We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Featherston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed two nights at this elegant, indescribably beautiful kiwi lodge. There aren't enough superlatives to describe our experience. The rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable with views that are breathtaking. The culinary experience was exquisite... Delicious, creative, personalized, and photogenic. The staff are accommodating, friendly and personable. The setting is spectacular. I wish we could have stayed for a week. If we are lucky enough to get back to New Zealand, this will surely be at the top of the list for a revisit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Absolutely amazing place, stunning location and the service was incredible. You really were made to feel at home.

We stayed 2 nights, but wished it was 7! Just settled in and enjoyed the wonderful surrounds and chatting with the very knowledgable staff. This was a lodge 'Kiwi' style, where all the staff create this wonderfully relaxed environment where you are made to feel like part of the family.

Can't wait to go back! We missed the farm tour as we were out during the day, but other guests we spoke to in the evening said it is a must do! So that will be our excuse for returning!

Oh and we LOVED the shortbread we received in our room on arrival - could live on that for days!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have to agree that the place is just stunning, comfortable, elegant, and wonderful. But one hates being gouged as well.
I could go on and on about the beauty of the estate, the perfect comfort of the elegant rooms and and the lodge itself, the marvelous cuisine, the friendly and efficient staff, but it was all ruined by the overcharging of the tours ($160 per person for just touring the farm). Oh and we were refused the wine menu prices and charged whatever the Lodge wanted, since they are not included. Plus we never really liked the wines that were offered. The cost for the lodge is just too high to be nickel and dimed like this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank greennman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have to say, I have never experienced anything like it. What makes this place great is not just the peaceful, outstanding, beautiful estate but the beautiful staff that goes with it. My husband and I were privileged to have stayed three wonderful nights and we were sad to leave. Our villa was stunning, the quad tour was freaking awesome and I can't believe how HUGE the estate is, the peacefulness was BLISS! and the food, five star, unbelievable, indescribable.

Richard the GM - down to earth, great guy, awesome to have a wine with
Ricky - Just a sweetheart, awesome at making cocktails
Greg - Knowledgeable in wine/beer/everything, unbelievably awesome guy
Tim - Chef, this guy can cook!!!!!! out of this world

Worth the time, worth the money!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We loved it! The property definitely exceeded our expectations - it is much better than it looks on the website. The rooms/villas were very spacious, luxurious,relaxing and all had spectacular views. The farm tour is well worth doing, as it gives you the chance to see some beautiful parts of the property. The lodge itself is lovely and the staff were excellent (although we did feel a little unloved when some journalists/photographers arrived and the manager seemed to disregard us from that point).

The food was a little inconsistent - delicious breakfast, dinner on our first night was very enjoyable; however, the dinner on the second night was fairly average. The pre-dinner drinks service was also a little haphazard on each night but still very enjoyable. Nowithstanding the little hiccups, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the lodge for a luxurious, relaxing getaway in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRDBDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We enjoyed a birthday treat weekend here a few months ago ( sorry for late review ! ) Richard, Greg & the team were superb assisted by a friendly,knowledgeable team. Whilst booking in your car is whisked away & parked.The Villas were spotlessly clean, warm & beautifully appointed with great vistas looking out to the East Coast - would be spectacular in a storm ! The bathroom is a standout & such a nice place to relax in. We had our meal privately ( an offer made due to a large group being there the nights we were in residence ) - this was most appreciated & we sat in front of a rip roaring fire & enjoyed our degustation menu with matching wines & "private " staff !! Who could ask for more?! The meals were delicious & very nicely presented & were preceded by very tasty canapes . Breakfasts served in another dining room had a good choice & the chef was most amenable to change items on the menu which is always great. The waiters & waitresses were very nice too.
When we left we found a gift of the Wharekauhau history as a birthday gift & also biscuits & fresh water in our car which was returned to the door ready for our departure.All of these little things are what makes Wharekauhau special & a leader in the field of luxurious NZ Lodges

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at this extraordinary Lodge about 2 hours from Wellington. It's a lush green working farm sprawling across a headland looking out to sea. The cabins (hardly the right word - more like a luxurious one bedroom house) are beautifully presented and every little detail is there - from a bathtub with a picture window to homemade biscuits and herb teas. Meals are in the main lodge which has a great wine cellar and the chef presents a new menu each evening. Activities range from doing nothing - and where better to do it - to a 20 meter indoor swimming pool, long walks through the paddocks and a customised wine tour to nearby Martinborough vineyards with Greg which was a highlight. We looked at some other NZ lodges which were more expensive - I can't imagine what they could offer to do better (maybe no golf course but in my view that's a plus).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deverard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Featherston
23.4 mi away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
128 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
232 reviews
16.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,700 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wharekauhau Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wharekauhau Country Estate

Address: Western Lake Road | Palliser Bay, RD3, Featherston 5773, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Featherston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Featherston
Price Range: £523 - £1,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wharekauhau Country Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anything is possible whether it be an insight into farming in New Zealand, a tour of the lodge'€™s historic coastline, or even something as simple as enjoying a walk through the 5,500 acre haven that is Wharekauhau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wharekauhau Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharekauhau Country Estate Featherston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing