We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here with family last week.
Great location just 5 minutes walk from the main gondola
Clean, spacious rooms
Nice warm boot room
Plenty of hot water
Good value for money
Owners Eddie and Debbie very helpful with booking restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSnellUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

First time in La Thuile and will certainly return. I haven't stayed anywhere else in this charming, traditional and not overly busy ski resort but I can't imagine anywhere else offering greater comfort and value for money than Chalet Alpina. Only a five minute walk to the main lifts, gondola, ski pass office and equipment rental shops; the chalet is perfectly positioned to enjoy the restaurants and bars in the village without having to endure any associated noise that may occur, is very clean and comfortable with Crocs provided for guests to wear indoors. Felt a bit like Goldilocks; where we had stayed previously the bed was too hard and then the pillows were too soft, here it was like Baby Bear's bed, just perfect. The room was warm, comfortable and sufficiently spacious, breakfast is served in a charming area that doubles as a lounge where bar facilities are offered in the early evening. Chalet Alpina does not serve dinner which is ideal as one is encouraged to visit the village restaurants some of which are very good indeed, with Eddie and Debbie more than happy to recommend and book restaurants, some providing discounts to their guests They can arrange ski lockers in a ski-room beside the main lifts and their extensive local knowledge really does serve to make the experience here very enjoyable. They are skiers/walkers/climbers who successfully strive to provide the sort of experience they would wish to enjoy themselves.
Each morning Eddie makes himself available to advise where the best snow and conditions are. During our stay we had a few "very bad weather days" but skied a full day every day thanks to Eddie's research on the webcams and his advice based on local knowledge. The ski pass for La Thuile gives access to a vast area including La Rosiere, Courmayeur and the Monterosa ski area so there is always somewhere to ski.
I recommend Chalet Alpina to anyone who wants a great place to stay, well positioned in a wonderful resort run by people who really care about their guests and offer excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Recently spent four nights here in Feb 2013 and we were looked after superbly by hosts Eddie and Debbie. Charming place which is very handy for the main La Thuile lifts and for the bars and restaurants nearby. Good value all round with warm, clean rooms, plenty of hot water, and a super breakfast each morning. Nice touches include free crocs to wear on site, saves you clumping around in your ski boots.

I'd also suggest you take advantage of the guiding service provided by proprietor Eddie, (BASI qualified) which is a snip at Euro25 per day. Excellent instruction and he knows the place like the back of his hand.

If you're looking for good value, simple accommodation, but with al the basics done right, this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletalpina, Owner at Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thank you all very much for your great reviews and thank you also to those fortunately few not so great reviews. All your suggestions help us make decisions for the future and build up a great relationship with our guests. My wife Debbie and I have owned Chalet Alpina for over 23 years and our most loyal guests have been coming here for 23 years. My response however is not to bloat about our great reviews, but quite to the contrary it's to send a message to our future potential guests as what to expect when you come and stay here at Chalet Alpina. We thought what better place to do that on than Trip Advisor.
Our website says:

"Small and informal cosy Alpine Chalet ideally situated in the village only 5 minutes walk to the ski lifts. Our rooms are comfortable, clean and warm"

That is exactly what we area that but you will notice on our website we also say:

"The Chalet for skiers and walkers run by skiers and walkers"

Please come and stay with us for all the reasons above and you will have the holiday of a lifetime. We serve a good breakfast, offer a small bar service after skiing and a half board dinner option which we organise for our guests at nearby restaurants. In between we lock the front door and join our guests skiing or walking in the beautiful mountains that surround us. This is what you have come here for and this is why we live here. We want our guests to feel they are staying with us as friends and not as clients. We will never treat you as "just regular hotel client" and have never done so with anyone who has stayed with us in the past. If you embrace that you will become our friend like many others have.
Eddy Nico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here before and as always you get a terrific welcome from Eddie and Debbie.
The Chalet Alpina is I
Situated in a quiet location, handily placed for the village and restaurants. It has great access to the ski area in close proximity to the gondola.
Rooms are comfortable with lots of hot water and TV for those who can't do without it.
Breakfast is more than adequate and the bar/lounge area is very sociable from 6pm onwards.
The Alpina comes highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueandJeff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I have stayed at the Chalet Alpina on two occassions (March 2010 and March 2011), and ought to have written this review a long time ago.

The Chalet Alpina is very well situated, in that it is very close to the Gondola that whisks you up to the slopes, and is also within easy walking distance of the village centre and a number of very good restauarants. I read some concerns before my first vist to Chalet Alpina, relating to "icy" and "steep" steps that had to be negotiated down to the car park behind the Planibel Complex, but found that it was not a problem at all. Even if it is a concern, there is another route along the road to the Gondola, which may extend the trip by about 5 or 10 minutes at most.

Eddy and Debbie, who are the owners, were extremely helpful, and with their vast knowledge of the area, can advise you on restaurants, skiing, and other excursions.

Eddy is also available in the mornings, at breakfast, to twell you about the weather, where to go, and how best to get there. He will advise you on other areas to ski within the Aosta Valley, and may just take you there himself. Eddy and Debbie are both excellent skiers!

The hotel is always neat, clean and welcoming.

The rooms are definitely large enough, and there is sufficient place for all your clothing and skiing accessories. The bathrooms are great and very functional.

The breakfasts are typical Italian breakfasts, and there is certainly enough available to ensure that you have lots of energy for the slopes.

I can recommend Chalet Alpina, and believe that you will not find better value for money in La Thuile or any other ski resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JhbGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. As others remark, it is very convenient both for the ski area and the village where there is a big choice of places to eat (a ski locker is well worth the money to save tromping up the hill in your ski boots though!). I was very impressed with the assistanceI had from Debbie before the holiday, who dealt with my every query promptly and helpfully, but this was then surpassed with the assistance we had on our arrival. All our luggage was delayed by over 24 hours and Debbie and Eddy could not have been more helpful if they had been old friends! The rooms are spotlessly clean with new towels every few days, plenty of storage, and the breakfast plentiful. The boot room has a big selection of "Crocs" to wear as slippers in the hotel to keep the floors clean and dry. The only negative comment (as noted by others) is that the bed was uncomfortably hard even for people used to a firm mattress - our hosts did the best they could to help us with that too.

Room Tip: We had room 31 which is very lofty, at the end of the building, and on the plan looks as if it might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Chalet Alpina from 1st January to 8th January 2012 and once again we had a fantastic experience. The location of the Alpina is close to the gondola and nursery slopes and a short 5 minute walk will find you at your ski locker, or the numerous shops and restaurants within the town. The quality of the accommodation is excellent providing a warm, clean welcoming environment which we find just right for our family. There is alway hot water and breakfast is just what you need in preparation for a day on the slopes! The environment is friendly and relaxed and in the evening many guests congregate in the bar area, have a drink and socialise.

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Debbie and Eddy the proprietors. They were once again very friendly and were always willing to advise or help us out on pretty much anything from restaurant bookings, help with ski hire and suggestions on the best skiing.

Our family also had Eddy provide us with ski lessons for the week. I cannot recommend him more highly. The sessions with Eddy are intensive learning experiences and if you want your skiing to improve you are with the right man! He has the ability to spot where you are having a problem and provide simple techniques to start correcting it. You are never pushed too far from your comfort zone and all the time the focus is on having fun! We are a mixed ability group but we all agreed that during the week in La Thuile Eddy improved our skiing capability more than we'd experienced with any other instructor.

We selected the Chalet Alpina to stay at in March 2009 for our first ski trip and we have been back twice since then. We are hoping to visit again in March this year and once again have Eddy provide us with some instruction. The fact that we are repeat visitors surely speaks volumes about the quality of the Chalet Alpina and the lovely people who run it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilMRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Thuile hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#5 of 10 in La Thuile
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#3 of 10 in La Thuile
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.5 mi away
Hotel Martinet
Hotel Martinet
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments

Address: Frazione Arly 42, 11016 La Thuile, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Alpina 200 meters from the ski lifts offers you a place you can feel at home. Stay in one of our spacious newly renovated self-catering apartments or in one of our newly renovated comfortable bedrooms. The whole Chalet can also be booked for sole use but early booking is recomended Our Chalet can sleep 24 adults in 12 en suite bedrooms. Free WIFI throughout the Chalet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpina Hotel La Thuile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing