We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special night”

Brasserie Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Barnsdale
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 May 2018

The ambiance of restaurant was really lovely and it was a special treat for my partner as her Dad hadn't been well! And we wasn't disappointed as the food was superb as was the service

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank barrylee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2018

Met friends for lunch, and despite its setting, could not have been more disappointed!
Despite booking a table in the restaurant for a lunchtime menu, we were presented with a full 3 course menu. We explained we only wanted the light lunch menu, so was ushered into the dark and dingy bar area (despite the restaurant being empty!). so on a beautiful sunny day, we had to sit in the dark bar. My steak and blue cheese sandwich at £14 was mediocre at best (tough steak, hardly any cheese). The service was appalling! IF you could find anyone to take your order? When you did find someone, each member of staff had a dedicated area, so if you found the wrong person, they couldn't serve you?!
We had to search the hotel to find someone to pay our bill. Quite frankly we contemplated walking out without paying, planning to contact the hotel after we'd left to arrange payment, just to highlight the lack of service at the hotel/restaurant!
The chlorine odour from the swimming pool, wafted through the bar. The staff non-existent. And as for the views, well, they would have been lovely, IF we were allowed to enjoy them! thank goodness for good friends, and god conversation. The only thing that saved the day! Would NOT return nor recommend.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FanFoodieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice food. Had scallops followed by steak. The price was good. Staff were good but there were not enough of them.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank chelseaboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Fish was swimming in grease it wasn't nice at all.
The chips were nice but the peas...well they were awful.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We chose to eat on site for our first night at the hotel. I had taken a swim in the indoor pool and was very pleased not to venture outside straight after, as it was freezing cold that day. We chose the restaurant over the bar food and was really surprised at the quality of the food presented Historically this had always been a miserable restaurant with a boring menu. The improvement was really impressive and we ate there again on our second night.
I had stone bass fish with caponata and roasted tomatoes. My husband chose the fish and chips from the bar menu and the restaurant was very happy to serve both meals in the restaurant.
We would certainly recommend the restaurant for a quieter meal as the bar can be very lively around the Christmas Holidays.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank T3498VMalisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Restaurant also viewed

Hambleton, Rutland
Hambleton, Leicestershire
 

Been to Brasserie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing