We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest hotel Ive been in My life! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The dirtiest hotel Ive been in My life! ”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I just came Back from a 5 day stay With My family in this hotel.

The pros: the location

The cons: dirty room - stains on sheets- dirty bed- awfully dirty bathroom And toilets ( the públic toilets were Cleaner ) -poor kitchen facility- Rude And unhelpful staff- dingy And dark room- dated furniture

Will never go Back to this particular resort because the hotel left such a Bitter experience . Very upset

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nanachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    266
    170
    63
    56
See reviews for
280
91
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athy, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here in Spring 2014 and the great location was let down by the staff in the hotel with one receptionist taking the cookie for most disinterested, unhelpful and rude member of staff. It is a pity because staff training is not rocket science so this hotel is potentially close to offering a much better experience. Maybe next time if we give them a 2nd chance!! - Unlikely!
Other issues - check in was brutally slow, apartments were sometimes not properly equipped and generally fairly basic. Plan to eat out if you stay here as there are some great restaurants in the village and the apartments don't have a well equipped kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have just returned from a skying holiday at Hotel Planibel ( from 2nd to 9th March 2014 ) and have to say that the Location of the Hotel in thuile resort is Great for Ski-ing ( right next to the Ski lifts ) However what a real let down with the facilities provided by the Hotel with no Free WiFi no Free swimming or Leisure Facilities. The Apartments were dark & Dinghy with Low Watt light bulbs that were a joke. we found half of the equipment was missing from our Apartment with things like a missing a Microwave cooker, A Toaster, A kettle, a tea Pot 4 x tea cups all of different sizes 2 x very small egg cup size & 1 x Massive tea cup which could hold 4 cupsfulls on ots own.
The room was supposed to cater for 4 x people but we only had room to hang out clothes for just 2 x people which was by the front door entrance ( this did not include enough space to hang your Ski Trousers & Jacket which had to be laid on the floor ) the other 2 x people had to keep their clothes and other stuff inside their suitcase and share 1 x small bedside table with 1 x small draw to keep other items in. The Towels and bed sheets were only changed halfway through our 7 days stay, we Also had a T V that used to turn the sound off by itself unless you got up every time the sound turned itself off and you hit the side of the TV every time to get the sound back on.

Please give it some serious thought before booking this resort has it it the worst ski-ing holiday I have had in the 6 years of going ski-ing.

Steve Thompson


The Hotel was very un-welcoming which did

Room Tip: Try the Hotel instead of the Apartments But I don't hold out to much hope
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Thuile hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Residences part. Thoroughly out of date, various things not working (safe, blinds), hairs everywhere in shower. Staff: unhelpful, uninterested and treating residence guests as second rank. Be prepared to deal with drunk English package deal neighbours, almost visible through paper thin walls. Only plus is proximity to slopes. Not worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VCG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a week at the Planibel Apartments, check in was a very slow process & when I eventually did reach the front of the line our room wasn't ready & so we had to come back later to collect our key which wasn't really an issue. Our room was on the 2nd floor of one of the apartment blocks, I've read a few people complain about noise, we were right next to the lift & could hear that creaking and grinding inside of our room and often heard kids running & shouting up & down the hallway but this isn't really a reflection on the hotel so it was fine. Our room was pretty basic & being brutally honest could of done with a really good deep clean or redecorating, but it was spacious, clean and perfectly adequate. Being in the apartments we had a five minute or so walk up the road to the lifts whereas if you were staying in the hotel they were right outside. The supermarket/shops & butchers were well stocked & reasonably priced for a ski resort. We didn't use the pool as you had to pay extra as an apartment guest but use of this was free if you were staying in the hotel but we did have a look through the window & it looked nice. We went to Kings Pub a few times for food & drinks, whilst the food was nice it consisted mainly of burgers & pizza's which we got abit fed up of & whilst it was decorated nicely, it was clean & the staff efficient & friendly there just wasn't any kind of atmosphere that we normally experience in a ski resort which was a great shame because the skiing was fantastic, we would return with a group of people but we won't be going back as a couple I don't think. We did go down to the bar/cafe next to the cash point just past the chocolate shop & I would definately reccomend a visit there, the staff were really friendly & Cormayeur was only half an hour away on the bus & well worth a visit for a few hours (but beware it's expensive!) we stuck to window shopping! All in all La Thuile is fab, Planibel could do with a spruce up & abit of life injected into it in the evening - but maybe that's just us!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucandkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I booked a late cheap deal and stayed in the apartments which were very spacious and well equipped. OK so you had to remove the microwave plug to use the kettle but that's no big deal. The maids kept the rooms very clean and tidy.
Just a 5 min walk to the main cable car and chair lifts, you can ski back to the main entrance of the apartments providing you get enough speed up or you have to pole it.
A great skiing area especially over in France but it's a bit of a pain coming back as it's a long drag lift about 15 mins on one and 10 mins on the other.
Don't expect a great night life as there are only a few bars but it depends on what you want. It has a good supermarket which is adequate for your needs.
Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at The Planibel, the last time was 6 years ago. The location is really so good. From the door of the hotel to the chair lift or the cable car is either two or four minute walk. There were no queues for either when we were there. The rooms were spacious, warm and clean. Wet ski clothes were easy to get dry. There was a good choice of food, and plenty of it. Some of the food was 'interesting' and maybe not to everyone’s taste but what was really clever, was that they had a range of 'plain' food, without dressings or sauces to cater for those who were less adventurous. The swimming pool was large and although fairly basic, after a days skiing, it was fine. I don't think it opened until late afternoon, so maybe not very helpful if you wanted to swim instead of ski. I would say from what I saw, the night life in the resort was limited, but as the skiing was so good, that did not really matter. The hotel had a good solid feel to it. As well as from the UK, there were alot of guests from Italy and also a variety of other European countries. The hotel generally had a friendly, non pretentious, busy atmosphere. It was not a luxurious hotel, but it was perfect for what we needed. Previous comments about the 'check in' are correct; it is chaotic, but fore warned is fore armed. We just left our cases in the storage area, got our boots and skis sorted out, got a drink from the bar, and then went for a walk. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Thuile hotels
0.2 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#4 of 10 in La Thuile
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.1 mi away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Blanc
Hotel Chateau Blanc
#8 of 10 in La Thuile
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts

Property: Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
Address: Frazione Entreves 158, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Thuile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Planibel La Thuile
Atahotel Planibel Hotel La Thuile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing