We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Rustic" is even a little too generous...”
Review of Vista Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vista Vallarta
Ranked #1 of 16 Bucerias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We only stayed one night in this quaint hotel and that was plenty! While the staff is incredibly friendly and the pool area/grounds are gorgeous, the accommodations are pretty primitive for a 3- star hotel. I would rate it more of a 2 star. The "suites" are large but everything is very old. The beds and pillows are extremely hard and they don't supply you with anything as far as toiletries, etc. Also, the beach in this location is very rocky and not very clean. Most of the people who stay here come for a month or more and bring what they need that the hotel doesn't have (foam for beds, soft pillows, etc). For the price that you would pay (about $100/night) this would be a great spot for a large family. However, just don't expect a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TunaJunkieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2008

Hi,
I just came back from Bucerias and I thought that I would write this while it is still fresh in my mind. I went by myself for some rest and relaxation. The "room" was a huge 2 bedroom apartment with 3 bathrooms and a full kitchen and livingroom. It was prob. beautiful 30 yrs ago, now it is run down... and shabby. The light in the bathroom was a light bulb hanging from a wire. The property is right on the beach however the beach is quite rocky. There are no loungers on the beach, only around the pool where unfortunately there is no shade. I had to complain for 2 days about a lack of hot water, was told a story about the maintenance man needing a special instrument to fix it. Finally I threatened to leave and demanded a refund when the manager showed up with a bic lighter... the pilot light had gone out. They knew this all along just didn't bother "fixing" it until I got vocal. They have a small, overpriced restaurant and bar... 8 dollars for a margarita. I wouldn't go back. There are a lot nicer places.

Terry

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Terry2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

The only reason I am not rating this hotel a 5 is because it is an economy hotel....and I don't want anyone confused....

We had a fabulous time!! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and large (equipped with a swim up bar/restaurant!!). There were plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and the grounds were lush and green. The beach went on forever, easily walkable, nice calm waters (if a tiny bit rocky) and we pretty much had it to ourselves.

Our room was on the 2nd floor (of 3 floors) with magnificent ocean views from each bedroom, living/dining room and balcony. The unit was spacious with 2 full bathrooms and an additional shower and toilet. There was plenty of dining, kitchen and balcony seating. Housekeeping was great and at the unit religiously around noon everyday. Not only did we have a view of the ocean, but we were close enough to the beach and pool that all three of us could talk to each other at the same time from all 3 locations (super cool),

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast twice, good. Ate by the pool for lunch once, just ok.

The hotel was located 4 blocks from the nearest store and we walked the beach each afternoon and evening to Bucerias for shopping, dining and drinks. The beach access closes at 9pm to the hotel, so you need to head up to the street level prior to reaching the hotel in the evening (where the store is, at Los Picos, 4 blocks away).

Bucerias is quaint with plenty of little Mexican shops, tiendas, restaurants and taco stands. The people were extremely friendly and it was a great opportunity to practice Spanish. Most of the locals aren't as fluid in English as in Puerto Vallarta (a huge plus!!). While I LOVE downtown PV, we didn't bother heading there this trip because the Bucerias area offered enough adventure for us, it was great!!

Sayulita is about a 15-20 minute bus ride away (surf town). We walked the beach to La Cruz de Huanacaxtle (2.5 to 3 miles, 1 way???).

The absolute only thing that could be a negative for some people is breakfast is only served from 9-11:30am (for those early risers, not too convenient) and the pool bar doesn't open until noon (no biggy, breakfast early in your fully equipped kitchen and bring your own cervezas down to the pool).

The hotel was clean, quiet with a great pool, large spacious rooms and a very nice staff. I would recommend it to families, couples and groups. If you are looking to be catered to, go somewhere else (please), if you want a nice Mexican experience with nice folks, then stay here. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

This was definitely an older hotel, very different from the large resorts in nearby towns. Our family, including two young children, loved this hotel for its tranquil atmosphere and excellent food. The room was hot and needed some new AC units. There were ants in the living room that had a pretty mean bite, but it was bearable. I would stay here again, but not in July.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AylaSecura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

There were 13 of us that stayed in 2 of the 2 bedroom suites. They both had wonderful views of the pool and the ocean. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and hear the waves crashing on the beach. The unit was good-sized, plenty of room to spread out. The living room area was a little awkward. The tv is mounted on the wall in the corner, which made watching it uncomfortable. There is a chair, and two "couches" that were actually cement slabs with cushions on them. One was against one wall, and the other against the other wall. Off the living room/dining room area is a balcony. There are chairs and a little table out there to sit and watch the ocean. The unit we were in was blocked just enough from the opposite side of the building so that we couldn't see the sunrise. But the second unit of our group stuck out a little further and had an awesome view. One bedroom had twin beds in it. The other had a king size bed, which was kind of uncomfortable because it was a mattress on top of a cement slab. There were 3 bathroom/shower areas: one off the main bedroom, one in the hall between the bedrooms, and one off the kitchen in the janitorial room (it has a big slop sink, mops and things in it, and one other "couch" someone could sleep on). The toilets didn't seem to flush very easily... had to hold the handle down to make sure if would fully flush. The showers were pretty decent.
The kitchen was small, but functional. We didn't really use it for anything, other than to put things in the fridge or use the microwave.
There is an a/c unit in each bedroom and the living room. They worked fine, sometimes too fine because we had to turn them down or off!!
The pool was nice. There weren't too many people when we were there. There is a great little side pool for kids that's not very deep, but the kids had a blast in it. The vendors can come up the stairs, but are not allowed in the pool area, so if you want to buy anything from them, you have to go to them. You can swim up to and sit at the bar in the pool. The bartender was very nice. They have a good menu. The food was good. If you go down the stairs to the beach area, it's cleaned up nice because they rake it every morning. And because of the location, you can't watch the sun set into the ocean (the mountains are in the way).
Overall, it was a decent place to stay. Needs a little updating, but it's ok, really. We weren't really in the room that much, anyways.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ejjmcmufn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We where looking for a cultural vacation and found it ! We spent 1 week in Bucerias at the Vista Vallarta All Suites on the beach of Banderas Bay 15 km north of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. We are married in our late 40's. The staff spoke english and treated us gringos very kindly. The 60's style minimalist middle class mexican suites were clean, roomy, rustic, dark, worn out and tired. The beds were like bricks, bring your space foam "Litteraly". Each room faced the amphiteather like, palapa style pool bar/ restaurant and of course the rather large people filled pool. The wonderful Mexican families where kind and gracious. The younger groups at the pool where rather loud and noisey until about 1 am every night. The beach was busy with "PV" style aggresive local sales people. The surf was dirty and the beach smelled of rotting fish. Transportation by taxi, bus or hoof (your own feet) was pretty good. We think it is a cultural experience for a family with small children to vacation like a local.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank tripsters0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No cuenta con elevador por lo que si vas con personas mayores es preferible pedir una habitación en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivonne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
2.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
2.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
0.8 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#6 of 23 in Bucerias
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aventura Pacifico
Aventura Pacifico
#3 of 23 in Bucerias
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Vallarta

Address: Avenida Playa los Picos # 827 | Playas de Huanacaxtle, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bucerias
Price Range: £73 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Vallarta All Suites On The Beach Hotel Bucerias
Vista Vallarta Mexico/Bucerias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing