We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, will definitly be back next month for netball!!!”
Review of South Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Park Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Thank you for making me and my family feel welcome, it's always great to travel to a place where the owners are so friendly and so helpful. I recommend room12 to a family of 4 very spacious, clean and you even have your own deck where you could sit with a glass of wine watching kids play softball. I will be travelling with the Hawkes Bay Netball Team next month and will recommend southpark motel. When I asked Andrea about booking a room for may she took me into one of the studios to see if that would suit!! Very grateful to her & her mum for being great hosts. Keep up the great work and we will see you in may:))))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon3423, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you Trudi for your comments. We enjoyed having you and your family and look forward to your return visit. Keep the car keys safe. Annette & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This trip I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly welcoming new owners of South Park and happy to tell those that no longer stay there for whatever reason give it another go, you won't regret it.
For those who haven't stayed at South Park be for this is a very comfortable motel close to shops and only a 20 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RidenShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at gates of this Motel without prior booking and were attracted to it by the immaculate grounds - and it was equally so in the unit we stayed in. What intended to be a 3 night stay ended up being 5 nights. Even then we didn't want to leave, we travelled each day around the Wairarapa exploring, the beaches, and Cape Palliser and the lovely little towns within 10 to 30 minutes from our motel. Our hosts were very informative of the area - and made our stay a very memorable one. The motel is very close to town - and very reasonably priced. We have no hesitation to recommend and we would most certainly stay again when we go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of motel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

only one night and I changed hotels (actually I stayed in Carterton so I changed towns) From the minute I pulled into the place the owner was at my car door to complain. Parking is not clearly shown in fact the entry and exit is around the wrong way! I felt watched every time I opened the door the owner was sitting in the garage watching where I went. She clearly is over the motel business and is not afraid to tell you all about it. The car doors closing bothers her, the sound of luggage being rolled to your room bothers her, where you park bothers her. Although its all smiles and the second you hang the make up your room sign be sure you are leaving when you do as shes at your door asking how long till she can come in. If you want that feeling of overbearing parents watching every step you take - i'd recommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: do not get the room next to the reception unless you want to hear the owners smoking and coughing la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueeNZlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat-Dave H, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Since this review the motel has changed management. Parking is now clearly marked with allocated parking spaces directly outside each unit. The entry/exit arrows have been removed and good service is our priority. We meet and greet all our customers, introduce them to their unit and make ourselves available at all hours. We appreciate good feedback and are now winning awards such as the Trivago 2017 5th Best Motel in Wellington Region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The owner was very kind and accommodating and she gave us some great advice with regards to Masterton's surroundings. Unfortunately this good impression was almost ruined when we spotted a large cockroach crawling on our bed. If you're scared of or allergic to these you may want to consider some other place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marcinwyszynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at this motel for several nights and couldn't fault the service or accomodation. My hosts went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. My room was beautifully furnished and spotless. Bed was super comfortable and heatpump maintained a lovely temp. Its also very close to town. Thoroughly recommend this a a great place to stay :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWheeler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A nice clean motel handy to the conference hotel. The hosts are very helpful only too happy to arrange anything you need. Free wifi is great too. Electric blankets supplied are a must for winter/spring trips.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Masterton Motor Lodge
Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
0.1 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#6 of 11 in Masterton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Park Motel

Address: 55 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Park Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to South Park Motel, the heart of Masterton. Relax with air-conditioning hot/cool, MySky 50+ Dky Channels, Free Wi-Fi and comfort abundant. Ample courtyard parking, 12 suites with self-catering facilities, newly decked BBQ area with lawn and garden for your enjoyment. Studios, 1-bedroom Spa bath suites, Large 2-bedroom apartments with full kitchen, separate lounge area and private patio. Variety of breakfast options available - payable on order at reception. Village shops, hotel, supermarket and fine restaurants all within walking distance. Find us on SH 2, 90-115km to/from Wellington city/intersland ferry/Wellington Airport. 18km to Greytown, 43km to Martinborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your South Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing