We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 40th Birthday meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jubilee Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Wallace B&B and Inns
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent 40th Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife made reservations here for my 40th Birthday and what an awesome meal experience. We were staying a couple nights at the Cambra Sands cottages in nearby Malagash. As we were the only ones dining that night we had to pick from 3 menu themes. We chose the Caribbean theme which had a variety plate starter of jumbo shrimp, salad and bread, very yummy. next came a very delicious soup with very odd I thought bananas in it. The main course was jerk chicken and fish all tasty and topped off with dessert and coffee. We brought our own bottle of wine with only a $5 corkage fee. We both liked the variety and taste of the food and left with a very full bellies , I would highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detour97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax , NS! Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I were at celebration barbecue at friends in Wallace and spent the night at the Jubilee. The hosts/owners were very hospitable and tolerating seeing that I had indulged too much at the party and required assistance getting to my room. We stayed in the Sandpiper room which was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and a fireplace which we didn't use. A delicious breakfast was served at 8.30 am which had crispy bacon, a hearty portion of scrambled eggs, two kinds of toast and a lots of fresh fruit. Topped off with a nice Greek Yogurt topped with hemp hearts.... They are good for you. No mention was made of my incident last night which I was thankful for. Would not hesitate to recommend the Jubilee cottage!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

This was our third time dinning at Jubilee Cottage. Friday night was "Now and Zen" Asian cuisine. The menu includes an appetizer, soup, 2 mains and dessert. Coffee and herbal teas as well. It is a BYO wine. Only $5 corking fee. Call ahead for reservations. Since it is a small family operation the menu is set for the evening. There are other themes on other nights. A great value at $42 each plus $5 corking fee if you bring wine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miker150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Jubilee cottage is a nice and well-run B&B that has many great features. The family that runs the B&B is friendly and helpful. The house is set in a shallow bay about 30 meters from the water. There is a small bench by the beach where you can admire the rising sun and take in the beauty of the seaside. There is a small dock and a convenience store 2 min away with essentials like a small selection of wine and beer. Our room (blue heron) was pleasantly decorated and featured a small tv with cable, a window air conditioner, a wood stove, electrical base board, ceiling fan, bed (queen) and sofa bed. Wi-fi is available. The bed was firm and comfortable with many pillows. The sofa bed was predictably less comfortable but still very acceptable. The bathroom was small but modern with a whirlpool bath. The common areas are nicely decorated and warm. There is a dinner offered at night ($42) - entrée, soup, main course, dessert and coffee. You can bring your own alcoholic beverage. The price might look high at first glance but the quality of the ingredients and cooking amply justify the price. Let's say that having been to many high-priced restaurant across the world, I was very satisfied by this meal. Excellent value for the price. You can also dine without being a guest but reserve ahead. Ingredients were fresh (this was summer) and there is a great emphasis on organic local food and of course fish and seafood. The food offerings are compatible with gluten-free needs. The cuisine could be described as world fusion with asian-Caribbean-australian influences. The portions were perfect for me - I would describe them as mid-size canadian, large european and small for american visitors.
Very few downsides. Perhaps the room would be seen as small for people used to expensive north american hotels (of course, the sofa bed was using some of the room space). Bathroom was also small. This is a vintage house so you could see, here and there, signs of its age but you needed to really look for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Lovely cosy comfortable rooms, full of charm. Our room had a fireplace and ensuite, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The ambience in this period home is very soothing and the music wafting through the puts you at peace. The full breakfast is scrumptious and be sure to stay on for the dinners. Perfect place for your country getaway!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooterpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This lovely Victorian home has only three rooms, so if you are interested in staying, book early if you are coming in the summer months. The room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. The huge breakfast in the morning was to good to be true (especially for the price!). If you want a completely quiet and different experience from the chain hotels and horrible overpriced hotels that we ususally find in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, come here! And the food is to die for. Unfortunately we were not able to make it the night before for dinner, but hope to next time. The Sunrise Trail is a beautiful, rural stretch of highway that is a very nice diversion from the trans-Canada highway as well. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgeorgeBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trrenton ns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

made reservations for anniversary dinner. The food was incrediable as was the host and hostess.very nice view of ocean from dining room will definately go again!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallace
3.2 mi away
Fox Harb'r Resort
Fox Harb'r Resort
#1 of 1 in Wallace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
11.9 mi away
Train Station Inn
Train Station Inn
#1 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
18.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
11.7 mi away
No photo provided
Dolan's Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Tatamagouche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
12.2 mi away
Emily's Oceanside Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jubilee Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jubilee Cottage Inn

Property: Jubilee Cottage Inn
Address: 6-13769 Rte, Wallace, Nova Scotia B0K 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Wallace
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wallace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jubilee Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious 1912 home is nestled on 3 acres overlooking the tidal shores of Wallace Harbour. Jubilee Cottage was originally built by a Wallace gentleman Robert Nelson to woo a lady friend. He used only the finest materials. Unfortunately, she rejected him and he lived alone in this house until 1928. Guests may play the piano, shoot pool, access the internet (wifi); during the warmer months, they may explore Wallace Bay on our kayaks and meet harbour seals, great blue heron and other wildlife; the Wallace Museum is a treasure trove of history; Two renowned golf courses are nearby; walking and biking trails for the more adventurous abound. Ski Wentworth Valley is only 18 minutes away for winter fun and adventure. All three guest rooms have Queen beds with ensuite bathrooms. The memorable Blue Heron room features a whirlpool bath and a fireplace, the romantic Canada Goose room has a Jacuzzi spa and the cozy Sandpiper room offers an inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jubilee Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing