We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot”
Review of South Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Park Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in masterton without accomodation popped into southpark about 3.30pm choose this motel because the other ones we drove past looked really scruffy.
The mother and daughter combo were more than accomodating and offered us the perfect unit for our requirements.
The place is obviously well loved and looked after.the sheets were devine had a great sleep.although its on a busy rd we never heard a sound all night
Gorgeous view of the snow on mountains in the morning
No problem recomending this place

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
31
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Recently stayed at South Park in Masterton... we were arriving late on what was a very cold afternoon and arrived to find they had put the heat pump on for us & the unit was warm & cosy. The unit was spacious, spotlessly clean & tidy, the bed beautifully made and very comfortable. So nice to get a decent amount of milk too - very good value for money !
We were welcomed in a friendly manner as well so I would have no hesitation in staying there again & would definitely recommend it to anybody looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were in Masterton for just one evening in late June - we'd picked the motel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, and weren't disappointed. Friendly staff (and dog), a clean and well equipped room with a very comfortable bed (and free wireless - still not nearly ubiquitous enough in our fair country), centrally located and yet quiet: what not to like? It was full, always an excellent sign :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris915_Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently stayed at South Park Motel. Had stayed there previously when brand new. Have to say, our recent stay was far more enjoyable. The unit was very spacious, very clean, well equipped and very enjoyable for a stopover. Friendly owners, great price. Look forward to staying again when back down that way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon3423, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your comments we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit.
Andrea and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently stayed at this property and had a wonderful stay. Arrived late, but the owners (and the friendly dog) were there to greet us. It was a very cold night in Masterton, and they had even turned on the heat in the rooms before we arrived. The rooms were clean and spacious and had everything you would ever need. Had breakfast in the room the next morning, and couldn't finish it all. They even set out some fruit from one of their trees for us to try - it was delicious! Owners definitely went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Am just sorry we weren't able to stay longer! Would definitely stay again and recommend to others who find themselves in Masterton!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayak430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Four of us stayed here on April 22nd in unit 2 & 3 for 1 night, the accommodation was absolutely amazing so clean and everything you would need plus more, so comfortable and great size. Andrea and her mother are such lovely, friendly people, couldn't ask for a nicer welcome, my sister and husband totally agreed we all felt a bit disappointed that we were moving on after only one night. We all HIGHLY recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon3423, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your comments Leah. We enjoyed your company. Hope you had a great time in New Zealand.
Annette and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Thank you for making me and my family feel welcome, it's always great to travel to a place where the owners are so friendly and so helpful. I recommend room12 to a family of 4 very spacious, clean and you even have your own deck where you could sit with a glass of wine watching kids play softball. I will be travelling with the Hawkes Bay Netball Team next month and will recommend southpark motel. When I asked Andrea about booking a room for may she took me into one of the studios to see if that would suit!! Very grateful to her & her mum for being great hosts. Keep up the great work and we will see you in may:))))

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon3423, Owner at South Park Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you Trudi for your comments. We enjoyed having you and your family and look forward to your return visit. Keep the car keys safe. Annette & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
12.7 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#6 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Park Motel

Property: South Park Motel
Address: 55 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — South Park Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus Qualmark 12 Air conditioned suites, LCD TVs , wireless internet, 1&2 bdrm suites, 4 with spa bath, all self catering. 2-bdrm deluxe suites, full kitchen & spa bath, private patio. 90 minutes drive to Interisland ferry / Wellington airport / city. Short drive to Greytown & Marintborough and visit the wineries. Napier - 3 hours drive. Find us on State Highway 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your South Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing