We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Los Picos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bucerias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Picos Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Bucerias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. A good friend discovered it 12 years ago and has stayed here since. There have been lots of improvements over the years to the pool areas. There are 2, one has a water slide for the kids, and the infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. It has a fountain area that is supper shallow to allow little tykes to splash and play, divided from the adult pool. Over a few yards under the palm trees is also a jetted small pool that is very popular. They have nice bathrooms by this pool so one doesn't have to run all the way back to ones room. The rooms are cleaned daily and the property is very well maintained, esp the pools.
We stayed in a room overlooking the ocean/pool. You book a bedroom unit with bathroom off the main kitchen/living room area. There are 3 bedrooms to a unit. There is also an outside sitting area for each unit. On site they have a small convenience store, good to buy drinking water, ice cream and coronas. You can rent a peddle bike here as well.
It is a 10 minute walk to downtown Bucerias. Lots of restaurants to check out along the way. One bar called the Bikers Bar had just opened just past Yo Yo Ma's. Cold cheap beer here.
The rooms at Los picos are getting a bit shabby and need some updating.The fridges can be missing the plastic door condiment holders so you get less space for food storage.For the past few years they have been increasing their prices, so has now become less of a deal to stay here. If you get ocean front the views are spectacular, but it is now worth looking at some of the other hotels for the same view. (Ten days for 2 cost $950.00 american /ocean front room)
Easy access to the beach. Showers on access area. Be careful in ocean late March due to sting rays coming in to the bay to mate. They lay in sand and a few people have had stingers stuck into their foot or ankle. Not nice. We wore our teva sandals swimming and did the shuffle walk to make any rays swim away.
Hope this info helps.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2C. We looked over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avialae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked a room for 5 adults to stay, when we got there after a 3 day trip from Chicago, they gave us a room for 3 people and had us walk at the end of the hotel when the beach was on the other side of our room, and this isn't what we asked for 2 weeks before we left. They wouldn't give us a discount for messing up even thought the lady at the desk seen the toe of what we asked for and wanted, but bcuz her manager was not there, she couldn't do anything for us, and there is no way we were staying there another day,,we told them adios the next day and went to Bungalow Princess down the street, bigger bungalow like if it was our own house, next to the beach view and we could hear the waves through our bedroom window, we had great air conditioning system, nice balcony, great employees who loves us and took very well care of us.... See my next review of Bungalow Princess.
Don't go here to Los Picos.... Very nice hotel with bad workers and management. And they don't discount for anything.

Room Tip: Ask for the manager and tell him you write and blog for a magazine for great hotels in the Mexico ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This place is OK but it is designed on an apartment basis - it is reminiscent of England's old holiday camps.
Small individual rooms are available but these are really adjuncts to the adjacent suite.
We used it as we attended a wedding celebration 1km away up the coast.
Iwouldn't recommend it as a B&B either.

Room Tip: pay extra for a suite overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We came here 5 years in a row. The staff are friendly and helpful. We felt very safe here. The location in Bucerias is quaint and we just love it. This is not a glitzy place. Plenty of convenience with a homey feeling. Love, love these condos.

Susan Lower
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Dec 2011

Room Tip: Ocean side and second floor corner spots are best for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

VIsiting Bucerias was an absolute joy, but would not have been nearly as pleasurable had we not stayed at Los Picos. The staff were warm and we were quickly made to feel like we belonged. We were guest of friends, but our room and bath were every bit as nice as the master. The kitchen was fully equipped and recent renovations made for quite an attractive unit. It was actually difficult to decide if we wanted to tour Bucerias or remain comfortably back at Los Picos, which offered everything we were looking for in a vacation - entertainment, beach, meeting new friends, scrumptious dining.. you name it! I simply cannot say enough about our experience at Los Picos. We will return again and again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Our family of 5 just returned from an eight night stay in lovely Bucerius. We had booked into Los Picos with limited information, but were very presently surprised. We all agreed the size and quality of the suite was fabulous. We had a two bedroom which had two double beds in one room, and a king in the other room. The kitchen was good, although, as always, bring a good knife if you are organized and want to do some serious cooking. There is a mega grocery store quite handy on the bus, and a cab ride back was around $9.00. The room we had was on the 2nd floor and seemed like it was "newer" than some of the other rooms we noticed. The beach rooms looked like fun, but many face the restaurant which may make it not truly a peaceful ocean experience. We did try the restaurant one evening and honestly thought the portions were small and it was really expensive. The infinity pool on the ocean was a wonderful experience. The patio (s) off the room were a nice bright place to sit and read after all the kids were in bed, We found the prices for items such as cereal and beer reasonable in the store on site at the hotel. The only minor "complaint is those gosh-darn hard as a rock Mexican mattresses, but it is our experience that that is common in most hotels. There is a pizza place right across the busy street (highway, I guess) and so many other really delightful spots to eat as you walk towards Bucerius. We enjoyed Bucerius so much, it felt safe, and Mexican, and has the feel of a pleasant beach town. We went upstairs to the Red apple restaurant a couple of times and thought the prices and food were terrific. Los Picos was a functional, well kept and well run spot. Can't wait to go back, would not choose anywhere else we saw!

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank Go2MexicoWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Our suite was renovated completely since last year. I mean gutted and rebuilt with new furniture and appliances. My wife and I enjoy walking, the restaurants, bars, all the shops and services including Doctor, Lab and Pharmacies are right there in Bucerias.
The rooms, balconies, swim pools are cleaned and disinfected daily.
The staff from Manager to front office personnel and cleaning staff, not to forget those that run the corner store and the new restaurant near the beach are helpful, friendly and make us feel like we are part of their family. 24 hour security makes us feel safe at all times. we had friends and family visit us this season and they are elated with this place.
We call Los Picos our home for February and March every year and we plan to extend our stay in future years. Judy and Serge

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaSerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
2.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.6 mi away
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
27 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Varadero
Hotel Villa Varadero
#16 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
2.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#14 of 23 in Bucerias
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Picos Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Picos Hotel & Suites

Address: Km. 140 carr. Tepic-Pto. Vallarta | Fracc. Playas de Huanacaxtle, Bucerias C.P. 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bucerias
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a unique environment, where natural beauty is combined with quality service, Los Picos Hotel & Suites is waiting for your visit. An excellent choice when looking for accommodation in Bahia de Banderas, perfectly located close to Puerto Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit Marina and downtown Bucerias. We have excellent, recently-renovated facilities that allow us to be the best family hotel, we have two swimming pools, playground, soccer field, beach volleyball, free parking, restaurant, bar. We invite you to live an unforgettable family vacation in the Mexican Pacific. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Picos Hotel Bucerias
Los Picos Hotel & Suites Mexico/Bucerias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing