We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We held our daughter's 18 th birthday dinner for 14 family members here. We were given a private dining room with access to a beautiful garden and we also had our breakfast in here after our overnight stay. The service was excellent and everything we had arranged in advance including drinks reception, meal ordering and special dietary need were delivered correctly. The bedrooms were all clean, comfortable and a decent size as were the bathrooms. The central courtyard is very attractive and the lounge was comfortable. The room I stayed in was quite warm as the weather was hot. The food we ate in the evening was excellent, but I was not too impressed with breakfast as choice was quite limited and the buffet table feels like it is in a corridor. I did enjoy the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and the home made granola.

Overall we were very impressed with how the hotel catered for our small group and our 18 year old was very happy with her party.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoloresCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    225
    72
    34
    11
See reviews for
142
326
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eynsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were upgraded on arrival and the room was lovely just off of the courtyard. We had good food and a really lovely walk over by Rutland Water. There was easy access to the large field behind which was great as we had our dog with us. It would have been very relaxing but our room was next to a busy courtyard and all of the hotel guest traffic outside of our room meant our dog was constantly thinking someone was about to come in so he barked a lot. Overall it was a nice place to stay but perhaps not quite right for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Barnsdale lodge for 1 night with my elderly parents. The superior room was spacious and well equipped and hotel grounds beautiful.
We had dinner in the conservatory that evening which was excellent - great food and good service and fair value for money.
Unfortunately breakfast the next day was a different story. When we arrived all the tables were full so we waited in the lounge. We were offered coffee while we waited but it never arrived and no staff were around to ask for it. After about 25 mins we were seated but took another 15 mins to get coffee and our order taken. By this time the buffet was decimated. Our cooked breakfast had clearly been cooking for several hours with hard and dry bacon and sausage and watery scrambled egg.
Difficult to believe this was the same kitchen as the night before- such a shame.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for the constructive feedback following your recent stay. We rely on such feedback in order to maintain, and where necessary, improve our offering.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner, but concerned about the service which you experienced, in total contrast, at breakfast. I can assure you that your comments have been taken on board by both our kitchen and front of house teams.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely idea to have pretty umbrellas in the conservatory as a bit of shade and fun which made it very nice to look.
Drink orders were taken by a surly waitress who didn't seem to want to chat or even smile and we were left to order our meals.
A nice menu and we both were in the mood for a snacky type of lunch so we ordered the burgers, chicken and a beef one. Again a moody waiter took the order and said thats all? When we ordered as if we should be ordering more!
Food came and it was really good, I asked for some mayo and when it was put on the table in a little pot it was obvious it had been out for a while as it was already congealing on the edges and going yellow! Just not good enough for this type of restaurant which we had looked up for a nice place to eat! Couldn't be bothered to ask for some more just didn't eat it!
Finished and left.
Wont be going again or recommending.
Sadly another really good place being ruined by bad staffing. Needs to get its act together!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay.

I can assure you that this is not the usual level of service that you should expect at Barnsdale Lodge, and your constructive feedback has most definitely been taken on board. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff, and I would encourage you to visit again - I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you so would encourage you to either contact me via the messaging tab on here or email me - pfreeman@barnsdalelodge.co.uk

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 4 night stay at the hotel after completing a diabetes course with 20 + other nurses.
Great hotel with amazing food and service!! Really well looked after by Harriet the conference organiser and all the waiting staff in the restaurant. Particularly to a young man called Joe who was very helpful and attentive. (Looked a little bit like James Blunt).
My room was very nice. Only downside I didn't get a lake view like my colleagues. They didn't have one available!! Just being picky!
The bathroom was amazing! Newly refurbished too!
The views of the gardens and lakes are amazing and there is plenty to do of u want to be active!
I would go back again maybe with my family or husband over a weekend.
Thank you for a great stay!! Xxx

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Welcome ok, room getting a bit tired wood surfaces marked (could have done with glass on the top. bathroom glass shower door plastic bottom a bit dirty but shower brillant.

noise from road was irrating and last but not least large black bug on carpet, told staff when checked out and she said that it was the time of year? will not stay again.

Room Tip: ask for one not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Unfortunately this is one of the casualties of our beautiful countryside location, it would be impossible to prevent the occasional bugs in our rooms at this time of year.

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Yet again we decided to stay at Barnsdale Lodge for a few days while my wife is undergoing radio therapy treatment,weather could have been better but the hotel and staff are always pleasant and can't do enough for you.We had our evening meal on the second night and the food was fantastic finished off with a drink in the bar made our stay fantastic. Would very much recommend this hotel this is our third time and I'm sure it won't be our last.

Room Tip: All good,no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarknKathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.5 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Greetham Valley Hotel
Greetham Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greetham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Address: The Avenue | Exton Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of this beautiful, unspoilt and smallest county in England, Barnsdale Lodge is a privately owned hotel that remains a well kept secret. Barnsdale is two hours from Heathrow, one hour from Leicester and a few minutes from the historic town of Oakham. The friendly and efficiently run hotel is the place to relax and enjoy for a few days. Guests can try the courtyard for alfresco dining, or relax in the comfy chairs in the cosy bar and chat, or enjoy a pre-dinner drink or glass of Champagne. In every case the relaxed atmosphere is unmistakably Barnsdale Lodge.There are 44 bedrooms, all en suite and individually furnished with charm and style, with views of either the surrounding countryside or the picturesque courtyard. All bedrooms have broadband internet, direct dial telephone, digital free view, a selection of tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryer, iron and trouser press. Guests can enjoy a range of complimentary White Company toiletries in the bathrooms.Guests at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel can expect the very best food; wine and personal service in one of the dining rooms or enjoy alfresco dining in the courtyard. The hotel use locally sourced, seasonal produce to create fantastic dishes, with something to suit every taste. Barnsdale Lodge is open for morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner and is renowned for its private dining.Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge is a place to get away from it all and have time for yourself. Guests can escape from the grind and stress of daily life. Viciente offer an array of services that will put your mind and body on a path towards total harmony. Whether you choose a single treatment or a few hours escape, enjoy optimum health, beauty and relaxation. The focus is placed firmly on guests well being for now and into the future, using their products and treatments for both men and women, which have been chosen with environmental concerns in mind. Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge are committed to guest’s complete satisfaction and strive to exceed your expectations.Rutland is the smallest county in England, measuring just 16 miles square. The county has two historic market towns Oakham and Uppingham, and 54 beautiful villages spread across the rolling rural landscape. Rutland Water has something for everyone. The attractive reservoir has an international reputation for providing a balance of sport, leisure and wildlife conservation and offers everyone the opportunity to try something new; cycling along miles of traffic free paths, sailing, windsurfing, fishing, rock climbing, canoeing, golf, a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Just a short walk down the avenue from Barnsdale Lodge is the late Geoff Hamilton’s famous Barnsdale Gardens. You can also enjoy the delightful individual shops at nearby Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford, a visit to Burghley House or the events at Rockingham Speedway and Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hotel Oakham
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel And Restaurant Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing