We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet refuge at Casa Joe's”
Review of Aventura Pacifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Pacifico
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This charming 7 apartment hotel is just a block away from the beach, but provides a quiet refuge from the vendors, music etc. that accompany the beach scene. All units are built around a pretty pool area and all have access to a glorious roof top deck where the tradition is to gather for cocktails and watch the sun set into the Pacific every night. The decor in the 2-bedroom apartments is simple Mexican style, but these provide everything you need.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMWsView99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'm hesitant to write a review about this accomondation in Bucerias,Nayarit, because after visiting I want it all to myself and don't want to share this secret with others in order to book again.
A friend and i decided to take a last minute getaway I never would have suggested Mexico.We tossed around hot places from Hawaii to Arizona and knew that we only had a week for this trip. I had only stayed in resorts and because of negative media Mexico would not have been my first choice. I only agreed to go because my friend has travelled there many times and she raved about Adverura Pacifico and she knew the area well.
We arrived on time via PVO one of the most confusing airports I've been to, the long heated wait through customs was definatly worth it once we arrived at Aventura Pacifico. We pulled up to our gated accomondation ($30 US cab) with anticipation to finally be out of the airport and put up our feet to relax in our personal paradise.
We were greeted by the building manager Mario with a big smile, a hug, and a kiss on the cheek.
He briefly showed us around and took us directly to the cabin we had rented, while we threw our bags in our room he was back with a big bottle of fresh water to start our stay.
Mario is more than a manager, he was like our own personal conceriage who gave us advise from where to eat, what to see, updates on the area, cooking tips, shopping tips, and where to buy the best Souvenir's from some of the worlds best artisians. He kept our swimming pool sparkling clean and any tweeks we needed done he did thm at a drop of a hat he also provided us with comic relief that brought tears rolling down my face on more than one occaision.
Our cabin was perfect for our stay, the rooms are basic, the beds were harder than I usually like but after a nice swim every evening I slept like a baby. we never once watched TV or sat in the living room. Our patio out front was where we rested, played cards or just enjoyed the scenery.
The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans for cooking your own meals, we cooked for five of our seven night stay. There is also two BBQs on the property, and the Mega grocery store that is a short walk or a seventy peso cab ride away. We bought fresh prawns from the local fishmonger.
The location is about one block from the Royal Decameron Resort we could hear the resort entertainment from time to time but never anything to be concerned about. The beach was just a short walk away, it is beautiful and sandy the water was like warm soup. Along the beach you could visit one of the massage tents and get a relaxing message on the beach for a very affordable price or take the beach and walk 15 minutes to the village of Bucerias. Walking back along the road was about 10 minutes providing that you didnt stop at any of the friendly resturants or bars.
Overall I would have to say that this was one of the best short vacations I have taken, that the accomondations and staff were excellant, I never once felt my safety was jeopardized in any way, and would definatly go back in a heart beat. The people of mexico were friendly and beautiful!
I have already booked to return in February (this time two weeks) and this time looking forward to taking an art class and cooking class while there.
I know in my heart that this charming vacation spot will be on my to do list for many years to come.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Cabin #3 is right on the pool and geat to sit out side or dash in for a late night swim to cool down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollyPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Before I start,please note that I am not a writer,nor a professional reviewer.What I am though,it's your average,once-or-twice-a-year traveler,boldly going where thousands of people had gone before.We(my better half)had decided to visit Bucerias,Nayarit simply because we heard good things about this little town,some 20 minutes' drive north of Puerto Vallarta airport.We took taxi to Aventura Pacifico at the cost of 300 pesos.Because we arrived on Sunday(11 am)nobody was there to receive us,but a resident cat.Friendly couple at suite number one helped us out by making a call to the property manager(Mario),who came pronto,to get us settled in.This two bedroom suite came with fully functional kitchen,an air conditioner,and a ceiling fan in every room.With temperature hovering close to 40C,we really made use of cooling equipment.Same afternoon we did our shopping for food at the local Commercial Mexicana(comparable to Quebec's Maxi),another taxi trip(10 minutes)at the cost of 60 pesos.
Nights would be extremely quiet,if it wasn't for that live-it-up Royal Decameron resort,just a few blocks from us.Still,we've had good nights' sleep,and used next few days exploring the neighborhood,taking a dip in the ocean,buying souvenirs at the local stalls at the end of Lazaro Cardenas street.Sellers are friendly(not as aggressive as in Puerto Vallarta),and a good source of info on local customs,and events.Beaches are not crowded this time of the year(3rd week of August) as most tourists had gone home,especially families with kids(start of a new school year).
Evenings at Aventura Pacifico were spent either on the rooftop terrace overlooking the neighborhood,and the sea,or in the small but comfortable swimming pool.Our suite came without a tv set(or radio),but then,who wants to watch a tv at the place as lovely as this?
A bit of sad news:suites are offered for sale individually for about 200K(US),so by the time you,dear traveler decides to visit this charming,quiet place,it may not be for rent anymore!!

Room Tip: higher suites(if available)have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireflyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The amiable owners of Aventura Pacifico have created an attractive, comfortable and very affordable paradise, boutique style home away from home in the charming town of Bucerias. We couldn’t have been made more welcome. Admittedly, their home, is a few steps up on ours, considering they have a divine private swimming pool with rock water cascade and one of the longest stretches of gorgeous beach I have seen in a long while, just across the road. The staff knew the region extremely well and were always helpful and informative. We found the location the perfect base to get to anywhere of interest in the region while staying in a super safe and friendly beach town. There are ample low cost taxis and buses with all the shops one could need very close by. One small shop very close for the basics and a large supermarket with everything you could need only a five-minute walk away.

The ample sized two bedroom apartments, of which there are currently only 7, come fully equipped with all the necessary appliances and bits and pieces you could need if deciding to cook at home. The building is on a cul-de-sac one street from the beach, so there is virtually no traffic noise. We slept like babies the entire two weeks, on comfortable, firm beds. Our bedroom had a lovely balcony attached with a table and chairs for breakfasts or just sitting around reading that overlooked the sea and surrounding hills. Ground floor rooms each had their own patio area, where we hung a lot with our newly found Canadian Friends, close to the pool. We were also just one floor down from the large roof sun deck equipped with padded outdoor chaise lounges to tan and a large table with plenty of chairs to sit in the shade of the thatched grass palapa umbrellas and eat your freshly barbecued fish, cooked on the upstairs gas BBQ. The free wifi worked pretty well from most locations and the poolside phone with complimentary calls to North America was a classy touch. Thanks to the perfect year round climate (I have honestly never experienced a more perfect climate in our many travels) air conditioning is unnecessary but every room had overhead fans and the heavenly pool was always an inviting temperature, day or night.

The quaint and friendly town center of Bucerias is a casual 15 min stroll by the beach. Along the way there are numerous beachside cafes and restaurants. If you take the back street road to walk in there are more excellent cafes, restaurants, art stores and gift shops lining the streets. We ate extremely well wherever we went. We couldn’t believe such a small area could have so many amazing places to eat. Some of the restaurants were of world-class cuisine, with an assortment of nationalities, not just the superb readily available Mexican food. (Restaurant reviews to come). Though one of the best fish tacos and ceviche we had was from a street vendor in Bucerias found in the silver metal caravan parked right in front of the cute town square entrance. There is a quite large daily street market with all sorts of items for sale with some real comedian sellers. My favorite comment to me was, “hey man, your hat looks nearly as old as you. About time for a new one no?” All in good fun. Locals were all very welcoming and we felt very safe and relaxed, wherever we went. At night we would occasionally stroll into town to see live bands, one of which had THE most amazing drummers we’d seen in a while.

There are several other towns close by well worth the visit with regular inexpensive buses running to all close by so having your own vehicle is hardly necessary. The largest town, Puerto Vallarta, is particularly lovely at night. A sunset stroll along the pedestrian only malecon with the locals always had something going on. We saw some pretty cool sand sculptures and one night a dance troupe performing some traditional dances in a little outdoor amphitheater. The other side of the street has an array of bars and eateries pumping out dance music. The Cuban bar we went to was particularly good with a live Cuban band most nights and some incredible local salsa dancers pushing tables and chairs aside to strut their stuff. The quieter back streets had some great looking places to eat and drink. Also, make sure you find the charming garden market for a casual, quiet stroll.

A quick bus trip or 15-minute drive away (there are also reasonably priced fixed priced cabs everywhere) to the north west is the lovely beach town of Punta de Mita where we practically had the entire beach to ourselves. Another 20 minutes on is the sexy beach town of Sayulita with some decent surfing waves not too far out and good boogie boarding closer to the shore. Plenty of good places to eat drink and hang out here. If you don’t want to take the coast road you can also be there in 20 minutes drive from Bucerias on the inland road.

The highlight of our trip was swimming with dolphins and sea lions in the marina reserve of Nuevo Vallarta, a 15 minute drive SE. We took the Dolphin Extreme package (well worth the extra) and were lucky to be the only ones that afternoon (normally only a maximum of six people) so had the dolphins to ourselves for nearly one hour. We swam with them, got pulled and pushed along above and under water, hugged and kissed by these amazing, intelligent and loving animals. It included a short play with a sea lion, which was also a lot of fun. This was no cowboy outfit. All the staff were very professional under the watchful eyes of qualified marine biologists. All of the animals were bred in captivity from wounded animals they had found that would not have survived in the wild. They all seemed very well looked after and content. Highly recommended. Note that you will want the professional photos and video’s they take (as you can’t take your own) but the cost is a bit of a shocker. I expect they couldn’t maintain such high standards without the extra’s, so well worth it.

Another highlight was taking a snorkeling trip to the Marieta’s Islands with the highly recommendable Pegaso tours. Our yacht, the Isis, was a beautiful, classic yacht built in the 1930’s. We picked this company as it wasn’t advertised as a party boat, with blaring music and ten’s of people there for the inclusive drinks (though great food and open bar were inclusive in our very reasonable $70 cost). We saw some huge modern boats doing the same tour with what looked like hundreds of people. Nightmarish. We had only about 16 people on board. Our crew (including a marine biologist, the very funny and informed Riccardo) were great at answering our questions and keeping us entertained without going overboard :) We passed a one month young baby whale with its mother playing around that came really close to our boat (drifting with the motor off) for a great view. In season you can see many whales. On the main island we swam through a grotto to the ‘secret beach’, that I would have preferred to do at low tide, but was a great experience. People are forbidden to walk on the island but you can go through anther cave and peer your head over to see the blue footed boobies that inhabit the island. Unfortunately the currents had made the water murky so the snorkeling wasn’t as good as it could have been. The sailing back was a treat, with no sound but the wind and a choice of excellently made cocktails and great food. I highly recommend buying photos from the professional photographer on board who hardly stopped clicking during the 7 hour trip. His prices are very reasonable.

I recommend booking tours from the lovely couple who run a tour shop around the corner from Aventura Pacifico right next to the local crocery store. They got us better prices than online or direct.

It’s a shame Mexico is getting so much unjustified negative press. Believe me, ignore the BS and get over there. You won’t regret it.

All in all a wonderful stay and trip. Could become a regular thing with some luck.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PukkaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank MAIRIMCHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pídanle consejos al administrador del lugar (Mario)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rogelio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2 mi away
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
Hotel Las Palomas Vallarta
#26 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
1.7 mi away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#14 of 23 in Bucerias
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Pacifico

Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 132, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bucerias
Price Range: £39 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aventura Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aventura Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Pacifico Mexico/Bucerias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing