommend the du Glacier without reservation (get it?), especially if the alternative is the soulless and monolithic Planibel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlostilIdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed here in 2004 and my daughter and I looking to return to La Thuile found it every bit as good as we remembered. A boot and ski room with boot heaters. Excellent breakfast, spotlessly clean enjoy a beer or tea in the bar after your days skiing. Susanna who runs the hotel works tirelessly to help make your stay a pleasure.
Unless you're a beginner it is a few minutes walk and then you can ski to the lift. It is close enough to village centre to access all restaurants etc, but is peaceful for a quiet night. Susannah is very helpful in booking tables at restaurants and you get a discount from most.
Our favourite Le Rascard was the closest run by Carlo and his family excellent food, Carlo's wife runs the kitchen, and friendly efficient service.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for value and the package including 6 day lift pass saves money if you plan to ski only in La Thuile/La Rosiere

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricdavjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Having stayed in a rather more upmarket hotel last year when we first visited La Thuile (now called the Miramonti) I wouldn't waste my money again. The Hotel du Glacier absolutely wins hands down for service, space, comfort and value. As mentioned by previous reviewers it is true that the lady-owner Suzanna is absolutely key in all of this. She is hands-on every day at breakfast serving plentiful hot drinks and croissants (no sign of the "corrosions" mentioned by the previous reviewer). She will recommend and book your table for dinner - and you are strongly advised to take her up on this as she has 10% off deals for her guests in several restaurants. If you relax in the hotel bar for a pre-dinner beer it will likely be Suzanne who brings it for you. Whatever you need she bends over backwards to help. She also has tons of local knowledge and advice and on top of this, she's a really nice person! When my teenage daughter managed to leave her Blackberry in reception as we left the hotel to return home (surely the first time it had left her hand all week) the ever-obliging Suzanna duly packaged it up and posted it safely back to us in London. Now that's service. The spotless, comfortable and well-maintained rooms are a very good size (certainly superior to the pricier Miramonti), with plenty of storage and hanging space for all your ski gear, a spotless well-appointed bathroom and the whole place is always lovely and toasty. The "cold buffet" breakfast is abundant with plenty of variety to suit most tastes, and tons of hot tea/coffee/chocolate to warm you up for the day ahead. Going to La Thuile? Look no further than the charming Hotel du Glacier. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsH2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Thuile hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
#10 of 10 in La Thuile
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.5 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#4 of 10 in La Thuile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martinet
Hotel Martinet
#3 of 10 in La Thuile
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Glacier

Property: Hotel Du Glacier
Address: Frazione Petite Golette 14, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Du Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing