We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation for the Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Vacation for the Price!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking forward to a relaxing vacation with friends and the Royal Decameron was a great experience for the price! They did seem to cater to the locals, the pool games and daily activities were mostly in Spanish, but the nightly shows were both in English and Spanish. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate all guests. Most of them were fluent in both Spanish and English.
This is an all ages resort, but no one under the age of 18 was allowed in the adults only pool. We hung out there and on the beach and only had to deal with kids when were at the buffets. When we made reservations for dinner we made them later, 8:00 or 8:30, and avoided most of the families with kids.
Some of the reviews said that the pools were crowded and they had a hard time making dinner reservations, but we did not have a problem with either. We were able to get 4 chairs together under an umbrella any time of day at the adults only pool. We went down to make dinner reservations around 8 am on two different mornings and didn't have a problem. We had dinner at 4 of the 5 restaurants, we skipped the Mexicana, and enjoyed all of them.
The grounds are well kept and very clean. They clean the pool areas and all of the pool chairs every night. We had our room cleaned every day and did not have any problems. We even saw them cleaning the restaurant floors by hand in the evenings!
A few pointers that would have been good to know going into our vacation and we learned from some of the vacationers we met there:
- Take the bikes to the Bucerias flea market. It is about a 10 minute bike ride down the road and over the bridge.
- You can make dinner reservations for two nights at a time.
- The Italian restaurant, Piccolo, is closed on Sunday nights. All of the other restaurants are closed on Thursday nights and have Mexican themed buffets.
- Bring your own cup! The cups they give you are small and they have no problem filling a cup you brought. I would suggest something insulated with a lid; it gets hot in the sun! You can buy them at the resort gift shop, but we ended up buying big plastic cups with lids from one of the shops on the corner.
- Bring your own pool raft. We ended up buying them from one of the shops on the corner and passing them to other guest at the end of our vacation.
If your looking for a relaxing, fun vacation for a great price and Mexican atmosphere, this is the place to go! Most of the people we talked to had been to this resort several times. If we were to go back to the area we would stay here, again.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 5 surround the adults only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    2,056
    696
    277
    144
See reviews for
1,235
1,798
111
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were looking forward to a great vacation, but the Royal Decameron did nothing but disappoint. This resort seems to accommodate locals. There were a ton of families with many children. Not very many young people.

Pros
-Staff are very friendly and helpful
-The a la carte restaurant was delicious!
-Air conditioning in room
-They have an Adult only pool.

Cons
-Beach is filled with vendors coming up to you every 5 minutes. Very annoying!
-ALL the pools in the complex close at 7 PM
-Buffet food is very bland and repetitive. We got very very sick. Tried to avoid eating at the resort whenever possible.
-They don't have a 24 hour buffet. There are 3-4 hours in between where you can't get any food.
-Drinks were watered down.
-When booking a restaurant, you have to be there at 7 AM, or else you miss out. Who wants to wake up that early on vacation!?
-Far from Puerto Vallarta. A $30 taxi ride one way.
-Not many activities at nighttime. Seems like everyone goes to sleep right after dinner.

Overall, I'd recommend this place for families. Definitely not geared towards the younger crowd.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Choose the resort for a number of reasons. For it's beautiful colors, the location (right next to Bucerias), and the size of it. Stayed the week of May 31st. This resort was huge, but still manageable. Knew our way around the second day. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well manicured by the maintenace staff. Always doing something around the resort. The pools were good, but the water was like a warm bath. Pool chairs were a hard plastic and very hard to sit on, so we used a pool mattress on them. Our room was very average, but very clean. We had a ground floor room in Block 3, with a beautiful view. We found the food at this resort really good, with the a la carte restaurants being exceptional. They have seven all together, and we experienced 3 of them (Italian, Brazilian and the Thai). Would definitely recommend going to the a la cartes. Went into Bucerias a couple of days, and very safe. Resort had bikes for us to use, but no bikes for kids, so we did not use them, as our 10-year son could not fit on the adult ones. They need to invest in kids bikes for families. Nightly shows were excellent. The activity pool staff do an amazing job. The weather was absolutely beautiful, very hot and humid. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and we would return someday.

Room Tip: Block 3 is central of the resort. Close to the all amenties with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CJ1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed with our two teen daughters and had a great time! Great price and felt like Mexico at this colorful resort rather than a just a hotel that could be anywhere. Short bus ride into Vallarta, lots of different pools, bars and activities. The vendors were good as they were designated to a certain area so didn't bother you and the night market was nice as well. Food was ok, got a bit sick of it by the end, but that has been the same for any all-inclusive for me. Will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Our room was by the night club which we found a little loud on a few nights when we were done early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alberni77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull.england
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hi guys,I would like to start by putting a horrible myth to bed. Whilst talking hols back home with friends I am often confronted by the same question,"We wouldn't mind going but its not safe to go off the complex is it"Total and utter rubbish where this hotel is concerned.please feel free to walk as far as you like along the beach north or south there are many miles of beach here in Nayarit and all are perfectly safe for travellers to explore.take a walk up the back streets from the hotel to the town of bucerias into the market or go for a bite to eat and a few drinks if you feel that way out.the local folk here are very friendly.

Hotel rooms;-Very basic but kept nice and clean by the maids,1 wash basin and a shower that only has tepid water on a regular basis.A safety deposit box is available in every room be it only a small one and comes at a cost of approx. 48USD for a 2 week stay.Air con is good and can be dropped down to 16deg.No fridge or cooler here and only 1 bottle of water left daily so its a good idea to save your first bottle when empty and keep filling it up at one of the bars.They have dispensers with iced water.

Food;-Found the main buffet to be very ordinary,excellent fresh fruit and salad but as for a main meal you may struggle to find items to make up a meal of any sustinance.lots of slappy stodgy things and very little in the way of fish or meat.Thursday night is Mexican night and did offer some decent options with a bit of fun thrown in as well.
A-La-cartes;-we visited 3 of the 5 here,the roddizio steak house,just so so with the meat being over cooked and chared,the jap jap we found to be very good and the pick of the 3 piccolo Italian with air con and realy excellent food and service.

Pools;-All kept in good shape and very clean overall by alfredo,the one situated in block 5 is the adult pool a nice place to chill out quietly.No rush here for a lounger there are plenty for all.

The beach;-Light golden brown sand not powder white like the dom rep east coast but nice and clean,in fact it is a blue flag beach a very good standard.Once again plenty of loungers and palapas down there but also many vendors as this is a public beach.you will experience their relentless assault if you are down there.these local folk are only trying to make an honest living and deserve every peso they earn and more,i do not for one minute envy them carrying large amount of goods in the heat of the day all day long and often into the night.Light water sports are available as part of your package,kayak,boogie board,paddle board etc.jet skis and para-sailing also but at a cost.If you prefer a quieter spot and don't mind a short walk there is a 3 or 400 yard stretch of beach to the south away from it all,the wife and I just took our towels down there on a few occaisions and plonked down.Try an item of fruit from the little guy with the wheel barrow and the straw hat it is of outstanding quality and cheap.

The sea;-More often than not surf rolls in making it great fun but around lunch time most days a strong breeze picks up so just be a little cautious as the rollers can become quite large.This dies away at dusk to almost nothing.Water is very warm but not clear due to the breaking surf disturbing the sand.Lots of fish here but not often seen due to the clarity of the water also brown pelicans,frigate birds,blue footed boobies and other sea birds.Dolphins can often be seen only a few hundred yards from the shore.At certain times of the year there are sting rays and jelly fish in the water so please check out the flags in front of the hotel,there is a board on the beach explaining the significance of each coloured flag.

Gardens;-Although not extensive they are very well kept with a good variety of plants,shrubs and trees.Lots of iguanas,these can be observed being fed daily about 12.30pm in block 5 behind the restaurant.Well worth a look.Also humming birds usualy seen around the bushes with the red flowers but don't blink or you will miss them.Also a large crested type heron or ibis stalking land crabs is out and about at dusk and dawn.Plus other birds with a yellow breast similar to a goldcrest.Small ghekos,and leaf cutter ants etc,etc.

Just a couple of gripes now guys the first of which I think you ought to know about.we travelled with Thomson/first choice from the uk our rep was ricardo.At the welcome meeting whilst he was promoting the tours nothing was mentioned about the little hidden extra cost.We booked 3 trips and paid cash but until the money had changed hands he only then told us that we would not be picked up at the hotel on the day of departure but would have to make our own way to Vallarta adventures in a taxi at a cost of approx. 140 pesos each way.this added a further 840 pesos to our overall costs.Naughty !!!

To finish off 3 days before the end of our vacation a large amount of Mexican guests arrived,not sure how many but but at least 2/300.On their first nights stay the main buffet was stripped of table clothes etc and closed for the evening.Everything was decked out in white on the beach and a large stage was erected.A huge party with a band followed that evening to which we were not invited.?? The next night a similar occurance,this time in the main buffet area,all in white band, the works.No invite to any other guests.This to a certain degree made us feel very unwelcome.beach parties are often thrown in the Dominican republic and are for all guests.we were informed that this particular group came once a year and must be looked after.well I am sorry Decameron but Thomson uk have just returned to your establishment now they have the dream liner boeing 787 and are currently sending approx. 20 guests a week to your hotel and are obviously looking to build on this.I make this in excess of 1000 per annum,Do we not deserve to be looked after.!!! Very poor customer relations in my opinion by the management.

Overall had a good hol and met some realy nice folk from the uk and Canada but not sure if we would return.

Room Tip: Block 4 top floor from room 4333 down to 4442 have at decent sea view at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been to many beachy resorts before so in comparison, this resort was ok but not good enough for me to want to return to it. This hotel is actually not in the heart of Puerto Vallarta but just outside of it and is only 10-15 min drive away by taxi. The food was good and the entertainment was very good. I would recommend planning to see their nightly shows as they are pretty good compared to others. The buffets were good as well as the restaurants. You can book reservations for the individual restaurants for the day of and the follow day. However you have to be at the reservation at 8am to book it. If you go earlier like 7:45, you take a ticket number which will determine your place to book your reservations when it comes 8am. The rooms are a bit outdated but was very clean and comfortable. I was surprised of how many locals there were at this resort due to their low peak season. It made it not so much fun. The families didn't respect adult pools by having their children in them.

If you are looking to leave the resort and take taxis be sure to ask for the price before you get it and bargain for how much your going to pay. They will rip you off. As soon as you get off your plane when landing, there will be people pulling to the side before you leave the gates to try to sell you tours to lure you in a vacation presentation (kind of like a timeshare), if your looking to buy vacation packages then be sure to bargain for tours you want to go to, they'll give it to you half price or free... If you want to avoid wasting 4 hours of your vacation time and constant pressure to buy their vacation packages then do not go near them! They are beyond annoying to the point I wanted to commit assault (jus kidding).

Tours I recommend and don't recommend- I went on a few tours on this trip and here's how I feel. The city tour is great if you want to learn about the city, but when it's lunch time, they take you to this restaurant that gives you ok food and charges you a fortune. The tour where they take to you different locations on a boat to site see and snorkel was a waste of money. When I snorkeled, there was nothing to see, the tour guide had bad English so I couldn't understand him well and the food was terrible. The last tour I went on was Rhythms of the Night, worth every penny. Amazing entertainment and amazing food! Definitely worth the time.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly large and has many buildings, therefore there are a couple of buildings that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went for the 3rd time toward the end of May. We've been to PV several times and have learned to skip the bus transfer and grab a taxi, to beat the long check-in line up. We were in our swim gear and had drinks in hand by the time the slew of bus transport folks arrived. The resort was full and we were in Block 5 which is quiet with an adults only pool. There were lots of people checking out the next day so we moved to Block 3 which was closer to the action. The room was as expected. We brought our clock radio and toiletries, so had everything we needed. What we love about RDC is the staff, the pretty grounds, the beach and the proximity to PV, Bucerias, and Sayulita. We've gotten to know some of the staff members (Alexandra, Ricardo, Mr. Romantica (Saudit) and Leopoldo) and the glee at seeing each other goes both ways. The grounds are well manicured, nice plants, mini hedges, banyan trees and flowers. The beach is really good, the water has a strong pull at times so don't wear glasses or jewelry when swimming, especially don't wear your room key around your neck. The resort was full and we could still find 2 beach chairs under a palapa. We are not pool people and have no interest in getting up at dawn just to stake out a pool chair and hog it all day. The beach always has available chairs, and its nice and breezy and so nice to lay around watching the ocean sparkle and the kiters and parasailers, etc. The vendors are ok, don't feel you have to buy anything. We found that if we were honest and showed some respect, alot of them would sit down under the palapa for a bit to chit chat. We've gotten to know some of the vendor over time too, they are real people making an honest living.

The food was just fine, we eat simple (fruit, veg, fish) and could always find something yummy and authentic. Great guacamole !! For people complaining that the drinks are weak and they use cheap booze, yeah, Mexican liquor is different and lower percentage. Just ask for premium and / or doubles, and lay down a nice fat tip. 50 pesos goes along way. I found decent scotch, Canadian rye, pretty good gin, and if you ask nicely you can do your own tequila tasting at the lobby bar.

I had the misfortune to visit the resort's in house doctor. All went smoothly, although it would have been way cheaper to go up to the clinic in Bucerias. However, the doctor knows what the travel insurance people will need, so that part was super easy. The nurse is very sweet.

We love the disco and went almost every night after the evening show. The DJ is great, my husband got to know him and tipped him $ 20 bucks one night and we had all our requests played. We bumped till 3am, so fun !!

My husband did scuba training in the Block 5 pool, there's a little activity stand there, hang around and wait for the staff person to show up. Mexican time is Mexican time. He paid $ 40 for the lesson, and was scuba diving 2 days later out at the Marietta Islands, for only another $80 which included the bus to the PV marina and back, full breakfast and lunch, the boat ride, the scuba gear with a scuba master, and a party with open bar on the way back. Can't beat that !!! Ask Oscar at the resort's beach boat and belly board stand, he won't rip you off and he's a very nice amigo.

Oh, the Iguana just re-opened, its the bar above the tequila (timeshare trap) shop right across from the main lobby. Great place to watch the game, and the staff are really nice down to earth folks. For pedicures, which we always need after days walking barefoot, we have been to Elements just down the road, and this time we went to the place under the Iguana. They have the fish pedicure too, what a blast that was !! We both got really nice pedi's including 10 mins in the fish tank for $ 25 each. Can't beat that !!!

We will go back to RDC for sure next time we are in the PV area.

Room Tip: No clocks, or toiletries beside soap. Bring your own. Tip the maids, they deserve it. Block 1 is oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank crimsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
9.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,394 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
10.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing