We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but bit chilly!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highwayman Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highwayman Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great service but bit chilly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We'd been driving all day and just turned up here. I don't understand previous reviews about the price - at $95NZ it was exactly what we've been paying for motels over North Island.
Service was great, the room was really clean, the tv worked and so did the wifi AND there's a spa pool (hot tub) which was nice. It's an easy walk to a couple of fast food places.
The only drawback was that in the morning the room was absolutely freezing! But it was Spring.

I'd stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnsonville, null, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night and paid a very large amount of money. the room was nice - although there was no salt and pepper or shampoos, soaps or conditioners i could live with that, the service was terrible. I asked for a ride to an event as it was hard for us to provide our own transport but it was a BIG hassle for them, I found that I was getting horrible looks and being treated like a stupid young teenager. This is the first hotel I have stayed in, and I had no idea that there was check out times, I did ask and she said I could check out at any time, I came and asked for a spa key after the normal check out time, and after checked out quite late, which at the time I didn't know was late. But she was very rude, she knew that this was my first time staying in a hotel, but she was trying to take me for a ride as i am young. She said I had to pay another $200 which is outrageous! I think this is a lovely place for a family and the husband is a lovely man, but if you are a teenager staying I recomend to not stay here as Kim will probable take you for a ride for your money as well!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a large room, the 3 bedroom accompanies a lot of people comfortably. Just mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed two nights at the Highwayman and our experience was wonderful. room was large and comfortable. nice chair to sit in to watch TV a bonus. separate kitchen a bonus. Our room was at the back of the property and very quiet. located close to the main shopping area. I highly recommend this motel. The hosts were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room sizes including a three bedroom unit for families. ask when booking they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a couple of days while visiting some friends in the area. The room was large and easily held two beds (one bed doubled as a couch) and a TV and small table. Really well equipped and comfortable, with a kitchenette and good sized bathroom. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinehou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed one night with family of five, three single beds in one room and double in another. Motel is older styled more affordable than newer and our unit (12) was very spacious almost townhouse sized! Reception is quick and friendly. Milk and free newspaper in morning. Room was clean and tidy. Have stayed before and will again. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmaduke04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wonderful owners who were very accommodating to our needs; they moved us to rooms that were not only better for our group's needs but also cheaper.
Large units with everything a family of six requires: good arrangement of beds, a dining table to seat everyone, sofa space, two bathrooms (unit 22). Carpet could do with a visit from the Rug Doctor but it would not stop us from returning.
The extras in the grounds made the stay more interesting: aviary, chess set, trampoline and outdoor pool.
Located close to supermarkets and eateries we couldn't really ask for more during our stopover.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We needed a unit with two sleeping spaces. Highwayman provided a good clean room with two single beds in the bedroom and a Queen bed in the lounge area. The unit was clean and sufficient in pretty much every way, and if all you need is a place to sleep and perhaps prepare food, it is fine.

The Kuripuni shops are nearby so fast food and bars are within easy walking distance. It has much going for it. The hosts were friendly and flexible about late checkout. Free WiFi is good though the bandwidth is slow and the reliablity of connection was a bit marginal.

Like many older motels, the interior lighting is dismal, and the decor looks a bit tired.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.3 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Colonial Cottage Motel
Colonial Cottage Motel
#9 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highwayman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highwayman Motel

Property: Highwayman Motel
Address: 46 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highwayman Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highwayman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing