We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Nicolas
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Even though it is not the high end class hotel, the room and bathroom were clean. We had really good time in the restaurant and later in the bar. Good local food and wine, generous portions, very affordable. Also pizza was very good. Friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulina_Bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    71
    116
    73
    67
See reviews for
58
198
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have been with family and friends, hotel is in centre of little little city....in afternoon at 17 they have made clean services and have made a lot of rumors and shout, they cannot talk normal, we could not sleep...
In the night, light for one hour was turn off, turn on, turn off again a lot of time...
they said room will be available at 17.00 WHAT??? at 10.00 people need to leave the room, need to clean and give to another family at 12.00 maximum..
I had coupon with hotel and restaurant inclused and they wanted payed restaurant...
so bad quality.....not go

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james1973_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Nicolas hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

did not stay here...
but wanted to give review regarding dinner...

it was amazing...
simple home made food...
great price...
amazing value...
great local wine...
the host was friendly...
we sat outside on terrace and had amazing views...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

In fact I've owned a house there for 6 and I can honestly say this is the worst accommodation I have ever encountered. So I'll start with the positives: the location affords beautiful views and the Wi-Fi worked (albeit not very strongly). But...
The staff were unhelpful and I might even venture slipped into the rude status; certainly the lady at breakfast who greeted me with 'what do you want?'
The hotel appearance is of a chalet that has seen better days, and quite some time ago. Although the receptionist apologised in advance for the odour in the corridor of our 3rd floor room it didn't make up for the fact that it stank. Thankfully it didn't enter the room but it was hardly a haven. The most basic of furniture and features and just acceptably clean. Bathroom was tiny, shower more so and the light was so noisy that they even had a sign asking you to remember to turn it off as other guests could hear. The walls are paper-thin and so those other guests could certainly be heard and though the 'balcony' might seem an attraction it was in truth a mass of concrete which merely afforded another place to bump into noisy people.
We had dinner twice and lunch once. None will stay long in the memory except the Omelette Valdostana which was simply inedible. Being warm might have aided digestion but that moment had passed some time before. It is the first occasion on which I don't think even our two dogs enjoyed their scraps from the table. Just because the area produces good cheese it doesn't have to go into every dish...and in quite such quantities.
Pizza lunch was a boxed Margherita; no other choice, just cheese and tomato. Warmer than the omelette and certainly warmer than the attendant service.
Finally a high point: our departure, whereupon an almost unfathomable bill was presented for the grand total of €335! Not the price agreed in writing before, though I was by now so keen to make a retreat that I really couldn't be bothered to complain or query.
I get the Italian hotel experience and how, quite often, it is more about the location than the quality per se of the accommodation, etc. This shabby place is taking that to the extreme and the prevailing attitude is one of not caring in the slightest about quality or for the guest. "We're miles from anywhere, you won't find much else so put up and shut up" was writ large in every nook and cranny and just about every exchange with a member of staff.
We've driven through Aosta on many occasions before and promised ourselves one time to stop and take it in. I wish we'd broken our promise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Extremely helpful staff. Reached at 1030 in nite. The receptionist extremely helpful. Opened his kitchen for us and baked fresh bread. Was up late till we went to our rooms. Clean rooms and toilets. Crisp towels. Made to order tasty breakfast. Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravLamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Travelling from Umbria back to the UK we opted to spend our last night in Italy at the Hotel Saint Nicholas, a little off our route but well worth the detour. It was in a lovely situation. The manager was extremely helpful, advising us on the evening meal which was excellent, as was the breakfast. The service we received was very good and the facilities were clean. It was extremely good value for money

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormskyBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

well to start off with the room is not bad quite large, good sized bathroom its about 20 min coach drive into the lift. the food is ok but as there is such variety over different days the quality of food varys in accordance with the variety. However i am in a group of 45.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Nicolas
10.0 mi away
Express Hotel Aosta
Express Hotel Aosta
#2 of 2 in Pollein
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Vieux Noyer
Le Vieux Noyer
#4 of 5 in St. Pierre
53 reviews
6.9 mi away
Norden Palace Hotel
Norden Palace Hotel
#11 of 18 in Aosta
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Dujany
Hotel Dujany
#2 of 2 in Nus
107 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Beau Sejour
Hotel Beau Sejour
#1 of 2 in Etroubles
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel des Roses
Hotel des Roses
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Property: Hotel Saint Nicolas
Address: Frazione Fossaz Dessous 4, 11010 Saint Nicolas, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Saint Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Nicolas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing