We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.....But we wouldn't stay again”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tulloch Lodge Country Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Reviewed 19 June 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The room was nice, but there was a shortage of towels, face cloths etc. The room was cold, heating not great. There was no electric blanket on the bed and no extra blankets. You could also hear what was going on in the next room which isn't good. Even though there was a little cook top in the room, I think a microwave would have been better. The restaurant is excellent and the staff lovely, but the room was a big let down.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We stayed at Tulloch Lodge with friends on a weekend away. The location I remembered used to be The Slow Food Cafe. The Lodge is fairly new so nice & clean and the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. We did find the walls in the rooms to be rather thin, so doors opening & closing in the hallway are rather loud and also people using the shower in the next room sounded as though it was in your own room! There was no electric blanket on the bed, and although the bed had a duvet and bedspread I found it a little cold overnight and there was no extra blankets in the room. We had dinner in the restaurant which was really very nice, the lamb shanks were just divine! Only thing was it was rather cold in there and although the fire was on, there were people outside smoking who kept leaving the folded doors open letting all the cold air in. One of the big heat pumps wasn't working at one end of the room so ended up moving from the couchs up to the tables closer to the fire. All in all probably a nice stopover stay and worth eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 5Plus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

Our booking was for the Saturday and Sunday nights of Easter weekend.

We were informed there was a wedding on our first night, not a problem. Only when we checked in were we informed the restaurant was closed. Again, not a huge loss as there are other restaurants nearby.

The room was spacious with two king beds and a lounge suite, tea and coffee making facilities and a modern en-suite. Cleanliness could have been improved by giving the surfaces a good dust.

On returning from our evening meal on Saturday night the hotel was in darkness and remained that way for the rest of our stay.

Sunday morning, the restaurant was a ghost ship, no tables laid for breakfast and just a couple of staff milling around.

Monday morning was a similar experience with just the owner present who cooked breakfast.

On check-out we were asked the usual...."did we enjoy our stay" I mentioned that it would have been far more enjoyable if the Hotel had actually been open. This comment, warranting a simple apology, was met with a tirade about the 'government', 'holiday pay' and 'kiwi Saver'.

If staffing is such a huge problem pass on the excess to the customer or just close down for the holiday period.

I don't think it is unreasonable to expect the advertised facilities to be available whilst paying the going rate. The owner surely doesn't expect return trade after such a stay.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank bendyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Great place for a stopover, between Napier and Wellington.
Good, clean, modern, tasteful accommodation at a good price. Helpful owners and yummy breakfast. Good night garanteed!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herculine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masterton hotels
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
1.5 mi away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
1.6 mi away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Lodge Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Lodge Country Hotel

Address: 290 High Street, Masterton 5810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Masterton
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tulloch Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing