We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon River Lookout Valentine's Dinner event”

The Moon River Lookout
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Bala
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bala, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Moon River Lookout Valentine's Dinner event”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went for Valentine's day in 2013 and it was very nice. they had a set menu to choose from prior to arriving. The service was quick and very relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Muskoka gem”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visited this restaurant for the first time last Thanksgiving weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This is not a Toronto restaurant, so don't expect what you are used to there. The venue is unique, the service is excellent and the food is good. With an emphasis on good. My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is open on Thursday through Saturday during the winter, so I expect to return next month.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 897AllanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Busy place with nice waitresses”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Average pub style food at a premium price. Even though the place was busy the service was prompt and the waitress was pleasant. The owner was there but didn't greet anyone as such.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The staff were very friendly and the location is very close to the "Kee to Bala" concert hall. The food was good but overpriced. You're paying for the location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tervanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We called ahead to ensure we could have a table before our show at the Kee, it's a very popular place so that is highly advised. At that, we only had options to seat inside or in the back patio. We were a bit concerned about the mosquitoes but even when we stayed until 8PM we were spared altogether. The food was great; we had pork ribs and steak, with a tomato salad to start.and an excellent peanut butter pie for dessert.

I didn't find the prices super-reasonable but taking in account the atmosphere it was an alright experience, and we would go back. Next time we'll call a couple of days ahead so we can sit in the porch and enjoy the view over the falls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moon River Lookout also viewed

Bala, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Bala, Muskoka District
 
Bala, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Moon River Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing