We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Clean and beautiful place .Very friendly staff and great food. Was nice to lax out by the pool and enjoy the sun. Not to far from shops and the town center. There restaurant was cozy and friendly i will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Peter, Many thanks for your great feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Asure Masterton Motor Lodge. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to ensure our facilities are welcoming and clean. We will certainly pass on your positive comments to them as well as our restaurant staff. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again.
kind regards
Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    37
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
35
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Well, we planned to make a trip from the South Island for a week or two, visiting the North. After the arrival of the ferry in Wellington we did not want to drive for more than one or two hours. So Masterton was the right place, only this motel we booked NOT!

It is really a really outdated, old fashioned and not clean place. We were de facto to tired to turn ourselves on our heels and drive away to find another place. On our way back we found a perfect Gateway Motor Inn, in the same street; clean, modern and with a dedicated manager, what we did not find in the Masterton Motor Lodge at all.

Further more, the term motel for this Masterton motor lodge is not correct. There are no cooking facilities and even the proper plates or a tea pot for having a proper breakfast are not available. Yes they promote their own restaurant for sure, but we do advise to go to the Asian Changs place for a meal. Very good food and the personnel even speak Bahasa Indonesia and Cantonese!

Once again, if you have certain standards, the Masterton Motor Lodge is a place to avoid.

Tom Boot, the Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It is with great sadness that we sincerely believe this review has been placed by a fictitious person.
It has been verified that Tom Boot has never stayed here and most probably had the wrong complex. The comments do not align with other reviews or comments or ratings. All our hosted guests have been contacted during that period and we have been totally reassured that all our genuine guests have been extremely pleased with their stay at the Asure Masterton Motor Lodge through their dining experience in our restaurant, the decor, cleanliness and hosting. Indeed several have made future return bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in a two story unit; two beds upstairs and a main double bed downstairs in lounge. Clean and comfortable and just right for our needs (2 adults and 2 mid-aged children). Absence of even a small dining table. TV only had Freeview channels which isn't really enough coverage, we'd expect SKY coverage. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmaduke04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Kia Ora,
Thank you for your positive review. Yes our Villa Attics are very popular with families and provide excellent value. All units have a 32 inch LCD TV with access to 5 Sky channels along with 16 Freeview channels. TV instructions are placed under the remote daily by housekeeping for guests convenience but our staff at reception happily helps guest with queries such as these. We pride ourselves on service, so please do not hesitate to ask. If you visit Masterton again, we hope we can assist you with your accommodation requirements.
kind regards,
Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice, but dated, room. Very comfy. Really friendly and helpful staff. Love the way the rooms flow into the gardens.

Rooms seemed a bit dated. The bathrooms especially felt quite old and dark. But very clean!

Close to shops, but a bit of a drive to the nearest takeaways.

Pool and other play facilities were great.

Great spot for a family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Kia Ora,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We do offer families lots of variety in the way of activities as well as the pool which is always very popular and a must when on holiday. We are fortunate to be located on such wonderful grounds, perfect for children and families to play and enjoy a holiday destination. There is something comforting about clean, homely surroundings enabling you to relax.
kind regards,
Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The room was a little dated but looks like it has been modernised recently. The food from the restaurant is very nice and top class. The heater did the job of warming the room, I was a bit worried when I first saw it. Would stay again. Room was clean and tidy

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hi Cameron,
Thank you for your positive comments on Asure Masterton Motor Lodge. We are a well established complex and we continually strive to make improvements and up-grades across the board. Regular guests often comment on the progress and changes made since their last visit.
We are glad you enjoyed your restaurant dining; it has an excellent reputation.
We look forward to hosting you on any return visits to Masterton.
kind regards
Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit and was very disappointed in the room.The whole unit needs refurbishing.The carpet and lounge suite was dirty,disgusting,and the bathroom as will.The unit was cold even though they say underfloor heating not really working,got an extra heater from office to heat up unit,and I was not happy when they turned off the heater in lounge for when we came home to a cold room.For the price of the room for 2 it was over priced for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Kia Ora Caroline,
Thank you for your review. The cold snap in the weather was indeed nasty and as you mentioned we provided you with extra heating on top of the under floor heating and heaters which were certainly working hard to keep the rooms cosy.
We apologise that the housekeeping staff turned off the portable heaters when they found the room vacant, as they were extremely concerned about fire safety.
We have a refurbishment programme across the complex and that room is not too far away from being address. However as our recent reviews indicate we retain the highest standards of cleanliness.
It would be our pleasure to accommodate you on your next trip to Masterton and to ensure your experience is to your standard.
Thanks once again,
kind regards, Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed 1 night in a studio room located near the back of the establishment, after finding it on the Internet. Lovely greeting by staff- friendly and helpful. Our room was a pleasant surprise. A large bedroom area, with a compact kitchen and shower area. The bedroom doors opened out onto a lovely grassy area- fresh air! Bliss! Best night sleep we've had. Kitchen basic - electric hot plates on angle so interesting cooking but we managed. Would be happy to stay there again. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MastertonMotorlodge, Owner at ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Ki Ora,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Masterton Motor Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed the larger rooms and the awesome grounds here. Our staff are very welcoming and enjoy greeting and chatting with guests; great when people love their job. We hope you were able to experience all our facilities and we look forward to hosting you again should you come this way.
kind regards, Ian & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.2 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
Address: 250 High St., Masterton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing