We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Wai”
Review of The Summit Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Summit Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay in the Wai”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Summit Lodge last weekend. We have never been to a "boutique" lodge before so we were very interested in seeing what it would be like. It was great. Our hosts, Tracey & Jim, made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and the food was wonderful. We recommend Summit Lodge to anyone who wants to kick back and feel spoiled.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable with ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your review Leo - Jim and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I'd never been to a boutique lodge before so came with an open mind. We were greeting by Dexter the chocolate Labrador as we drove into the driveway. Jim and Tracey are the hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable very quickly, showing us around and giving us all the information we could possibly need in order to ensure we had everything at our fingertips.

Jim & Tracey really have thought of everything a guest would/could require; from the huge, comfortable bed to the lavish guest lounge complete with lazyboy couches, home made biscuits, a refrigerator with fresh chilled water and home theatre system, to the spa pool and gorgeous grounds to wander around at your leisure.

Each ensuite has everything you could need, right down to the cotton buds provided. Tracey took us out to feed the alpacas, which was great fun and there are 5 cats to play with if you'd like to but they are usually put away in the host's quarters, so never a nuisance.

We chose to do experience all the Lodge had to offer so booked in for dinner that evening and Tracey and Jim welcomed us into the warm dining room at 7 sharp, where the gorgeous smells had been enticing us most of the afternoon. The meal was gorgeous and Jim offered us a choice of several local wines and recommended appropriate ones for each course.

We'd highly recommend experiencing the whole package here, if you're just wanting somewhere to stay then there are plenty of motels and hotels. The Summit Lodge is a boutique hotel which offers a great setting to relax in and enjoy being pampered, from the grounds, hosts, food and even a spa under the stars to top off the wonderful evening.

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
thanks Andrea - we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. You certainly made a hit with the animals - they loved you (particularly Cino, the Birmese and Dexter)!

As you know we love cooking and it is always a pleasure to host guests over dinner and wine and indulge in good conversation! Look forward to seeing you again soon...and next time venison will be on the menu (specially for you) and, if winter kicks in, it might warrent wood fires.

Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at Summit Lodge just last weekend. We were celebrating a wedding anniversary. The experience was great. Tracey & Jim are great hosts. They organised transport for us, advised of event going on locally that we had a great time at and introduced us to the locals.
The room was terrific, lovely spa pool and yummy breakfast.
The area is very lovely, even under almost drought conditions.

We would highly recommend Summit Lodge. T&D

Room Tip: We took the room at the end of the lodge, which meant we were a bit seperate from others. Lounge wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
it was a delight hosting you and the other guests last weekend, Tess! The Wairarapa Harvest Festival is one of our favourite local events - so much wonderful food and wine, laid back music, shady trees and friendly atmosphere - we loved sharing it!
We are officially inow n draught - the gardens look so much better when the lawns are green but mustn't complain about the blue skies and sun we have been experiencing.
Look forward to seeing you again - in winter you can snuggle up in front of the open fire in the guest lounge or dinning room - perfect for lamb shanks or a tagine and a drop of local pinot noir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My partner & I were travelling around NZ for 5 weeks and Summit Lodge was the one place that provided everything; despite other good accommodation, none could match the comfort, thoughtfulness for guests to provide everything that was needed for our stay. Excellent food and conversation; hot tub was relaxing after a long drive and the highlight was feeding the Alpacas after breakfast! Only sorry it was for only one night. Tracey & Jim have hit the target with Summit Lodge and would love to see it in a few years when all the plants are well established.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar and choice of double or twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshys48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
thank you so much for your kind words....it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back in a few years. It is only when we look back at photos that we notice how fast the garden is growing (although to current hot, dry summer has been a challenge for the plants!) Give it another 3 years or so and, no doubt, it will look very different! Oh, and we will have developed the pond area as well as installed the gazebo which will provide a romantic dinner setting. Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have just spent a weekend at the Summit Lodge.
We arrived Friday afternoon had an evening meal and picnic lunch Sat and breakfasts Sat/Sun.
The stay was excellent in every respect and in particular the food was the best we have had anywhere in the world. The local wines were great and very well priced. The meals were prepared by the host Tracy and they could not have been better mostly homegrown or local fresh food.
The Summit is in a quiet and peaceful setting with all facilities one needs for a peaceful time and we spent Sat at Castelpoint at the beach horseraces which was a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend The Summit to anyone wanting a quiet time away. The local town of Greytown is well worth some shopping time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JATWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback - we are so pleased you enjoyed the meals and your stay. Jim and I both love cooking and it is great to know that it is appreciated. The local produce is extremely good and finding recipes that do it justice is one of the joys of hosting...clean plates are another very satisfying result! Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at The Summit Lodge for a getaway in the Wairarapa region. We could not have been more thrilled with our stay. After spending time in a variety of spots in the Wairarapa, The Summit was far and away the most beautiful spot to relax for a few days. The grounds and lodging are simply spectacular. Better yet, Tracey and Jim were absolutely fantastic hosts. Their wonderful personalities (and their amazing home cooked breakfasts) made us feel right at home. Only a short drive from all of the major towns in the Wairarapa (Martinborough, Masterton, etc.), I would highly recommend The Summit to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you Scott and Pammy - we are so pleased you love the place as much as we do! We feel priveleged to live in such a beautiful area and we love sharing it with our guests...hope to see you back here sometime
Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As soon as you drive up the driveway you know you are in for a great stay! The rooms are very comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Your wonderful hosts just think of everything and are brilliant! The breakfast..... mmm! It set us up for the day and had lovely home made jams etc. There was four of us on our stay and we all will certainly be back! If you want an exceptional getaway.... The Summit Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey011, Owner at The Summit Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
thank you so much Shelley - we very much enjoyed meeting you all - see you next time

Tracey & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
13.3 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
212 reviews
12.7 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
8.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
113 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
125 reviews
7.4 mi away
Belfry Villa
Belfry Villa
#1 of 5 in Carterton
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Lodge

Property: The Summit Lodge
Address: 4 Admiral Road | Gladstone, Masterton 5883, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Summit Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Lodge, Gladstone provides 5-star, peaceful, quiet accommodation for a maximum of 6 guests in a private wing of the lodge. Each guest room has ensuite facilities and a private patio as well as heat pump/air con. A large lounge is available exclusively for guest use and the Lodge offers wifi access throughout. Beautiful views of farmland and rolling hills, alpacas to meet and feed and range of cats as well as a Labrador dog. Cooked and continental breakfast options with home baked bread, home toasted muesli, fresh fruit, espresso coffee/teas, free range eggs and locally cured bacon. Dinners available with notice featuring local, seasonal produce; served dinner-party style. Single storey and wheelchair accessible, Child-free. Close to several wineries, golf courses and many other Wairarapa attractions. 15 Min drive to Masterton and Carterton and 20 mins to Greytown and Martinborough. Local country inn, 3km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Summit Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing