We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Older but clean and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Motor Lodge

Discovery Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Masterton B&B and Inns
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Older but clean and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

An older place but clean and tidy. The room was a very good size, older furnishings but clean, tidy and well looked after. Staff all very friendly. The spa bath was nice to relax in at the end of the day. The main thing I didn't like was the lack of net curtains on the windows overlooking the car park, so anyone in the car park could look straight into your unit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Draco_Malfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
798 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stopped at Masterton on our way north from Wellington. The motel is well situated at the start of Masterton and not far from the supermarket. Restaurants are a drive away down to the main street unless you want KFC. The rooms were a good size and the kitchenette quite adequate. The owners were very helpful as to restaurants and local attractions that may be of interest. Internet was available. Although the motel was on the main road, there was little traffic noise - not enough to disturb us. Probably a little expensive for a country motel, but value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Lovely quiet Motel close to everything. Manager even put our bed on for us so was warm when we got back late. Nice to stay at a motel that still uses electric blankets. Clean tidy room with lovely windows that open right up. Nice grounds to sit and relax in.
Would recommend to others. A+++

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting family. Rooms are all clean, warm & equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Heat pump, spa bath, electric blanket big tv, plunger coffee and nice wine glasses! Across road from supermarket, liquor store, KFC, and a handful of food places. I booked the wrong dates and they were ever so nice about it. May not be the cheapest in Masterton, but For quality & location, it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Cove NSW Aust
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Owner off the motel was a person who really went out of her way and lent us her crockpot and electric frypan and gave us a recipe for Macaroni cheese that cooks in the crockpot.
We were there for an unveiling and a family reunion. The family room was to our requirements and clean and tidy.And Laundy was exceptional everything you required.
Even my grandson was sick on the Saturday night and didnt even worry about this ( we cleaned it up as both my daughter in law and myself have both worked in the industry years ago and know what its like) but didnt charge any extra
We as a family ( Mackenzies) cant thank you enough

Room Tip: Family room for families excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlette NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Awesome Motel, Great Staff. The room was a great size for the 6 of us (5 adults, 1 4yr old). The Staff were amazing, the owner even lent us their own personal electric fry pan and slow cooker to cook with and even gave us a great receipe (where in the world would you get that service??). My son was extremely sick on the Saturday night and it was all through out the bed, the next morning the housekeepers couldn't of been more kind, caring and understanding and they didn't even charge us a cleaning fee. This Motel and service was above and beyond our expections and we will be definately stay again next time we are over!! A HUGE THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twizel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We were disappointed after reading the advertisement to find that our unit had a queen bed rather than a king. Given that you pay extra for the spa unit you might expect a king size bed. It was a basic bed and you could feel the electric blanket wires through the sheets.
The spa bath was small.
We asked for green milk but they did not have any.
The bed lights were totally useless as it was the ceiling light above the bed! So really not a bed lamp at all.
Other than that it was clean and comfortable.
It was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizelites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
1.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
0.2 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#3 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
30.5 mi away
Castlepoint Hotel & Guesthouse - The Whakataki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Motor Lodge

Property: Discovery Motor Lodge
Address: 210 Chapel Street | Masterton, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing