We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a cosy atmosphere”

Osteria L'Oste E Il Sacrestano
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Licata
Price range: US$47 - US$70
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: L'Oste e il Sacrestano e D.O.S. Di Origine Siciliana Peppe e Chiara vi guideranno in un viaggio fatto da profumi e sfumature della loro terra.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We dined here a year ago and looked forward to our return visit. We were not disappointed. Chiarra and Pepe remembered us and were great hosts. We had the 6 course menu and each course was a delight. The portions were a perfect size so that by the end of the meal we were pleasantly full rather than stuffed! This is Michelin star cooking in a very welcoming environment. Not cheap but good value for food of this quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    62
    19
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it :)”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thank you so much, Chiarra and Pepe. We had 2 sensational meals here, with excellent wine, and brilliant explanations of all we were eating. Eating here was the best part of our stay in Sicily, by far.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missheatherbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Was recomended by the marina staff and had a table booked there.We had a very nice meal by chef patron, 7 different dishes tho the portions on the small side but excellent and well looked after by the waitress (his wife!) A bit on the expensive side tho, would have loved to go back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank markcrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top of the top!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a great lunch today with my friends and the place excedeed far my expectations. A smile at the door, a nice and warm atmosphere with jazz music.... I suggest to order the Peppe menù , a gatronomic tour of Sicily, with the real fresh ingredients and all the flavors coming out.
Very nice service with explanation of every dish and a great Grillo Barbera Wine as a perfect match to a sublime meal. Even the dessert - cannolo Peppe way - was delicious.
Not cheap but absolutely worth the money. A very nice surprise . Bravo Peppe and Chiara !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquilasicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful journey of flavors”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Walking through the fascinating old lanes of the Marina neighborhood, you will discover this hidden gem.
Oste Peppe and Chiara welcome you to this special place, where every single dish is an amazing encounter between the best ingredients, creativity and the old Sicilian culinary tradition. All these things are perfectly balanced in every dish, where flavors are rich and full, gently served with elegance and simplicity. They also have a great selection of wines and will advise you on the matter.
Peppe and Chiara are very friendly and explain everything with attention to detail to lead you to a wonderful journey between flavors and tradition. You will enjoy it so much, this is a real slow food experience!
In my humble opinion, it is not suitable for those people who don't know what is the difference between eating and fine dining. This is definitely fine dining, with personal service and very reasonable prices.
The dining space is decorated to a high standard and attention to detail. It is gathered and comfortable, the perfect place to experience a truly Italian dinner and the best of the Sicilian hospitality.
What more can I say? This is just delightful, the place offers an outstanding service.
I would suggest a digestive walk through the Marina neighborhood and the harbour as conclusion to a wonderful evening.

NB: Booking in advance is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alessia_mcduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria L'Oste E Il Sacrestano also viewed

Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 
Licata, Province of Agrigento
Licata, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Osteria L'Oste E Il Sacrestano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing