We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masterton Motor Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highwayman Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Park Motel(Masterton)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Park Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
28
46
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
46
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmotor lodgelong tripbit datedfour hoursfree guest laundryswimming poolstudio roomfan heatercooking facilitieson site restaurantwould stay againtwo single bedsgreat spotmain roadstayed for one nightspa bathunits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I booked this because I was unable to get a early check in at the Copthorne which I needed as I was due to start bridal party makeup at 10.30am. This hotel was around the same price as the Copthorne and actualy right next door but interestingly on Expedia its $95 for a room when I called its $125 but to have the early check in I let it slide! the lady (owner I guess) was very lovely and friendly we arrived at 10.30 and the room wasnt quite finished but was fine with us. Decor is very outdated but otherwise was comfortable and very clean one tip though maybe label the outside doors as we had another guest walk into our open front door at 7am in the morning luckily I had just finished getting dressed! Also the name change on your invoice compared with name of hotel needs to be the same we got confused :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to help guests who need to check in earlier if we are able. The other comments you mentioned will certainly be looked at and addressed by management for future guests. Again we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again if the need arises.
kind regards
Ian & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Well the chef took the night away, many guest still want to know how the veges were done. Magic food, one of those rare ocassions where you could not find a fault. Well done, Excellent spread of veges and the chicken was so well done , unbelievable stuff. Front staff very accommodating. The whole family enjoyed. keep up the good work. The reunion was magic because you made it so easy. Dutt family

Room Tip: plenty to choose from
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susheel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meal and stay with us here at Masterton Motor Lodge. We are very fortunate to have such excellent staff.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Masterton Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was a great place to stay on our tour of North Island.

Check-in was speedy and very pleasant and we were given fresh milk so we could make our own coffee and tea in the room.

The room was large and well-equipped, with doors that opened out onto the garden area at the rear.

The lodge reminded us very much of the motels we'd seen in 60's movies and, though the decor was reminiscent of the 60's and 70's, the room and bathroom was very clean and very comfortable.

The lodge is located some way out of Masterton so for an evening meal I nipped along the road a few hundred yards an bought fish and chips which I brought back to the room. Delicious!

If I was in the area again I'd definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We're glad your experience was a pleasant one - they do make awesome fish & chips don't they!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in Masterton more or less by accident (we needed somewhere to break up a long drive from Napier to Wellington) and the Motor Lodge was a great place to rest and relax. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Masterton itself wasn't particularly worth a visit (we arrived on a Saturday afternoon and most things seemed to be closed, so I'm prepared to accept that it may be fantastic at other times!), but if you find yourself staying in the area, the Motor Lodge offers very good quality accommodation.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DueCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Masterton has probably been known more as a place to stop on the way through to somewhere rather than as the destination. But the region is fast growing and expanding with more interesting places to visit and experience which will turn that view point around and Masterton will become somewhere to come and stay for your holiday.
We look forward to hosting your next trip.
Ian & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we stayed here after escaping from Southpark Motel (see my reviews for details on that place!!)down the road. Masterton Motor Lodge was warm, and welcomming. Lovely clean rooms (and I am a fussy at the best of times).....
The restaurant thought busy was fantastic.
We will definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if you want utter peace and quiet - so relaxing and very spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews