We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hambleton Hall(Hambleton)
US$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falcon Hotel(Uppingham)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
300
297
194
110
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
297
194
110
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarnsdale hallleisure facilitiescrazy golfrutland waterswimming poolwowcher dealsteam roommain hallspa treatmentspitch and puttbar and restaurantboxing dayhoneymoon suitetennis courtsbeautiful locationbuffet stylethe main hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a wonderful time, the hotel and surroundings were superb!
Staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful.
Food was excellent, the menu giving a good choice of dishes, beautifully cooked and many without bread and chips, making them light and delicious.
The facilities were great, with a nice open bar and a spa and our room very comfortable with everything we needed (shower superb) all super clean!
We had a 3 night stay, one day visiting Barnsdale Gardens (Geoff Hamilton's and includes lovely tea room) and the next day we hired bikes and cycled around the perimeter of Rutland Water, which has a brilliant cycle path through the countryside and with toilets and cafe's on the way round.
All in all we had a great time and will certainly go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, that's where it stops. We decided to book a Spa day with treatments and have lunch. If your looking for that lush spa day experience this is not going to tick your box.

I had my massage in my trousers no robes, no towels and the room was freezing, the swimming pool is open to all!! take change for the lockers, you share all the facilities with the public, deposit required for the towels! Come on your suppose to be having a spa experience not a day out at the local leisure centre. No eye for detail, not a lush gorgeous experience. Lunch was a fiasco again no eye for detail and poor service took forever for the food to arrive, what little there was - was tasty, the place is trying to accomplish to much in reality accomplished very little. Won't return!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank StephenRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one night with the kids while attending a wedding. On first impressions the room was nice, with sufficient space for us.
The wedding setting was great, as was the food.
The room on closer inspection was a bit of a let down, the mattress on our bed was far too soft (personal taste aside), my daughter kept complaining she could feel the springs through the mattress. She was on a temporary bed, however we had to pay extra for the larger room to accommodate this, hence there is no excuse.
The bathroom was clean, however had no character.
Breakfast was not great, the sausages were of poor quality, the black pudding was falling apart, and the eggs were bland. (asked for poached eggs also, and they were also bland).
We did not have the opportunity to use the leisure facilities, they did look good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from weekend with five other girls and our husbands, we have known each other for 45yrs from when we trained as nurses. Our reunion this year was at Barnsdale , we had booked a year ago and asked for six rooms all together, although this did not happen we all had very nice clean big rooms, yes maybe mattress bit lumpy! , although there were four weddings during our stay we were treated so well , we had our own little private dining room for all meals and the food was all very good and nicely cooked, we complimented the chef.. All the staff in the restaurant could not have been nicer or more attentive , we thank them. We did worry that with all the guests at weddings might have been noisy for sleeping but apart from bit of loud voices , no real problem. Lovely position, well tended gardens. We had a good time and would come again.

Room Tip: Try not to get ground floor room in newer bit in front of main reception , it just looks out on to a yellow painted wall and is a walkway, rooms may be wonderful inside, don't know.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were only staying the one night so cannot comment on pool or spa. The room was spotless and the staff all very helpful. The decor was a little dated but very clean and smart. The only down to the visit was the mattress. The springs creaked, was very hard and you could feel the buttons through the sheet. A proper mattress protector would not have gone amiss.

Room Tip: We had to have two of the small doubles as all others were sold. Avoid room 445 unless they have replaced the mattress
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews