We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Saga experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mjejane River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mjejane River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful Saga experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fortunately the reps, staff and game warden/drivers were good and the setting was lovely at Mjejane River Lodge. There were no big cats in the reserve, the food was poor and the game-drive vehicles were poorly maintained. We had five punctures within the week of which four were in the Kruger trip. The prop-shaft was at its end and we wondered if it would last the game drives. The room was ok except the separate toilet had no washbasin and the bathroom/shower was very dark as was the room. The small pool was not very inviting as very green and slippery. The Saga holiday was expensive for what we experienced and very, very disappointing. Would never travel with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maturetravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    76
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
54
77
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Recently spent a week at Mjejane River Lodge as part of our Interval International exchange. The property was exactly as it had been represented, in fact, better. Our unit was large, spacious and well-appointed, and our placement overlooking the Crocodile River was exceptional! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the game viewing impressive for a private reserve. A special treat was the evening BBQ meal elegantly set around a large fire pit in a picturesque grove of trees. Having a car is a must if you plan to visit KNP, and 4-wheel drive is recommended as many of the roads are rough. We visited in early June and loved the cooler temps with no rain. Had an awesome time on our first trip to South Africa!! Special nod to our Game Ranger, Patrick, Chef Warren, and our cleaning staff, Goodness and Suginsi!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you are for a relaxed vacation by the riverside whilst watching some animals coming for either their morning or afternoon drinking at the river then this is for you. There are mostly water bucks, hippos, birds, monkeys, wild pigs roaming around. The morning and evening game drives have very knowledgeable guides who have intimate knowledge about the bush and its habitats. The drives cater for those who would like to view the game in their natural habitat. Mostly there are giraffes, buffalos, rhinos, elephants, crocodiles wild cats. Sadly no sighting of leopards or lions - shy cats indeed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nkuli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Located close to Crocodile River, the Mjejane River Lodge offers a bush safari experience with the comforts of a good hotel. The staff is friendly, the Game Rangers are knowledgeable, and the food is great. We went on two game drives each day, one in the early morning and one in the afternoon. The area is filled with wildlife, and during our 3-day visit we saw a great many different species, including four of the "Big Five" (didn't see the leopard). During the hottest times of day we could relax by the pool and watch the crocodiles on the riverbank. Truly a memorable vacation I warmly recommend anyone wanting to experience the African wildlife.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudunK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge on a business trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Fantastic bath. Wonderful view of the Crocodile River and the Kruger National Park. Towels and swimming pool could be cleaner.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CandLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We are just back from a week at this wonderfully located safari lodge. We had a very friendly group there, the staff were all lovely and who could complain at sitting in the shade (tempereature 34), being brough cooing drinks and watching wild hippoes play in the river in front of you? We had many included game drives and saw the big five.

Therooms are not luxurious, but the beds are very comfortable and the food plentiful and good.

Room Tip: We had Room 4, which we think was bigger than some
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Mjejane, with a private game viewing vehicle and guide. The private lodges that individuals and companies own are 6 star and the whole experience simply amazing. The exclusive seclusion with rare sightings of black rhino, leopard, lion etc and the location running along the crocodile river make this one of the most exclusive lodges and clubs to visit in SA. It is the only lodge with its own bridge into the Kruger park. The river drive of 10 plus km is a must. The rooms are all on suite and it is tranquil and peaceful. Although they claim to still be getting their meals in order i found the meals quite fine. The location is close to Maputo [45 min away] through the border post to visit the sea.

Room Tip: The drive along the river is a must, in summer take mozzi protection, i just used bug repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hectorspruit
12.5 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#76 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
7.0 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#90 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mjejane River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mjejane River Lodge

Property: Mjejane River Lodge
Address: 2km after Hectorspruit off the N4 | Traveling East towards Komatipoort, Hectorspruit 1330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hectorspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hectorspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mjejane River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service Lodge offering Meals & Game Drives in Big 5 Territory ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mjejane River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mjejane River Hotel Hectorspruit
Mjejane River Lodge South Africa/Hectorspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing