We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's beautiful here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a gorgeous time here. Fantastic for open water swimming, nice snorkelling and for me the dawn trail running up the back to other parts of the island were sooooo good but took a bit of on line researching cos it's a jungle up there, but you are missing out if you don't get to see some other bits of this superb unspoiled island of paradise. Look we're not fussy people and places are what you make of them and how much fun you have - it's not how the sheets are folded and all that stuff. This island and resort was well at the top end of our backpacking budget and expensive by our standards but hey you seldom regret your extravagances and it was still amazingly good value and an absolute privilege to have enjoyed. Resort prices on the island were surprisingly reasonable given we couldn't leave but the camping restaurant was the best value and lovely. We tried elsewhere as a treat but it wasn't worth paying the extra as far as we were concerned.

Room Tip: Don't go beach front as you will be right by the pool or restaurant. It's no problem walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andytheestateagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 wonderful nights. We absolutely loved the island and would go back for sure. Our room at Thanya was really nice and clean. Breakfasts were included that were good (not fantastic) but still good. Wifi is only available at the restaurant which was fine. Our room was set away from the restaurant and pool area which I would recommend. I felt bad for the people who had their rooms right on the pathway that everyone has to walk to go to eat or go to the bar. I would have given this resort a 5 star if they would only bring it up a few notches. It seems as if they are just going through the motions. I believe they are trying to sell it so maybe that is why the extra effort isn't being made. Free snorkel gear is available but when we went to get some fins and masks, the two fellows sitting there just got up and walked away. No help was offered (probably because they don't speak English) but still. Almost all of the fins were extremely big, broken, stretched out, etc.and they are just thrown in a big pile. Also, when I asked if the snorkels were cleaned/sanitized the guy in charge said yes the guests rinse them out under the tap. This is not sanitary at all. They definitely need to address this. Also, the main lobby area could offer so much more if they wanted to. We went to other resorts on the beach that had snacks (ie: chips, pop,sunscreen) for sale. They have lots of room to add things but don't seem to be motivated. The grounds are pretty basic compared to the lushness of their competitors too. We would still recommend going here, but it's a real shame that more isn't being done to spruce up the grounds and maintain what they are offering.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the pool or restaurant unless you want everyone walking right by you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a bungalow at the back. Quiet, comfortable, air con and a good electric shower!
Hotel staff made an effort to make you feel welcome and breakfast was good.
Ate both nights at the Camping restaurant along the beach.
Did the 20 min walk/hike over to sunset beach( wear insect repellant).
Good snorkelling although coral better on other islands.
Well worth a stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jentrip68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was a very big surprise for me and my wife and 2 kids, this was meant to be our second to last hotel on our belated honeymoon it turned out to be our last hotel.
The kids loved the long tail boat ride out from Trang fishing pier which took about 40 mins, then the wade through the water to the hotel, once we were there we settled in quick and the location helped a lot, Which by the way is one of the best I have ever been to in Thailand if you are looking for a relaxing and piece and quiet.
We were only booked in for 3 days and were meant to go to koh Lanta but the kids begged me to stay and I did not put up a fight as this place was perfect.
We had 2 bungalows next to each other over looking the pool and sea, my favourite place in Thailand you can spend a lot more money and get a lot less, well worth ever penny.
I recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a getaway from everything holiday.

matt

Room Tip: We had 2 bungalows the top ones you could have and the were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElHaciendahomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We chose this place to stay as you could snorkel straight from the beach. This was possible even at low tide when the beach in front of other hotels just became really rocky from exposed reef. The boat ride over was a bit crowded, we transferred to the hotel by long tail and then waded through the sea to the hotel. The bungalow was really comfortable, we were right at the back so no noise from other guests walking past. We enjoyed the breakfast and found it lasted us through until dinner. We ate at the camping restaurant further down the beach and enjoyed the barbecued fish and calamari. A lovely place to relax before our final place to stay before our return to the UK - Bangkok!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alisonjane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Easy to book direct from hotel by email, they answer quickly.
Room have everything what european needs, space,aircon, clean bathroom and terrace.
Resort is directly on quiet south end of beach, but near other restaurants
and bars.
They have also big swimming pool and large area for sunbahtning.
Beakfast have wide selection of good choices.
Also good and save place for kids.

Tip. Make 20 mins walking trip to other side of island where You can be almost alone on Paradice beach.

Tip. Visit poor looking but Excellent Camping restaurant very near for dinner of Islands best BBQ seafood.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Thai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in jan 2014 and absolutely loved it. Everything is clean and modern, and the service is good too. The island itself is absolutely beautiful, and the location of Thanya on it is very good. Great place for relaxing and sunbathing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
0.3 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
129 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Ngai
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koh Ngai Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Address: 105 Moo 4 | Koh Lan Ta Yai subdistrict, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range: £39 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanya Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing