We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hambleton Hall(Hambleton)
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Plough(Braunston-in-Rutland)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Falcon Hotel(Uppingham)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
111
34
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
34
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungerutland watertroutfull english breakfastlake view roomcomfortable loungewaters edgeround the lakeamazing locationwood burnerhome smokedliving roomwarm welcomeposter bedbreakfast was deliciousa stones throwlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Rob made us feel very comfortable, very welcoming, helpful and friendly
The room we stayed was lovely, had a nice fire burning in the lounge making it cosy. Lovely spot for walking /bike riding / fly fishing. B and B spot on by the Rutland water....
would definitely go back....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from a short break at Rutland Water. Rob's B&B was the perfect place to stay. We were made to feel very welcome, from the comfortable room with a beautiful view to the log burning stove that dried us out after the non-stop rain!
Thanks for a great few days - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The room over looking Rutland Water was perfect, peaceful, comfortable and very clean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

These premiere lodges and the like are all very well but so impersonal. You take a certain risk when you stay somewhere for the first time but this one paid off. We stayed at Lakeside for a few nights at the end of March. Yes, we were lucky with the weather but even luckier with our choice of accomodation. We were made very welcome, the rooms comforable and cosy. The breakfast set us up for the day and we met some nice people........No complaints on this one, thanks Rob it was a brilliant few days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We booked Lakeside B&B for a couple of nights in March (just before the fly-fishing season begins in earnest!) and couldn't believe our luck. Barnsdale Lodge and Hall just up the road may be billed as the "premium" places to stay in the area but this B&B has an even better location, right by the water and on a cul-de-sac too. The only "traffic" we saw were dog walkers and cyclists on the route around Rutland Water, which goes right by Lakeside. So, if you want somewhere peaceful to stay and with a gorgeous view, this is it.
The huge guest lounge is where you'll need to watch TV (if you really want to) and overlooks Rutland Water, with a French door to a veranda where you can enjoy a drink and watch the sunset or look at the stars.
Our double room overlooked the back garden. The bed was extremely comfortable (I have had many stays at hotels and B&Bs where the bed is way too soft and spongy), the ensuite shower spotlessly clean.
Breakfast both mornings was delicious and freshly cooked by Rob, who deserves a mention for being such a friendly and welcoming host.
Our main aim for the stay was to cycle round Rutland Water. Lakeside B&B couldn't have been better placed for us. The cycle hire centre at Whitwell is a lovely 30 min walk through woodland and by the waterside, so don't take your car as you'll only have to pay for their car park. Rob's great brekkie meant we didn't really need lunch, but we had a fantastic meal at the Fox and Hounds pub in Exton, just a 5 min drive from the B&B and found a very pretty tea room set in a walled garden in Oakham, by the church/castle.
We will definitely go back and have recommended this to others. Just book it!

Room Tip: The one room overlooking Rutland Water has a four-poster bed
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandrob, Owner at Lakeside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Many thanks for this lovely review, it's such a pleasure to share this amazing location with our guests. This winter has seen us working hard on many maintenance projects; new decor, new high quality mattresses and a total outside freshen up. Also during some lakeside coppice work, the Nature Organisation have taken down a number of waterside willows which have fortunately opened up even more lake views!
So, I hope we have even more happy guests this coming season. We only close for the Christmas period so all are welcome in Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter.
Rob Waddington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lakeside B&B is perfectly situated by the lake enjoying beautiful views of the lake. We visited at the end of March 2012 and were treated to glorious sunshine the entire stay. Rob made us feel so welcome, lighting up the fire in the lounge when we came back from dinner out. The full cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection, this filled us up for the whole day. Would definitely recommend staying here, such a good location if wanting to bike round the lake. Thanks Rob.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews