We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“seems to have improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bala Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bala Bay Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“seems to have improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is prob our fourth year in a row staying here b/c we go see a concert at the Kee- it’s so close- a minute walk

I would have to say the Inn seems to have improved- front desk staff were friendly and courteous, we checked in right away and our room was bigger than any other times we have stayed –it even had a closet!- I will request room 203 again- it’s at the front of the building overlooking the lake-

Dinner was fabulous- other years we have come back from the concert and the BBI bar is happening- it was closed by the time we returned- they run a tight ship here, I didn’t hear any partying or noise at all once we were in our room

Room Tip: Room 203 at top of stairs- over looks lake- window in room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d-ray-toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    18
    15
    26
See reviews for
19
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

According to local legend the Bala Bay Inn is haunted. I can tell you one thing for sure, it's not haunted by the ghost of a maintenance worker. The lobby and lounge are fantastic, if a little bizarrely decorated, and that's really charming. However the rooms are another thing entirely. I couldn't possibly go any further without talking about the paint. My first impression was that it was one giant toddler's nursery, but the cloying pastel blocks were more like some kind of horror movie psychiatric ward.

Which would be fine I guess if it were just ugly. But it's so dirty. And run down. The excuse could be made that it's over a hundred years old, which is true and explains the crooked floors, but doesn't explain the lack of plates on the electrical outlets, bloody fingerprints smeared on the wall, a "TV" that is actually just a computer monitor leaned against the wall, hastily patched (and not sanded or repainted) drywall in the bathroom, stains EVERYWHERE and a previous guests belt that was left for me to enjoy.

And loose wiring. I know it's easier to run it outside the walls people, but you could at least tack it down along the seam of the floor. It's just lazy.

1 month with a serious makeover by a professional and this place would be charming as hell. Instead it's haunted by the ghost of lazy owners.

Room Tip: No elevators in this old girl so if you have heavy bags you probably don't want the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My daughter had her wedding reception at the Bala Bay Inn on July 28, 2012. Although at first glance (and also based on other reviews) I had reservations about the Bala Bay Inn, I have to say it was a wonderful experience. The exceptional service and food is what sets this inn apart from other locations. The wedding co-ordinators Tania and Liz are simply outstanding. They are organized, helpful and a pleasure to work with. From pre-wedding meetings to last minute changes, everything was handled exceptionally well. Bala Bay staff provided a pre wedding picnic lunch for our guests, set up the park for the wedding ceremony, organized our guests so they were at the park on time for the ceremony, provided a wonderful meal and excellent service at the reception. It is their genuine friendliness and helpfulness that we truly appreciated. Chef Phil and team are outstanding.

Thanks Bala Bay for making my daughter's wedding special and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Have been coming here for afew years every summer while we stay at our cottage.(weekends)
The food is great the service is amazing, and the view is even better when on the balcony.

I have never stayed at the hotel so i cant comment on the rooms but the interior of the hotel looks very nice so i would expect the rooms to be up to par also.

a must stop for lunch or dinner while in bala.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stopped in for lunch with family visiting from Australia. Food was excellent and service could not have been better. Fabulous atmosphere. Would highly recommend without hesitation. A must stop in Bala.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stopped here for lunch on a whim. What a good choice that turned out to be. The staff were tremendous and the owner an absolute delight. The food was well priced and just excellent quality. It made us wish we were there for longer and not just passing through. Really, really highly recommended.

Cliff & Karen
Stawell, Victoria, Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed ther ea few weeks ago. The rooms were very clean and the people where very nice. When we got to our room the air conditioner was not hooked up. I called down to the front desk and asked for some one to hook it up for me. It was 3 minutes later there was a gentleman named Shawn that showed up at the door. He was very curtious and nice. He had the air conditioner hooked up very fast. As he left the room he asked if there was anything else he could do for us and was just a awsome guy. I personaly think that every motel needs a guy like this. He is the main reason that we will be back is because we know we will be really taken care of. Owners please praise this young man as he is an ASSET to your business.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bala
12.6 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.9 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
11.1 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
14.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Gravenhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bala Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala Bay Inn

Property: Bala Bay Inn
Address: 3063 Muskoka Road, Hwy 169, Bala, Ontario P0C 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bala
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud that the Bala Bay Inn is 101 years old and was the first brick hotel in Muskoka, Ontario. During your stay, you can see and feel the colossal history that once took place in the hotel. After several renovations, the current owners of 7 years created a wonderful boutique hotel with 35 rooms located in the heart of Muskoka. With a #1 rated patio by "The Muskokan", you will be sure to be provided with excellent service, cold beer and great food. Bala Bay Inn has also become the perfect destination for affordable, memorable weddings, where you feel like you own the hotel for the weekend. With an exceptional wedding planner, and a great banquet team ready, you are sure to have the wedding of your dreams. We are also a great location for partygoers and concert lovers. Being across the street from the Kee to Bala, we can offer a safe and friendly place to stay after attending your favourite concert. Like us on Facebook for frequent updates and giveaways! We appreciate all the feedback that we have received, and are pleased to tell you that we have made several changes to the hotel and improved all of our departments. We look forward to exceeding your expectations and providing an unforgettable Muskoka experience. FUN. FRESH. FABULOUS. Come join us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bala Bay Hotel Bala
Bala Bay Motel
Bala Bay Inn Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing