We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top 3 most beautiful views in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Pukaki

Lake Pukaki
Book In Advance
More Info
US$108.25*
and up
Mount Cook to Christchurch Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the top 3 most beautiful views in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped at this lake while driving from Christchurch to Queenstown as it is along the main road. I pulled off and walked a few yards to the lake. The view was absolutely incredibly. The rocky shore, blue waters, and snow capped mountain range combine for a view that hints of heaven. Do not miss this. Also this should not be listed as located in Christchurch.

Helpful?
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    81
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

When I saw the view of this lake...it truly took my breath away. New Zealand has lots of wonderful lakes. I saw a few of them but Lake Pukaki is my favorite.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views to appreciate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are many features around the lake to appreciate the beauty of it. It is important to take time out...enjoy and relax around here

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best picnic spot in New Zealand?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

There are so many breathtaking views in New Zealand, and most of them are free from hordes of people, so it has to be something special to warrant anyone saying "this is the best". But this can lay claim to it. yes, there are some other people around, but it is quiet and the views are awesome. Beautifully blue lake with Mt Cook in the distance - we thought we were never going to get to see the top of Mt Cook on our trip, so to be rewarded with this was wonderful.

Thank you to the Owner of Highfield Mews in Oamaru for recommending we take this road!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The big old blue. It's such a beautiful sight when you see the lake and mt Cook is in the distance! Do it in the summer where it's not snowed in when travelling

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlankerLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Pukaki also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Lake Pukaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing