We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy location”
Review of Geraldine motels

Geraldine motels
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Geraldine motels
Ranked #132 of 258 Hotels in Canterbury Region
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“handy location”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed two nights at the Geraldine Motels , they are spacious, well equipped for cooking on the 2 elements and microwave. Bathroom has good hot water and clean surroundings. New soaps and shampoo daily. The bed was very comfortable, heater effective in heating the unit.The hostess was very helpful . The second night when there were people either side of us we did hear some occasional noise but the night was quiet.It was good to have room to move, a table to work at and 2 lounge chairs to relax in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

For a small town, there are quite a number of motels and hotels to choose from. We were very pleased we picked to stay at this motel. We had three x 2-bedroomed units, which were all very modern and large. The showers had great water pressure. The hosts were also very friendly.
We made use of the BBQ area down below the units - lovely sunny spot for dinner

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed one night at the motel and only the basic room was available. We were very impressed in its size and how clean it was. Although it is quite basic it makes a perfect pit stop or a short break holiday. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuatapere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We rate motels on service, cleanliness, bed quality, shower power, and quietness. The Geraldine Motels were tops in every department. Great value for money for weary cyclists. The units, each of which has off-street parking shielded from the main road, are either one or tow room, and are virtually new. SkyTV on offer - which was great to view the Blackcaps beat Brits in the second T20!
Wonders will never cease. Nothing was too much trouble for the manager - gave us his reliable assessment of the town's attractions including the viewing times for what would have to be one of the quirkiest picture theatres in the Country. We loved our stay and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: the two room units have quite steep stair access to the family room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

There are not many motels in Geraldine, and I am sure we found the best. Rosy welcomed us with her big smile and gave us a choice of two suits, one with great internet access, or another with a bit of a backyard. The suits were extremely clean and warmly furnished; we slept heavenly. Rosy also pointed us to all the worthwhile sights to see around Geraldine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We aren't sure if we just turned up on the wrong day for the hosts, but were disappointed after reading some good reviews. Perhaps they had had a busy weekend but when we turned up we were met with a very grumpy and unhelpful attitude. Pity as on our trip, we had been shown nothing but kindness and friendliness from hosts. Try to keep smiling - it always helps visitors to feel that you genuinely appreciate their business.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heloise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Otago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Geraldine Motels are just lovely, the spacious 2 bedroom units, at the far end are very good, and comfortable, great for a group or anyone really. The outside space, overlooking the peaceful grounds..perfect. Immaculate with plenty of everything supplied and of good quality.
Sharon and Ross are so friendly and always willing to assist with simply everything.I stay here as often as I can,and recommend it to everyone.Geraldine is a delightful place for a weekend away.Taste Restaurant is of very high quality as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canterbury Region
0.0 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 4 in Geraldine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Geraldine Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Waiau Motor Camp
Waiau Motor Camp
#1 of 2 in Waiau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phoenix Motel
Phoenix Motel
#1 of 1 in Temuka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geraldine motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraldine motels

Property: Geraldine motels
Address: 97 Talbot Street, 7930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 258 Hotels in Canterbury Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Geraldine motels 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Geraldine motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing