We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely sea views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Licata Marina

Home main entrance / Entrata principale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Home main entrance / Entrata principale
Web site welcome / Benvenuto al sito La spiaggia privata / The private beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Home main entrance / Entrata principale
Web site welcome / Benvenuto al sito
La spiaggia privata / The private beach
Home from the beach / La casa dalla spiaggia
La spiagga dal terrazzo / The beach from the terrace
The terrace, living room / Il Terrazzo, salotto
La spiaggia dalla camera da letto / The beach from the bed room
The bed room / camera da letto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Licata, Province of Agrigento, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nightinga...
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty, disappointing”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

After a pleasant week inland near Etna, we were looking forward to staying in this 'brand new' beach house. On arrival we found the property dirty and smelly - it hadn't been cleaned at all. The bedding was unchanged, sweaty and stained: we had to wash it all (twice) in the bathroom sink before we could sleep in it. We had to throw away the pillows which smelt intensely of sweat, and banish the grubby bedspread outside on the veranda for the whole week. The fridge was so frosted up it didn't work, and the shower was blocked with hair so the water wouldn't drain away. The toilet seat was broken off and the toilet bowl was brown. We bought cleaning products and 2 new pillows from the local Mall, defrosted the fridge, unblocked the shower, scrubbed the floors and the toilet, and phoned our local contact. The absentee owner seemed concerned but told us it was all 'new': however, he arranged for us to be paid back for the pillows and given a bottle of wine. The toilet seat was repaired after 2 days. After we'd cleaned it we liked the house, especially the lovely veranda, sea view and kitchen. It was good to be close to the beach, but that was also disappointing - no shade, adjacent to a dilapidated building site and a river estuary with small industry, and populated by stray dogs which barked every night (and left their calling cards). Also the Mediterranean here was cold - local mussel fishermen were wearing full wet suits to dive off the 'private' beach. The nearby mall was pleasant and convenient, with a good quality bar/restaurant. Licata town has several very good restaurants and food shops, and is a useful centre for visiting the south coast and Agrigento. The Marina did not offer much for non-boating visitors except a nice long walk to the lighthouse, though the sea was full of plastic litter. There were no public boat trips along the coast, which was a shame. The local people were friendly, generous and welcoming, and our lovely local contact/handyman tried his best to help us with the various problems. The disused building site in front of the house was interesting for wildlife, if unattractive - a hawk was living in one of the derelict cranes. However, our initial impression, and the fact we had to spend considerable money and time on cleaning the property, ruined our stay here. The weather, however, was lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the veranda,convenient shops, restaurants and sunshine
Liked least: dirty state of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
I thank you for your review, even if I consider it a little bit too severe!
Everything is new not only in the apartment, but as you specified in your review, in the whole area. So, it happens that sometimes a guest breaks something - the toilet seat, or the fridge, for example - but we are there to solve all problems as soon as possible, when they arise. Just like we did this time.

We collected several positive reviews, and this is the first one complaining for the cleaning of the apartment. Probably, our cleaner did not realized that the pillows had a bad smell: in the apartment there were 4 more, but we allowed you to buy - we paying - 2 more of your choice.

In any case, we thank you for this: we change the duty list of the cleaner, adding the pillows washing to the bedsheets, and all other things we usually wash at every guest change.

Regarding the "public boat trips along the coast", I'm wondering if you had a look at the guest book in the apartment: in the 12 pages of the book (in English), you have a list of thing to do when in Licata, including:
- A fisherman boat, with the possibility to go for fishing at anytime during the day, or the night
- A caique for daily cruising along the coast
- A sail school, as well the possibility to have sailing cruise
- A rent a boat for yacht, as well as for pneumatic boat
and many more things.

If you come back to Licata, I'll be happy to host you in my sailing school.

PS. A final note: unfortunatly, there is no "small industry on the river. Actually, there is no industry at all in Licata. The city has just fishermen and hospitality structures. So, we would be glad, if you could start and industry there...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superdupe...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely sea views.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great balcony from lounge and bedroom with a view of the sea. Table and chairs outside. Comfortable bed and sofa. Air conditioning didn't go low enough so very hot at night. Towels provided small and no kettle but great location. Small private beach if you walk through unmade pathway and bull dozer (which we didn't mind at all). Lovely marina with great bar/cafe. Would recommend for lazy break. Wifi didn't work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views.
Liked least: Air conditioner didn't work well.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks for your kind review.
I hope to have you among our guests once again
Ciao
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoletta...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Very comfortable house with a wonderful sea view, ideal for a family with children or a close-knit group of friends. It's one of the sunny place in Sicily because the sea season is 8 months long! The apartment is new, clean and comfortable, sited in a great environment, very near to the tourist port of Licata. During the day all beaches are well serviced and all around Licata there are very historical cities to visit (It's a must!). For the evening there are many choices between typical restaurants and after-dinner bar and café.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks for coming, and for your wonderful review.
I hope to have you once again among our guests
Ciao
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone Z
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant summer holiday! Awesome beach house!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My friends and I went for a really nice holiday in Licata, Sicily. We wanted to get away from the busy London and have a nice, relaxing holiday in the most beautiful Italian island: Sicily.
The holiday turned out to be a mix of relax and a lot of fun too!

We stayed in this amazing summer house overlooking the sea. On the one side, you have the beach (1 minute walk!), on the other you have a splendid marina, where you can enjoy some nice summery cocktails, some fresh Italian gelato, or go for the movies at the mall (1 minute walk too!).

The house is super-functional! it has all of the comfort you would expect from an ordinary house, plus all of the perks of being a summer residence! (Also very easy to get home after a night out!). You can chill in the balcony, rest in the bedroom, or enjoy some food in the living room.

Simply fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muriel l
sainte marie aux chenes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Mercì de votre beau recension.
On regard a le 2 sailles da bains, Je m'escuse pour l'équivoque, mais Je suis sûr que d'aucune partie il est dit qu'il y a 2 bains. Mais s'il a une description qui nous attribue 2 bains, la prie de me la signaler et verrai la faire rectifier.
Merci ancor pour de votre présence, a presto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadiaruss...
Catania, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: il silenzio
Liked least: niente
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Grazie, troppo gentile. Spero di rivedervi presto.
Alla prossima, Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio...
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Mercì de votre review.
J'espère vous avoir de nouveau parmi nos hôtes
Au revoir a la prochaine fois
Ciao
Alessandro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing