We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the 2 hour drive from Halifax.”
Review of Fox Harb'r Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox Harb'r Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well worth the 2 hour drive from Halifax.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Book a King suite, you will nor regret it. Wonderful fireplace in sitting room, ample room, great bathroom with heated marble floors, small kitchenette area and very comfortable bed. Views over the golf course and onto the sea. If you love to play lots of golf, book the golf inclusive package as it turns out to be a great deal. The golf course is beautiful with the back nine overlooking the sea. Take lots of warm/rain clothing, as it can be windy and the weather changes rapidly. My husband and I had no problems booking tee times and could play as much as we wanted. We were never rushed on the golf course. If the weather gets cold, ask for a cashmere blanket and the pro shop will lend you one. There is an excellent pro shop. Both hotel staff and golf course staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. A word of advice, although a very generous breakfast is included with the room and food on the golf cart is inexpensive, all other meals and wine are very expensive, in fact overly so. Despite this, my husband and I ate dinner twice at the hotel. The food was delicious, fresh and local. Unfortunately, there are few alternatives in the neighbourhood. LOVED our stay and would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
57
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The golf course is beautiful and is well maitained . Tee times are well spaced so not rushed on the course.
The swimming pool is in aseperate building, very relaxing ,quiet ,and locker room and showers
lovely and well stocked with shampoo etc.
We stayed in a suite. it was very nicely decorated and quite spacious.
Bathroom great big tub. seperate shower , doulble sink, heated marble floors.
each suite has outdoor sitting area / or balcony that overlooks the golf course.
Lunch food was good.
dinner food was not so good and expensive, I would suggest sticking to the pub menu.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank music-soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Had a wonderful overnight stay Saturday night! It sure wasnt long enough. Fantastic Golf, beautiful property-landscaping and flowers were so beautiful you would have thought you were down south! Staff were unreal-super accomodating. Perfect relaxing experience!

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a King suite and it was fantastic. Approx 1,000 sqft, elegant woodwork, hardwood floors, heated tile bath, jacuzzi tub. Huge balcony with a view of the golf course and the Northumberland Strait. Dinner was excellent with attentive service. The resort is expensive but worth it especially for a one-off experience. The scenery from the golf course is world class.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanataguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

For a first class resort with an excellent accommodations, golf and spa facility you would think the impressive looking dining facility would serve a fantastic dinner. Don't be decieved by the decor. Over the number of times I have stayed at Fox Harb'r this is the weakest link in the chain. How can a chef ruin a ceasear salad, make oysters Rockefeller unpalatable and serve the main course of halibut so overcooked it was impossible to eat. When advised of the disaster, instead of apologies by writting off the dinner, insult was added to injury by offering a free dessert !! While I think the resort has many attributes that will draw me back I will ensure that I eat dinner offsite. A hotdog in Pugwash would be more palatable than eating poorly cooked food at Fox Harb'r

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

If you love golf, good food, immaculate accomodations and top flight service this is the place for you. The back 9 holes are on the ocean and offer a truly great golf experience. The course is tough but not stupid.

The food and service were very good indeed. Yes this place is pricy but the fact of the matter is that a trip to this resort will be a once in a lifetime trip for most people.

The place is a little ou tof the way...name a couple of top flight golf resorts that are not in out of the way places.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threedogstwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

While we have stayed in truly luxurious locales in the past (click on my name and you will see...Ranch at Rock Creek, The St. Regis, The Plaza, The Peninsula..etc. etc.) this resort seemed to be lacking that certain je ne sais quoi. The grounds were filled with lovely flowers, not a drop of litter, perfectly polite staff members, gorgeous views and a very decent room, but there was something missing. In our suite we were able to clearly hear other people's conversations and music and footsteps in the hallway. I am sure they could hear us too.
I had a message and the massage therapist talked incessantly. It was very frustrating. It was NOT worth the $. Also, the therapist tried to sell me the lotion she applied to my feet...the used bottle! I really resented that. Finally, the gratuity was included on the bill at the spa...that is so tacky!
The food was delicious, but very costly.
Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Probably try to stay on the second floor because I am sure it must be less noisy. Also, if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
3.2 mi away
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Jubilee Cottage Inn
#1 of 1 in Wallace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
13.1 mi away
Train Station Inn
Train Station Inn
#1 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
12.4 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
HI-Wentworth International Hostel & Lodge
11.9 mi away
Emily's Oceanside Cottages
13.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#4 of 6 in Tatamagouche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Harb'r Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Harb'r Resort

Property: Fox Harb'r Resort
Address: 1337 Fox Harbour Rd, Wallace, Nova Scotia B0K 1Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Wallace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Harb'r Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 2000, Fox Harb'r Resort has been consistently ranked among the top resorts in Canada by leading travel consumer reports and industry peers. Fox Harb'r is one of only four 5-star resorts in Canada. The resort offers classic elegance on a grand scale with a variety of activities including award-winning championship golf, par 3 golf course, tennis courts, a sporting lodge featuring sporting clay shooting, a luxury spa and wellness center, a private 4885 ft. airstrip, deep sea marina, Ocean front Cape Cliff Dining Room and The Willard for casual dining. In addition to the Resort amenities, Fox Harb'r also includes a private gated community, Harb'r Stone Village, showcasing stylish private residences and town homes overlooking the course and ocean for those who desire luxurious resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fox Harb'r Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Harb`r Golf Resort And Spa
Fox Harb`r Golf Hotel Wallace
Fox Harb r Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing