We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish, clean, comfortable and convenient”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Strensall, York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James A
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good,but.”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This accommodation is located behind a house just off a very busy road. It is well served with public transport into York city etc.
My wife an I stayed here for 2 nights in November and found the room to be of a very high standard, clean and warm and very comfortable. The cooking facilities are rather limited with a microwave, toaster and kettle so breakfast was scrambled egg on toast. For some reason there are only two sockets to serve the three appliances so you have to keep switching plugs.
Unlike other reviewers we never got to meet the owner.
Although this is good accommodation it is what it is, a room with a toilet and I don't feel it justifies the cost (we booked it on a wowcher deal at a reasonable rate).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Hi James I am glad you enjoyed your stay , Thanks for your feedback . The room you stayed in was Room 2 which the bathroom is just a shower sink and toilet rather than having the bath like in Room 1.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matkins20...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, clean, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely place to stay. Nicely decorated, clean, warm and comfortable. Thoughtful extras were provided too - fresh milk, cereals, tea, coffee biscuits. Beds were lovely and comfortable. Useful info was left in the studio - eg places to eat, bus timetables etc.

It's very conveniently located too - the bus stop into York is very close to the end of the drive. Would definitely recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephied4...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable, modern countryside escape”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely would book this again. It was well maintained, had everything for a cozy nights sleep, and was in a great location (about 100 meters from a bus stop with a bus that took about 20 minutes to get to York City Center).

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Welcome back any time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair2985
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted with the accomodation at The Stables. Me, my partner and my little boy stayed in stable number 2. There was a very large double bad and a single bed in the room. There is a kitchenette and a bathroom. The decor is superb and a lot of care and effort has been taken by the owners to make the best use of the space. It's very clean and the little touches are lovely. We really loved this and will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Welcome back anytime :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therasaHu...
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Fab apartments near York. Comfortable, clean, great decor and thoughtful hosts. Will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Welcome back any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurajayn...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic night away ”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just got back from a night away at the converted stables and it was fantastic. The decor was lovely and we were well looked after, everything was thought of to make our stay as relaxing as possible even down to a bottle of milk in the fridge. It was a perfect break, even our dog didn't want to leave, wish we could of stayed longer. We couldn't of asked for more and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeccaT696...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely litte place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here while visiting York its around 4 miles from the centre -10 minutes in the car.
Really enjoyed our stay there is lovely village pub Laura the owner recommended the ship its great food and can take pets which was better !
Really clean and everything you need in there for the stay .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing