We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cranberry Festival was not the weekend to visit”
Review of Dons Bakery

Dons Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Bala
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We drove up from Bradford to visit the festival and to stop in at the bakery.....no such luck unless you were willing to walk miles and miles than this wasn't the event for you or your family. I didn't see any buses for pickup. Town people wanting $20, for parking ....nothing seem to be arranged for seniors. We drove right through Bala and started back to find a place and gave up. Our day trip cut very short. We hadn't been back for ten years . So Don's will be another day

Thank Darlene649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don's B, Owner at Dons Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

You are right, Cranberry Festival is a different weekend than all others and maybe not the best to see the true beauty of Bala and Muskoka as the streets are flooded with people and vendors. It’s a great weekend, don’t get me wrong, but to really experience Muskoka the best time to come would be during the summer when everything is popping and the weather is beautiful! Hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The cookies were good but service was awful didn't know you had to take a number to even get looked at!! Might return as the food was good but staff need to be more friendly

Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don's B, Owner at Dons Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience. We actually pride ourselves on exceptional service, so we are surprised to see that you did not experience this. Yes, we do use the take a number system because otherwise, it would be chaos and fights would likely break out. This way it is much more civilised. We are often very busy, so the staff do not know the order in which people arrive, so we find this system very helpful. Please stop back again, I am sure your experience will be better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

For years, Don's was the "go to" place for scones and butter tarts in Bala. It changed hands a few years ago and the food quality has slipped. The tart crust and scones are not as good as they used to be. Now we only go there when we are having guests since our visitors expect to have Don's treats during their stay in Bala. We went in this morning at about 10:45 am to pick up some scones for company arriving for the weekend. We were proudly informed that the scones had sold out at 9:10 am! Who is doing the planning at this place? We are also critical of the fact that the counter staff do not wear hair nets over their pony tails. We have seen the pony tails brush over the lemon meringue tarts taking some of the meringue with it! Where is the health department when you need them? It can't be easy to run such a seasonal business but these problems need to be addressed. By the way, even though Don's shows up here as a restaurant, it is really an expensive take out bakery.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don's B, Owner at Dons Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

I am sorry that you did not have a great experience. As we are a family-owned business, hard-working and pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and high quality products, we hope that you would, in the future, please come and discuss your concerns with us in person. We take every comment very seriously and personally. We have not changed any of the original Don's recipes at all, as we grew up enjoying them too and have our own memories of Don's from our childhoods. We have added a number of new products to the menu to increase our offering and stay up to date with customer demands and current trends. We also use very high quality ingredients in our products, like real lemon in our lemon squares and real Belgian chocolate in all products with chocolate. It's not cheap, but we feel that our customers are entitled to high quality. We were not aware of the pony tails issue until seeing it here, and have since addressed it, requiring all employees with long hair to tie it in buns. It's quite an easy fix, as long as it's brought to our attention. We hope you return to visit and chat with us in person about your concerns. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Every time we're in Muskoka we make it a ritual to visit Dons.
The bakery has been around for years and the local "summer" resident's flock to this bakery religiously regardless of the weather. If you arrive early you are greeted with a short queue and loads of freshly baked goodies, the family/staff that run the place are amazing, they literally deal with someone every minute or so and never miss a beat.
This time we stocked up on a few "extras to take home with us.
Be patient and you'll be rewarded with some excellent home cooked treats.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BreezeRidge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We have gone to Don's a couple of times in the past. The baked goods have never lived up to the hype (including on this website), but were passable. The line-ups are a pain, but in the context of summer at the cottage, perhaps a necessary evil. Until this latest visit. We bought the blueberry pie. The upper crust of the pie was okay though not excellent. The bottom crust was soggy and not cooked. So far, the usual mediocre Don's offering. Then came the filling: it was shockingly bad— a mound of blue goo with no more than a handful of berries throughout the entire pie. The berries themselves were strange dried out things – they tasted like someone had ground some paper in a food processor, added some purple food colouring and then formed the chopped up paper into blueberry shapes. I kid you not. We tasted, we looked at each other, we didn’t finish. Absolutely inedible. We tipped the rest of the pie into the garbage. Based on this last experience, added to the previous merely passable ones, we will never return to Don’s.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don's B, Owner at Dons Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

We are sorry you did not have a good experience. We take all comments very seriously and wish you would have come back in talked to us, as we never want to have disappointed customers. We would have gladly refunded your pie and even given other items to make up for this. Our blueberry pie is one of our top selling pies made with real wild blueberries (which are smaller and tastier than regular blueberries) so we are baffled about your disappointment and are very sorry. We make all fillings and pastry by scratch and pride ourselves on our quality and service as this is VERY important to us. We care about every customer, so we hope you do come back and chat with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dons Bakery also viewed

Bala, Muskoka Lakes
 
Bala, Muskoka Lakes
 

Been to Dons Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing