We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good option on Koh ngai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for the second time and celebrated new years eve with family. Bungalow was new and clean. Service is good and location is fine on one of the better parts of the beach. Restaurant was ok but there are plenty of other options and we liked the camping restaurant. Wifi is available at the restaurant but difficult to get access to when others want it.

Erosion had started to eat parts of the area close to the beach and the beach bar were a bit disappointing this time.

Still a good option for families with a nice pool and close to the beach. Easy track to go to other side of the island to secluded paradise beach which is recommended. Snorkeling was not so good this time as there was strong winds. Resort do not push for activities but there are other vendors where you can get day trip to emerald cave or koh kradan for snorkellng.

Coco cottages also looked good when we had a drink there but they do not have a pool as far as I know.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Thanya Resort was an idyllic, quiet paradise resort in which my wife and I were fortunate to spend the final week of our Honeymoon fortnight.

Thanya is the penultimate hotel on the east coast of Ko Ngai but occupies the prettiest and cleanest patch of the 2km long white-sand beach. It's ideally located for snorkelling at the nearby rocks and kayaking as far around the island as your fitness allows. (All equipment free to hire from Thanya).

The hotel faces East and looks back onto Thailand (although you can only see a few tiny islands beyond the turquoise lagoon of the Andaman sea. These shimmer gold in the late afternoon- quite the sight!).

Food here is top notch. As Ko Ngai dining options are limited to the 6 resorts, Pad Thai will cost more than on the mainland but I'm talking £10 for two starters, two mains and a few drinks. Still very much value for money! We are at several other restaurants on the island and both preferred Thanya's offerings and service, although eating at the neighbouring Campsite is highly commended).

Breakfast was included in our rate and we feasted on eggs (made in front of you), cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts, muffins, Nutella, bacon and sausages. The cycling commute will be a struggle when I'm back in blighty! Restaurant staff speak very little English but who cares. Everybody was incredibly positive, service always swift, and I can't speak thai either. Head receptionist can speak English and was always a bubbly delight, smiling and waving at anybody that passed.

There's very little nightlife so prepare for disappointment if clubbing or late night karaoke sessions are required. Restaurants/pubs stop serving around 2230, most customers having long since left for bed.

The lodging is exactly what you'd hope for: a teak wood cabin with a large double bed that might be hard for some but I found fine. Decent sized porch on which those final few chapters can be read before bedtime in the evening heat.

Wifi works only in the restaurant and can be temperamental. But who would mark down a paradise island because Facebook was inaccessible for a few hours?!

Ko Ngai offers a few more beaches (1 large, 2 v.small) worth visiting. All our on the other side of the island and accessed via the rainforest immediately behind Thanya. There's a cracking viewpoint to find too. A two hour journey there and back full of rope climbing hills to satisfy any adventuring spirits.

Apart from the food, you'll experience very little thai culture here. All westerners. But this sunny r&r was the perfect tonic to follow a week exploring bonkers Bangkok and charming Chiang Mai.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lupu21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Thanya resort is very nice: clean and spacious bungalows and very friendly staff - the head receptionist was especially kind - sorry, never got your name. Food is fine, however since we like variety, we went to different restaurants along the beach every night.
We celebrated New Years Eve at the resort, a completely new experience for us, which we enjoyed a lot with good food, fun games and dancing!
Both the transfer to and from Krabi airport were arranged by the resort and it worked very well. The only negative thing to say is that it's a pity that all tourist wake up very early in the morning and put towels on the deck chairs and reserve them for the whole day... However, this is probably difficult for the resort to prevent...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_corsblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent 5 days there and it's the perfect place to stay.
Perfectly located on the beach, it is peaceful and one of the most quiet.
Great staff and manager.
The villas are wide, clean and were made up every day. The bathroom however was tiny, a bit dark. Beautiful garden, great pool. Cooking is tasty.
For sure not the best accomodation in asia, but for sure the best on this Island and of a great level indeed.
The Island in itself is great for a real break-up

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugholin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is ok - not nearly as nice as we had anticipated, but ok. Breakfast was not as good as in many other hotels we've been to in Thailand.
We were also a bit unlucky, as swimming in the sea was not possible as the water was filled (really - filled!) with small jellyfish.
The island is as calm as promised. What surprised us, was that the hotels on the island are somehow touristic and the restaurants don't serve good original thai food. We stayed the earlier part of the vacation on one of Ko Lanta's more peaceful beaches and hoped to get back there the whole time we were at Ngai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lipponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel has lost it's charm over the years. It probably used to look beautiful 10 years ago but lack of maintenance makes the place look bad. Rooms are fine though, they are clean and comfortable. Food is ok and staff is friendly. For us it was overpriced though.

Koh Ngai is a amazing island though and we wouldn't have missed it for the world. The Thanya Resort could have looked better but it did not stop us from having a wonderful time on the island!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertjan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautifully located at the end of the beach, Thanya offers a relaxing atmosphere. We went on a Four Islands tour and decided then and there that we would stay a couple of nights at Koh Ngai.
We were picked up from our ferry by longtail boat and dropped off at the beach. At the reception we received drinks whilst going through the check-in process. We decided to splurge and get a Beachfront Villa, which was located about 15-20 meters from the beach. I'm guessing we got a family room of sorts since it had two double beds. Room was spotlessly clean and was kept so for the duration of our stay (3 nights). A small patio with two chairs and a table outside the room. Unfortunately the pathway to the restaurant went right outside of our room so there was not as much privacy as you'd might expect from a Beachfront Villa.

Not an unlimited amount of sunbeds available, but as long as you get up in time you should be able to get one. Pool and outdoor showers were great! Staff was very friendly and some spoke English, although most staff will greet you in English they don't actually speak any. Restaurant serves good thai food and some western food we didn't try. Also, they play the same CD of easy-listening western pop songs over and over again. There's a restaurant further up the beach that serves good food at lower prices. If you're heading there for dinner, remember to bring a flashlight as there's little to no lighting on the beach apart from the resorts. Also the sand on this particular beach can make it a tough walk.

Snorkeled by the beach one day and had to pay to rent a mask and fins, which honestly I think should have been included in the price.
This hotel really tries their best to make you feel at home, but throw out the western music and play some chill thai music in the restaurant instead and let the staff that doesn't speak English greet you in thai.

All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustav538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.3 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
126 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Ngai
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Address: 105 Moo 4 | Koh Lan Ta Yai subdistrict, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanya Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing