We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great choice for our Special Occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Northampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great choice for our Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

As a group of six ladies all joining together to celebrate their very special birthdays, Barnsdale Hall was the perfect choice. The location is beautiful, the rooms, although a little small, were very clean and the food excellent. The staff were all so obliging, efficient and friendly, especially in the restaurant. The price for the package was outstanding value and the member of staff on the reception who dealt with all enquiries about the booking and special requests on the phone and by email was exemplary: all requests were implemented, as arranged. In all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay marking a very special occasion for all members of the party; pity our stay couldn't have been longer. Thank you to everyone at Barnsdale Hall!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonnieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    240
    150
    89
    52
See reviews for
161
384
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upgraded to Superior room to accommodate daughter. Room was large but strange as had no character or sole, layout disjointed too, huge bathroom, but lovely outlook over Rutland Water, with balcony and picture windows, with king-size bed and two settee's one being the sofabed for daughter.
Our first nights sleep was awful, with me aching so much from the mattress which we think was made from concrete, that I ended up sleeping on the other sofabed by 3am, beating my husband to it, so he ended up sharing other sofabed with daughter from 4am. We basically had to worst nights sleep or total lack of sleep ever! We asked reception in the morning if the was anything they could be, and bless they tried and changed the mattress to something out of Borstal that was made of just springs, no cushioning what so ever, we asked for an additional duvet to cover the mattress to make it softer, which it did, to a fashion, but only slightly.
We booked dinner, which was nice but not wow, but was put off by the fact that they don't change the menu daily or have daily specials, so it cant to fresh...!
They did try but the whole place is just a bit lack luster, which is a shame as it is in an amazing location.
Be prepared to be a mountain goat to get from main hotel building to restaurant or spa complex. Basically from main hotel building the are 2 or 3 other "hotels" within the complex but to get from our "hotel block" we had to walk out the building, behind the main hotel and either up a huge flight of outdoor steps or go into another hotel block to go up 2 flight in the lift, to exit the back of the building, up 2 flights of outdoor steps, through a car park to get to the restaurant for either breakfast or dinner. This building is also the spa complex and conference rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, ground floor rooms look a brick walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissLuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

verything about Barnsdale is just first class. The accomodation, so clean and cared for, the staff are so helpfull and cheery, they just get you in the mood. As for the restaurants, top class, well managed, well staffed, no long waits for your meal here. The food is just out of this world, Barnsdale have a number of chefs who just 'have what it takes!'. My stay is for six weeks at the time of writing I am halfway through my second week and just loving it. I am having to upgrade to a bigger room so that my wife and son can visit and enjoy where 'Daddy is living' and so to is my daughter and two grandchildren. I am so pleased I discovered Barnsdale, a real Gem! The hotel has such a fantastic position overlooking Rutland Water. Plenty of activities and some great walks.

Room Tip: The standard double is very acceptable, the single, although a very good standard, a little too smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked two nights to cover my God Daughters wedding, as we had a distance to travel. It was a good move, as we made full use of an excellent pool and spa complex to relax after the journey.
Booking in was pretty straight forward as we had pre-booked a superior room with breakfast (which was excellent) and the room was made available a couple of hours early. The room was of a high standard, clean and well-furnished, with a window and a patio door to the balcony. The bathroom looked recently refurbished and was of a good standard. The bed was big and comfy-firm.
The room was on the second level room, which had two advantages. Firstly it overlooked the Rutland Water and you could sit on the balcony or in the room and enjoy the beautiful views. Secondly, when you left the building at the rear, you are on the same level as all of the amenities.
The hotel has access down to the water and a range of walking or cycle routes are available. The local area has a range of activities, and some good local pubs for dining. We will definitely return but may consider the lodges next time, which are roomy and look quite well appointed. Access for disabled persons looks reasonable with well-found paths and a lift in the accommodation main block.

Room Tip: Don't go for ground floor as rooms as the views are totally blocked by surrounding flowerbed wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMarshall666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our third visit for business purposes. This time we decided to stay overnight and find time to explore the gardens and the spa facilities. We were treated to a very efficient and pleasant booking in, followed by the chance to unwind and refresh ourselves in the spa facilities. The staff in the spa, the restaurant and the reception area all went out of their way to be helpful and cheerful.

Room Tip: All rooms are within a complex of buuildings and all give easy access to other facilities and the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyelover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was a wonderful stay for a business trip, the rooms are well appointed with all mod cons and the staff are friendly. The food can be a little bland in terms of Lunch. I also felt the site is not very good for those with walking or mobility difficulties. The spa is a little cramped tbh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Barnsdale Hall is a mix of hotel and timeshare. Timeshare guests are accommodated in units throughout the grounds many of them A-frame buildings. My wife and I stayed in a "sleeps eight" lodge, and were visited by some friends during our week's stay.
A local confided to us: "There's not much to see around here but the food tends to be good. Everyone likes to eat out." So it was not much of a surprise that the Olive Branch pub (a title winner in the Trip Advisor awards) was within hitting distance. It was also not surprising that it was booked solid - even a few days in advance. But we did find other eateries, including a pub which smokes its own meat, of differing styles and prices.
Sad, then, that the restaurant at Barnsdale Hall where we ate on our first night offered only so-so quality and a quite limited menu. Others have commented on this; our findings were similar.
We did make use of the gym and the swimming pool. The pool, in particular, was impressive. The gym was small and needed some more up-to-date equipment. A handbike was locked solid with unequal gripping levels and the stepping equipment was limited.
Accommodation in the A-frame was really enough for four adults and two youngsters. Bedrooms high in the A had foreshortened beds. The extra two beds promised by "sleeps eight" are achieved with a sofa bed. This is not unusual in timeshare accommodation. Generally the place was well supplied. Shortages of saucepans and preparation knives were quickly corrected when pointed out. The kitchen and parts of the two bathrooms seemed to have been re-fitted in recent times. Sadly aging, battered floors in the bathrooms rather betrayed the renewal effort. I'm over 6ft and had some problems knocking my head on the low cooker hood but also on a large stairwell bulkhead which stuck out over the microwave and fridge work-surface areas. The floor-level fridge, which managed to freeze a couple of lettuces and some strawberries atop the crisper compartment, was not easy to use.
But the grounds of the place which give work to a large team of gardeners were well kempt and, when we visited, a treat to behold. The lawns and beds sweep down towards Rutland Water which is a backdrop to many of the vistas from the hotel. It was sad, then, that the only foot access from the grounds to the paths around the reservoir was by a difficult-to-find stile which had definitely seen better days. Otherwise one had to take the road route. We were told that this has something to do with the stance taken by Anglian Water who own the lake. However, during our visit we went to another hotel which had a proper access gate and path to the waterside facilities.
We did find the staff - particularly those manning the timeshare operation - willing and cheerful. An introductory talk was really helpful - one of the best we have experienced in many years of timeshare exchanges.
Our stay was memorable because it introduced us to a small area of England of which we had little knowledge before the trip. From bird watching (including ospreys and kestrels) around Rutland Water, to viewing a smile-worthy plethora of giant horse-shoes given by the great and good in Oakham Castle we had a fascinating time.

Room Tip: The lodges closest to the lake have better water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Hall Hotel

Property: Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Address: Stamford Road | Nr Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With this unique setting, personal charm, character, and friendly but attentive personnel, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is the perfect venue whatever your occasion may be. Extensive spa and leisure facilities makes it a haven in which to retreat, relax and unwind. With its breathtaking views of the natural splendours of Rutland Water where better to hold your wedding reception, corporate event, or a romantic getaway for two?Set in conservation parkland on the slopes overlooking Rutland Water, Barnsdale Hall Hotel is one of the most unusual and comprehensive hotel complexes in the United Kingdom. This makes it an ideal location for corporate business, conference and leisure pastimes. With a rich and varied range of things to do on and off site there is, we believe, no better position in which to be located in this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Barnsdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hall Oakham
Hotel Barnsdale Hall
Barnsdale Hall Hotel Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing