We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and 3 sons stayed here for 2 nights, very good service, bedrooms were ok, the double bed felt a little small. Food was excellent, and a lovely courtyard to enjoy an early morning pot of tea.
On a personal level, I would prefer it if I could have had a bedroom where I know a dog hadn't been in. I have nothing against dogs, but it put me off knowing that a dog may have slept in the bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thankyou for writing this review.

We are a dog-friendly hotel, with dogs allowed in ground floor rooms only, and being given their own beds, feeding mats and bowls. Therefore if you ask upon booking in future, we can ensure that you are allocate a non-pet room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    230
    74
    35
    11
See reviews for
144
333
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Attended for a friends wedding (see below review). Beautiful facilities, very attentive staff couldn't fault a thing. Food was fantastic and service excellent particularly the waitresses! Salon services by Will was also fantastic, do pop in for a blow dry if staying. Would highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsZebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time taken to write this review.

William Wheelwright Salon is on-site and open Tuesday-Saturday for anyone wanting to treat themselves whilst here; I am pleased that you made use of this facility!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently visited Barnsdale Lodge Hotel. This is a charming period hotel with staff who could not do enough for us. Our room was very comfortable and the good was first class, both for dinner and breakfast.
The choices and quality of food was to be reccommended.

The hotel is in an excllent setting and we had a view of Rutland Water from our room along with the hotel's herd of highland cattle. The hotel is built round a delightful courtyard and when we were there the weather was lovely and it was a delight to sit in the garden with a drink before dinner.
I would reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

Paul Freeman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thank you to all at Barnsdale Lodge for the excellent facilities, food and service for my daughter's wedding. It is a beautiful venue, which offers every opportunity to add personal touches and use the hotel's grounds to add to the fun. Excellence without pomposity

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review.

I am delighted that your daughter's wedding day was a success, and we hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
273 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a really good country hotel, friendly welcome, good room with free wi-fi and we had an excellent dinner in the nicely decorated gazebo. Our visit though was on a Saturday evening which coincided with a wedding party at the hotel. Cue late night noise from the disco and wedding guests (inebriated) enjoying themselves. Think about this if making a booking.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the courtyard!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsdaleLodge, General Manager at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write this review.

I must point out to anyone reading this that the vast majority of weddings at Barnsdale Lodge take place in the Barn Suite, which is on the opposite side of site to the main restaurants and the bedrooms, so disruption is very minimal. We host many weddings and often have a mixture of wedding guests and hotel diners/residents.

I am pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay including dinner in our conservatory.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Paul Freeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were served by Thomas. What an extremely friendly manager; looking after our every needs. He's hard working, thoughtful.
I'd highly recommend a visit to the restaurant. Now we're tempted to stay here in the hotel.

It's a little pricey, but your paying for the location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel also has lodges across the road from the main building down a gated gravel drive..I'd stay here any day over a classic hotel room.
We stayed in the one called Whitwell..Like a huge 3 bedroom shed but very tastefully done..could do with AC on hot nights but we survived..3 double bedrooms & one shower room, 1 bathroom. The beds are all single pushed together which is a bummer as you feel the join, the mattresses are too soft for me too..but this is a personal thing..no toppers...the rooms have about 60cm/2ft around a double bed so noir huge but I'd still prefer to stay here than a hotel.
Good kitchen & reasonably well equipped..you need to request a maid..if you need the place cleaned or bins emptied etc..
Freeview TV's x 2 one in the lounge & the second in the Master bedroom.
BBQ outside on the patio with a picnic table & chairs too.
Two couples could easily have a week here..3 couples might be pushing the space a little.
The place takes dogs too..I'm allergic but there didn't appear to be any trace of previous dogs :-)
We loved our stay here..we had mixed weather but it was just GREAT! & only 3 miles from civilisation OAKHAM

Room Tip: I think they're all the same..we stayed in Whitwell Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerandScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsdale
0.4 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
535 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
294 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#1 of 1 in Braunston-in-Rutland
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
Address: The Avenue | Exton Oakham, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham > Barnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barnsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across from the shores of Rutland Water in the heart of this beautiful, unspoilt and smallest county in England, Barnsdale Lodge is a privately owned hotel that remains a well kept secret. Barnsdale is two hours from Heathrow, one hour from Leicester and a few minutes from the historic town of Oakham. The friendly and efficiently run hotel is the place to relax and enjoy for a few days. Guests can try the courtyard for alfresco dining, or relax in the comfy chairs in the cosy bar and chat, or enjoy a pre-dinner drink or glass of Champagne. In every case the relaxed atmosphere is unmistakably Barnsdale Lodge.There are 44 bedrooms, all en suite and individually furnished with charm and style, with views of either the surrounding countryside or the picturesque courtyard. All bedrooms have broadband internet, direct dial telephone, digital free view, a selection of tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryer, iron and trouser press. Guests can enjoy a range of complimentary White Company toiletries in the bathrooms.Guests at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel can expect the very best food; wine and personal service in one of the dining rooms or enjoy alfresco dining in the courtyard. The hotel use locally sourced, seasonal produce to create fantastic dishes, with something to suit every taste. Barnsdale Lodge is open for morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner and is renowned for its private dining.Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge is a place to get away from it all and have time for yourself. Guests can escape from the grind and stress of daily life. Viciente offer an array of services that will put your mind and body on a path towards total harmony. Whether you choose a single treatment or a few hours escape, enjoy optimum health, beauty and relaxation. The focus is placed firmly on guests well being for now and into the future, using their products and treatments for both men and women, which have been chosen with environmental concerns in mind. Viciente at Barnsdale Lodge are committed to guest’s complete satisfaction and strive to exceed your expectations.Rutland is the smallest county in England, measuring just 16 miles square. The county has two historic market towns Oakham and Uppingham, and 54 beautiful villages spread across the rolling rural landscape. Rutland Water has something for everyone. The attractive reservoir has an international reputation for providing a balance of sport, leisure and wildlife conservation and offers everyone the opportunity to try something new; cycling along miles of traffic free paths, sailing, windsurfing, fishing, rock climbing, canoeing, golf, a nature reserve and bird sanctuary. Just a short walk down the avenue from Barnsdale Lodge is the late Geoff Hamilton’s famous Barnsdale Gardens. You can also enjoy the delightful individual shops at nearby Oakham, Uppingham and Stamford, a visit to Burghley House or the events at Rockingham Speedway and Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsdale Hotel Oakham
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel And Restaurant Rutland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing