We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“one night stop over”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

flew into wellington ,picked up a car and made this hotel our first night stop.
It is right on the edge of Masterton,and handy to the town.
Nice and clean ,comfortable rooms,friendly staff ..
A nice pool and gym area,but we did not use them
we decided to stay in house for tea so went down to the restaurant .In our opinion this was a real let down,nothing special at all .I am sure they could do a lot better.
The next day went in for breakfast and this was right up with the best,plenty to choose from, both hot and cold food.
A nice place to stay ,but tea let it down a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    142
    61
    29
    9
See reviews for
100
93
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We enjoyed being under one cover for accommadation, Cocktails, and a very nice dinner. We found the staff very helpfull as well as giving us very good service.
We had one of the suites which we found very comferble. It was great being able to pray right outside our unit. We were able to have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Researcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times now and i thoroughly enjoy it everytime. The staff are excellent and go out of there way to accomodate every request. The hotel shuttle that can pick you up from the train station is extremely convenient. The rooms and nice and the facilities can keep you entertained for hours! The only downside is the restaurant which is quite expensive which has forced us to eat elsewhere everytime we stay. Apart from this it is a great hotel and we will be back in the future

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here as a team. Not ideal if you are looking to save $, but great for the teenagers to be kept occupied.

We struggled to eat in the rooms - not a lot of in room cooking facilities.

The restaurant was too expensive for teams, but the cafe was okay. it closes early though.

The girls like the pool area and golf range. The spa pool was empty though.

Good to be able to park outside the door.

Room Tip: Lots of different types of rooms. check it out carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Booked into stay here for 3 nights and ended up staying just the one, as I wanted to get out of there as soon as possible.

While I didn't expect anything amazing, I was shocked at the uncleanliness of the room, I felt dirty after staying here. The covers were stained with what looked like an oily substance and on the other bed it looked like blood. In the main bedroom a pubic hair was found in the bed when the sheets were pulled back, pretty disgusting.

The fact that the only bathroom was an ensuite was annoying, as there were 4 of us in the room and I was constantly having to go through the main bedroom to use the bathroom.

The location is perfectly fine, a resturant attached which is handy and the staff were pleasant. But completely overpriced as we moved to another motel literally just down the road for an extra $15 a night...completely worth it.

I wouldn't recommend this place at this point in time, however if they tidy and clean the place up, it wouldn't be so bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Our team from work stayed here for a meeting that we diverted from Wellington in the height of the shakes there. The accommodation and facilities there were very comfortable with us wanting for nothing. We had all meals catered by the resort which were excellent. Add to that the bonus of a golf driving range, tennis court and a good bar allowed us to really relax after the days work was over.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My hockey team went for a tournament and the staff bent over backwards for us. The food was exceptional, nothing was a problem. The rooms were very comfortable and warm and everything was well maintained. I would definitely recommend this Motel to any large groups.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
11.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#5 of 11 in Masterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing