We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic French Cuisine”
Review of Cafe Mirabelle

Cafe Mirabelle
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Carterton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://restaurants.nzherald.co.nz/restaurant/cafe-mirabelle-carterton
Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rustic French Cuisine”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This restaurant is actually 2 restaurants. Its a day time café and a night time restaurant. We went at night and had what I'd describe as rustic French cuisine. Its about the 4th time we have visited and the menu remains much the same but a few variations have been seen each time. This time my 2 favs were missing , Cassoulet was all gone and bouillabaisse was not on the menu. I had a very nice terrine for starter and had a lamb rack for main. Both very pleasant and very big portions. So big we both decided to have no puddings especially as they didn't sound very interesting. The makeover from daytime to night is very well achieved by hiding the cabinet and putting tablecloths on the tables with subdued lighting and candles. The restaurant is BYO however the corkage is excessive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very French”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived a little after our booking time of of 7pm. Drinks card was produced but had to wait as chef was photocopying that night's carte. ;-) The food is not cheap ($37 for a main course) but plentiful and very good. Having had an entree and a main, I could only look longingly at the cheese option (which the monsieur had correctly spotted was to my liking). Our daughter did manage dessert and her creme brulee had the correct freshly made top that cracked.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 42again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“French Cafe in Carterton!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Enjoyed my coffee and cake there, and have heard friends say their meals are wonderful. French Cooking at its best..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Exceptional French bistro in rural NZ”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We booked ahead having been warned of this bistro's local popularity and were glad we did - it was full. On arrival there was an apology - the evening's menu was not yet available as the chef was still writing it out! Shortly afterwards a photocopied page offered the best of the available local fresh foods, newly prepared for just that day. With a warm welcome and friendly service by the patron, despite being under pressure of a full house, we were assured of a good evening. However the food topped that! Freshest fish; vegetables even fresher, and a great wine list mixing local wines with good cheaper wines from France. Bravo!

Helpful?
2 Thank Thorndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great foodie find”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Discovered this delightful restaurant with its personable team last week while visiting Carterton.
The cabinet food, pastries, and menu were all so enticing and cooked on site. The food was freshly prepared and full of flavour. Congratulations to Mirabelle and we are so sorry you are so far away for us to visit more often. Would recommend this charming comfortable restaurant to all travelling north of Wellington.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Mirabelle also viewed

 
Greytown, Wairarapa
Carterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Cafe Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing