We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Featherston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have to say, I have never experienced anything like it. What makes this place great is not just the peaceful, outstanding, beautiful estate but the beautiful staff that goes with it. My husband and I were privileged to have stayed three wonderful nights and we were sad to leave. Our villa was stunning, the quad tour was freaking awesome and I can't believe how HUGE the estate is, the peacefulness was BLISS! and the food, five star, unbelievable, indescribable.

Richard the GM - down to earth, great guy, awesome to have a wine with
Ricky - Just a sweetheart, awesome at making cocktails
Greg - Knowledgeable in wine/beer/everything, unbelievably awesome guy
Tim - Chef, this guy can cook!!!!!! out of this world

Worth the time, worth the money!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved it! The property definitely exceeded our expectations - it is much better than it looks on the website. The rooms/villas were very spacious, luxurious,relaxing and all had spectacular views. The farm tour is well worth doing, as it gives you the chance to see some beautiful parts of the property. The lodge itself is lovely and the staff were excellent (although we did feel a little unloved when some journalists/photographers arrived and the manager seemed to disregard us from that point).

The food was a little inconsistent - delicious breakfast, dinner on our first night was very enjoyable; however, the dinner on the second night was fairly average. The pre-dinner drinks service was also a little haphazard on each night but still very enjoyable. Nowithstanding the little hiccups, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the lodge for a luxurious, relaxing getaway in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRDBDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed a birthday treat weekend here a few months ago ( sorry for late review ! ) Richard, Greg & the team were superb assisted by a friendly,knowledgeable team. Whilst booking in your car is whisked away & parked.The Villas were spotlessly clean, warm & beautifully appointed with great vistas looking out to the East Coast - would be spectacular in a storm ! The bathroom is a standout & such a nice place to relax in. We had our meal privately ( an offer made due to a large group being there the nights we were in residence ) - this was most appreciated & we sat in front of a rip roaring fire & enjoyed our degustation menu with matching wines & "private " staff !! Who could ask for more?! The meals were delicious & very nicely presented & were preceded by very tasty canapes . Breakfasts served in another dining room had a good choice & the chef was most amenable to change items on the menu which is always great. The waiters & waitresses were very nice too.
When we left we found a gift of the Wharekauhau history as a birthday gift & also biscuits & fresh water in our car which was returned to the door ready for our departure.All of these little things are what makes Wharekauhau special & a leader in the field of luxurious NZ Lodges

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at this extraordinary Lodge about 2 hours from Wellington. It's a lush green working farm sprawling across a headland looking out to sea. The cabins (hardly the right word - more like a luxurious one bedroom house) are beautifully presented and every little detail is there - from a bathtub with a picture window to homemade biscuits and herb teas. Meals are in the main lodge which has a great wine cellar and the chef presents a new menu each evening. Activities range from doing nothing - and where better to do it - to a 20 meter indoor swimming pool, long walks through the paddocks and a customised wine tour to nearby Martinborough vineyards with Greg which was a highlight. We looked at some other NZ lodges which were more expensive - I can't imagine what they could offer to do better (maybe no golf course but in my view that's a plus).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had an amazing time here last year! Richard and his team was fantastic. We were really well looked after. The service is amazing without it being overbearing. The food rivals the best restaurants in the world. We are looking forward to our return trip in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ME-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fantastic luxury lodge - what a brilliant location!
The best service we have ever received, this is what hospitality is all about!

Thank you to the staff for making our break away so lovely - we will be back! Next stay will be for longer to make sure we can do everything on offer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbltrvlr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had the privilege this weekend to attend as best man for one of my oldest friends weddings which was held at the Wharekauhau Country Estate. From start to finish our experience was truly excellent. Although there only for the ceremony and wedding lunch we were treated like honored guests and friends. The location is breath taking, the service was personal yet not intrusive and the food and wine were like a dream. Certainly one of the best steaks I can ever remember having and the wines matched with the choices of our meals were spot on. The only downside was that I was driving that afternoon so could not indulge! For a truly luxourious meal with knowledgable and attentive service this would be hard to beat. I could not comment on the rooms etc but if the rest of the place was anything to go on then I think one would not be disappointed. Many thanks to everyone concerned with making our visit truly memorable. Every one of the other of our guests were raving about the place and here's hoping one day to return again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SimonMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Featherston
23.4 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
233 reviews
16.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,715 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sofitel Wellington
Sofitel Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharekauhau Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharekauhau Country Estate

Address: Western Lake Road | Palliser Bay, RD3, Featherston 5773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Featherston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Featherston
Price Range: £1,112 - £1,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wharekauhau Country Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anything is possible whether it be an insight into farming in New Zealand, a tour of the lodge'€™s historic coastline, or even something as simple as enjoying a walk through the 5,500 acre haven that is Wharekauhau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Wharekauhau Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharekauhau Country Estate Featherston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing