We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was good, but everything else was not”
Review of Amble Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amble Inn Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here recently due to a family emergency, and had unit 12. One of the reasons for choosing this motel was the free wifi. This only worked if we stood out in the car park area, and as it was raining most of our stay, it was less than ideal. The 'small bedroom' was literally this size of a walk-in robe. The bed needs to be replaced as it is 'stuffed' and as the bed did not go all the way to the wall at the head end (because of a protrusion), the pillow slipped off the end all night, making a very uncomfortable night's sleep. It seemed clean enough, however finding someone else's hairs in one of the beds was quite off-putting. We cut short our stay and went somewhere else. Perhaps some of the other units are much more pleasant but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jef O, Manager at Amble Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank-you for your feedback, we have taken it on-board and made considerable progress on many of the points you raise since we joined the management team here in November 2013.

1. Wifi - we've recently had fibre installed and we are now the first in town to offer free high speed internet access. We've also upgraded to a new wifi system with a great result - we have a strong signal across the entire motel. Unit 12 is the hardest room to get signal to and currently has two bars inside the unit.

2. Small bedroom - we now clearly state that this unit has a very small separate bedroom suitable for a child or adult on a budget who is happy to squeeze in. We have replaced the bed with a new one and the pillow no longer falls down the back of the bed. We are now getting regular positive feedback about the room which is great.

3. Hair in the bed - we have spoken to the housekeeping team about this and asked them to make sure their hair is tied back, and to double-check all sheets when they make the beds.

With best wishes,
Janine and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, rooms comfortable, clean. Owner/manager helpful with suggestions of where to eat etc. Units are older style, but have been renovated,to reasonable standard. Outside door does not fit properly and smoke seemed to infiltrate room from smokers standing outside next door unit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jef O, Manager at Amble Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for the feedback. We've bought new rollers for the doors and will get these installed. We'll put our thinking caps on for a solution to the smoke drift!
Janine and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Highly recommend this motel - we stayed there in the weekend and the owners were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were spacious, very clean and light. Our room had a little lounge and a double bedroom and we had friends right next door so was great fun. Thanks Amble Inn Motel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jef O, Manager at Amble Inn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for the positive review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
The Amble Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and were very pleased with the rooms which were comfortable and clean. We had 2 units as there were 6 of us in the party. the owner was very helpful and friendly. the location is right in the middle of Masterton, just a short walk to the main shopping area.
Wealso had use of the swimming pool and behind our units were tables and chairs in quiet areas were if you wanted you could rest and relax amongst the trees and flowers. Derek Wolland.

Room Tip: the rooms on the right hand side of the site are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in the two bedroom unit arriving at about 3pm. The unit was cold and had no sun despite it being a sunny winters day. We immediately turned on the heaters but these didn't seem to add much heat in the short term. Oh well we thought perhaps if we leave them on it will be warm by the time we come back from dinner. To our disappointment despite all three heaters going the unit never heated up to a comfortable heat and my elderly mother and I felt cold the whole short stay. We were glad to be moving on in the morning.
Refurbishment in 2006 was tastefully done but getting a bit worn by now (2010) with paint chipping and some bulbs not working, sofas getting grubby on arms rests. My mother also had no under blanket onher bed just sheet straight onto the electric blanket, beds also very hard which does suit some people but not us.
Location was very central so suited us but doubt we will stay here again or recommend

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
1.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.7 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#6 of 11 in Masterton
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
121 reviews
2.1 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble Inn Motel

Address: 124 Chapel Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range: £62 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to central Masterton. Modern contemporary units for up to five persons. Spacious grounds, plenty of parking, swimming pool, free internet, comfortable, warm units in a friendly, welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amble Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing