We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Get Away”
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Summit Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We recently celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Summit Lodge and we had an outstanding weekend. Jim and Tracy are excellent hosts both very comfortable in the kitchen turning out great food. The rooms are very comfortable and warm with high standards of fittings and the big TV / surround sound system in the lounge is impressive for watching a movie from the extensive DVD collection. Highly recommended for a quiet weekend away in the lap of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for your kind words, it was wonderful to help you celebrate your anniversary. Here's to many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at the Summit Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. What we particularly appreciated was that all the details were great. For example, beds, linen (very generous and fluffy towels!), leather recliners in a lovely lounge with an open fire and a large selection of movies. Our hosts Jim and Tracy were attentive without being intrusive - and they're extremely good cooks. We'd recommend it highly. On our last morning, we even helped feed the alpacas!

Room Tip: All three rooms were of similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMoHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you back again soon!
Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was taking a non-kiwi for a short tiki tour around the North Island to show off our stunning scenery and famous hospitality. Having already spent some time in the Wairarapa region and having previously stayed at the Summit Lodge with family - I knew it would be perfect for the job. Our room and en-suite were a luxurious treat with tasteful, clean and comfy furnishings and a rustic and tranquil outlook onto  the native garden and spectacular Gladstone landscape. In fact, all of the guest facilities were amazing - the spacious, high-tech entertainment lounge (perfect to watch the rugby on!) with roaring fire, guest study and welcoming large homestead style kitchen - complete with another roaring fire - leading onto the Lodge courtyard.  The layout of the Lodge and friendly but non-intrusiveness of the hosts allowed flexibility for guests to be as secluded or sociable as they wished - so even though there was also another couple staying we had plenty of space and privacy.  

We opted to have the full 3 course dinner with wine and a full breakfast.  It was some of the yummiest and most plentiful food/wine I've ever been served (even better that most of it is home-grown and/or locally sourced).  It was a pleasant evening chatting with Tracey and Jim (the hosts) over dinner as well as the other couple staying.  The hosts local knowledge and experience is definitely helpful for planning what to check out in the area too.

I particularly like the ethos that Summit Lodge has been built on (without it being an "eco-preachy" experience), and that you can interact with the equally friendly Lodge animal residents as much or as little as you like.

It certainly is a unique and memorable experience, with a lot of obvious care, thought and passion going into the design and running.

I'll definitely be back and the non-kiwi absolutely loved it too!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwipomtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

thank you so much for this review - it is always really good to know that we are doing things right! We love having guests stay - and we like nothing more than sharing the fantastic local produce with guests round the dinner table accompanied by wonderful Wairarapa wine and interesting conversation. Dexter the dog and Gimli the cat both enjoyed your stay also - Dexter particulalry enjoyed his walk! See you again soon
Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Tracey is a marvellous host and cook. She asks guests about food preferences, allergies etc and tailors a menu around this. The lodge is extremely comfortable and very clean. There is a warm, friendly atmosphere and Tracey is a great conversationalist; however, there is also lots of space and opportunity to rest and chill out if this is what you want to do. The dog and cats who reside at the lodge are very well behaved and not a nuisance at all. The alpacas are absolutely delightful. We enjoyed our weekend at Summit Lodge and left feeling relaxed and refreshed (and very well fed!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

thank you Christine - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon
Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We arrived late afternoon with our adult children to find a real ambience awaiting us - the fire in the geneously appointed guest lounge was lit, the heat pumps were on and gorgeous baking awaited us, followed up by a fabulously gastronomic platter to accompany our drinks which we enjoyed before changing and going to a party locally.

Our bedroom was warm and inviting when we returned later that evening and the bed was extremely comfortable.

We had a leisurely morning and enjoyed our breakfast in the friendly kitchen with excellent coffee and homemade jams.

A truly pleasurable haven to stay in and the hosts are warm, friendly and non-intrusive.

It really was very special and we will return as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words - it is wonderful to know that our efforts our appreciated - hope to see you again

Tracey & Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to rest up whilst touring the beautiful Wairarapa and all it has to offer then look no further. All the details have been thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely hosts and a warm inviting lodge. All the efforts Tracey went to down to baking our morning muffins were totally appreciated by us. Short drives from here will take you to some lovely vineyards, outdoor walking opportunities and local interest sites such as the Mt Bruce Bird Sanctuary (White Kiwi). We will definitely keep this place in mind for another stay in the future.
You can also get to feed the Alpacas if you wish or take in the Lodge's lovely garden setting or spa pool. Regards Desi and Peter Singer

Room Tip: I had a look at all the three rooms available they are all a similar size and of equal comfort. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLemmon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

During our trip in New Zealand we stayed 2 nights at the summit lodge. We were very pleased about this luxureus B&B with a very high comfort standard. Tracey, the host and owner is very nice and helpfull person!

Marja and Jan Groot, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us, Jan and Marja, thank you for your kind words.
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
13.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
226 reviews
8.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
12.7 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
587 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
13.6 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range: £166 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, peaceful, quiet accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the lodge. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats as well as a Labrador dog. Cooked and continental breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 Min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing