We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and views”

The Stone Trough Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stone Trough Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely location and views”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This traditional pub is located in a beautiful area with delightful views. The pub and restaurant are clean and full of character. Staff are very friendly.

Food is good although, due to health problems I am required to eat a low fat diet and really struggled to find any healthy options on the menu. No salads or grilled good. However having said that the other members of our group really enjoyed the food and I must say it did look good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigmyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    108
    42
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but long wait.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great setting, good menu. Nice food but each course took a while. This wasn't a problem even with children on a sunny summer's evening as there is outdoor space to explore but could be more of a problem if you are stuck inside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Splurge333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful setting, staff were friendly, food was okay but felt it was a little over priced for the quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tup200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BRAVE the dreadfully dangerous turn off the A64 to sample this place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

its a quirky place - terribly steep car park - so watch your step and how your car doors may fall open. . . . watch your step around the whole place - can you tell I visited with someone who needs to know they have a firm footing :). . . . . we arrived on such a hot day that although we were hungry we realised we didn't want much to eat. . . . . so 4 starters later. . . . it was fresh, it was tasty. . . . . . but having just read an article from the 'daily mash'( a satyrical fb ' fake newspaper'). . . . their presentation on 'chopping boards' was a little 'old fashioned'. . . .is in not really. . . .but 'kinda like'. . . . . .. . . . but definately go - try it and see what you think :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gastrowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Post walk lunch.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch after a lovely, local walk. I was disappointed that there weren't a few more specials on the menu board to choose from and ended up settling on a dish from the main menu, roast fillet of cod with langoustine, pancetta, broad bean and pea salad. The cod fillet was thick and juicy and the salad delicious, very little langoustine to eat once I peeled it though. I did feel it was quite an expensive dish. My husband selected the gammon from the specials board and was disappointed that it was thin and very dry, however, his accompanying chips, salad and egg were perfect. There is a pleasant atmosphere here and we would definitely consider eating here again if we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stone Trough Inn also viewed

 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Malton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stone Trough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing