We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise for a relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ko Ngai
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little paradise for a relaxing time”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The thanya resort is very confortable, the bungalow was clean and right in front of the beach! The welcome was good, not all the staff can speak english. For sure the location is the best of the island while the restaurant it's ok.
We were disappointed fot the waste management, they obviuosly don't care enough of the evironment and this is such a pity.
Overall our stayng was great and we raccomend thaya resort.

Room Tip: We have been in the ocean front bungalow and it was perfect, for sure woth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    145
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
107
216
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The island is a load of bungalows along one stretch of beach. Thanya has the nicest section of the beach. It consists on a cute set of wooden bungalows overlooking a dramatic section of sea. They also boast a lovely pool - which is useful when the tide is out.

The bungalows are comfortable but nothing special by Thai standards.

The restaurant is good - but expensive. We also found booking trips from other resorts far cheaper which was pretty irritating.

Also beware that there are not a huge amount of sunbeds to go round.

A nice enough place but we wish we had stayed at Coco

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadams977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We transferred to Koh Ngai from Koh Kradan by long tail boat.
Great reception - our bags were carried from the beach to reception, where we washed our feet and had a refreshing drink. Our bags were then taken to our room, which was an ocean front bungalow (102 I think). We were ideally situated at the reception end of the line rather than the restaurant end, but we didn't have any issues with people walking past (the bungalows nearer the pool and reception were closer to the path).
The room was lovely - more than adequate and with air-con which was bliss. We had a TV, but never used it - why would you travel so such a destination and then watch TV!

We were at Thanya for 5 nights and for a family wedding, so there was quite a group of us here and at the next door resort, but we had plenty of space and could lose ourselves or get together as we saw fit. Some people had 'garden view' rooms and were not happy - they overlooked a small garden pond. However they did get Hornbills on their balcony, which was a bonus!

Food and service were great - omelettes at breakfast were good. We had breakfast and then just an evening meal (we weren't very hungry in the midday heat). Yes, the pool had tiles missing (health and safety in the UK would have had a fit) and there were garden benches with nails sticking out.
People nabbing beach front loungers with their towels all day and then not using them for hours on end was a bit of an issue as there were not enough to go round.
Snorkelling was good off the beach - one day we did hire a boat to go round the corner, but it wasn't as good as just off the beach (and we got stung by the 'national park' RIB demanding money to snorkel there).

Info from reception regarding getting to Krabi when we left was very mixed -"timing for ferry is wrong", "no speed boats", "all long-tail boats are booked", when we mentioned that we thought we could get a ferry (Tigerline) - oh yes and a laminated ferry timetable appeared (and others in our party got a speed boat and a long tail boat - very frustrating but it all worked out ok in the end!).

The wedding itself was beautifully organised and such an amazing setting on the beach.
I would definitely recommend Thanya for a little bit more upmarket experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front (102) near reception was great - we were almost the furthest from the restaurant and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We organised a transfer from Ao Nang to Koh Ngai on line from Oz via the Thanya resort staff. Everything went like clockwork - car picked us up... drive to the Pier... boat waiting and then we were on Koh Ngai! From the minute we got there Thunyathep (long haired man) and his staff were lovely. Made us feel very welcome. The restaurant staff were also very friendly. Our room was a wooden building. No TV bring books. A bit hot but once you got air con and fan going very nice. Cleaning staff were very sweet and friendly. Nothing a problem for them. The snorkelling on Koh Ngai is great. When the tide goes out on the main beach you can walk out and snorkel over the beautiful reef in one or two metres of water. We had a bit of an adventure whilst on Koh Ngai... a long snorkelling trip that ended in us getting back to the resort at 2am thanks to some nice Thai fishermen! The staff at Thanya were very caring and tried everything to help us out whilst we were on our adventure! Thunyathep greeted us on the beach at 2am! What more can you ask from hotel staff!!! A day or two later we organised the 4 island snorkelling trip with Thanya. The boat captain and his young tour guide were both lovely. A great day out. The camp kitchen was great for dinner for a change. We are very happy with Thanya resort and its lovely staff and would happily stay again. We organised a transfer back to Krabi with Thanya and it went just as smooth and was money well spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKRWOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent a beautiful few days at Thanya Resort on the amazing Koh Ngai.
Things we loved about Thanya:
- Great room. No TV which is awesome. Its very at one with nature so be prepared for bugs etc. But its a beautiful Thai Villa which everything you need.
- Resort restaurant is great. Food is catered to Western guests, not spicy. Service is great. Breakfast is a good selection. Prices not too expensive.
- Thanya's location on Koh Ngai beach is unbeatable. Best location on the strip.

Things we didn't like:
- Reception staff were useless. The person with the long hair lied to us was generally unhelpful unless it benefited him in some way. On the first day we arrived we asked him for information about the 4 island tour. He told us without checking, that oh they are all fully booked and not worth going. In my mind I was thinking how is this possible. I let it go. At night we went for dinner at Fantasy resort next door and they had a tour desk. So we asked, they said spots available on any day we want. 850 baht per person. We were very happy, so we booked with Fantasy Resort and had a great experience on the trip. Once we were back from the 4 island tour on the following day, the receptionist came up to us to tell us he had managed to find us a slot on a private speed boat, 2,500 baht per person.......with only 2 spots remaining. We didn't even know how to react to his lie. So we just told him we weren't interested any more. I think they take a cut of the tour money, so they want you to spend as much as you can. Very disappointed.
- HUGE SMELLY GARBAGE DUMP behind the hotel. Thanya is very un eco friendly despite appearances. They dump all their garbage, plastic etc in a dump just behind all the rooms. Its smelly, and will leech chemicals and decomposition back into the beautiful island water. They are destroying the natural habitat by not managing waste properly. This island won't last more than 5 years in this state of beauty at this rate. I hope by writing this it doesn't encourage them to just move the dump, but rather to manage their waste more effectively.
- The walking path to paradise beach is just behind Thanya. First of all our reception staff didn't tell us about it. We found out about it from Fantasy tour desk. There are no signs, no labelling. When we asked they pointed us in a vague direction. The walking path is horrible. Not terribly safe, very easy to get lost if you are not careful. The map Thanya reception gave us was close to useless and they gave us no advice. On the path we met a Swedish man and his son and they had an amazing map from their hotel, so we managed to make it to Paradise beach and boy was it paradise. Thanya should really tell more guests about this path and label it properly, Make it safe for walking because it was really beautiful on the other side.

I feel like I have really elaborated on the negatives, but only because I loved Koh Ngai so much and really want Thanya and the other hotels to help maintain its beauty.

- Stop throwing your garbage so wrecklessly. Its going to destroy everything in a year or two.
- Tell your boat people to stop driving over the reef - they are killing all the coral people come here to see.

Overall, if I went back to Koh Ngai, I would stay at either Thanya or Fantasy because they are on the best part of the beach.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in front of the pool. It can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappySmileyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Struggling to believe people have complained there is no telly and little to do...you're on a tropical island with a beautiful beach and warm sea ten yards from your front door. If you need telly in a place like that, there is no hope for you.

The cabins were lovely, the beach is great, and the setting is stunning. If you want a few days of great value chilling out, this should be high on your list. The island is small, and there is really nothing on it except a handful of villa resort like thanya, which sits at the end of the beach and is the smallest and quietest of the three or four on its side of the island. Which probably suits you - if it doesn't, you're on the wrong island anyway.

Kids are not forbidden, which is a shame for us only cos we're not burdened with them yet. But I expect it's the same everywhere.

As for cabins, the one thing I would say is you might be best to avoid the ones set directly behind the pool - as a couple of others have said on here, if you want to be really close to the sea, you still might be a bit better off being a bit further back from the pool hum if you take a second-row cabin. Aside from that, I wouldn't be too fussy picking a villa - when you get there, you're only a few steps from the beach anyway.

Room Tip: Don't take a cabin directly on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hbjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Thanya Resort for 7 nights in a garden view bungalow. We arrived to Koh Ngai from Krabi Airport with transportation arranged by Thanya (3500 baht for 2 persons). The transportation went smoothly: there was a driver with a sign waiting for us in Krabi Airport who drove us to Pak Meng Pier from which we were taken with a private longtail to Koh Ngai. We arrived at the hotel before the official check-in time and still got our room straight away.

The bungalow was on the back of the property. From the terrace we had a partial view of the sea and the jungle on the other side of the bungalow. The bungalow was spacious and clean, but showed some signs of wear: one of the windows would not shut completely (fortunately there were separate mosquito screens on the windows which were intact). There was a minibar in our room but no safety deposit box. The A/C was ok but a little inefficient. The bed was a bit hard to sleep in, we had some back pains. The cleaning crew folded clean towels as different figures each day which was nice. The room was quiet apart from the wildlife making noise at night. If you are a light sleeper consider using ear plugs.

The restaurant had very friendly staff and good food. The presentation of the food was a bit as plain but the taste was mostly good. The atmosphere of the restaurant especially at night was great. Prices are higher than in the mainland but still not expensive imho. The other restaurants on the island had very similar prices. The breakfast was also good, but the bacon was too dry.

The rest of the property also showed some aging and could use some maintenance (broken sunlounger and sunshades). They should also do something about the erosion on the beachfront. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The island was very beautiful. All the resorts except one are located on the main beach. There are no independent restaurants or shops on the island. The rest of the island is practically unspoiled jungle which you can explore by following a path from behind Thanya Resort. You should ask for directions because there are practically no markings on the paths and we got lost several times :) If you want to go to the paradise beach or the lookout point, do not follow the power lines but go straight uphill where the path crosses the power lines. The reef in front of the main beach is very beautiful and has lots of sealife. The water is clear if it's not too windy. We would highly recommend Koh Ngai for snorkeling from the beach.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalows are quieter and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Ngai
6.7 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Ko Ngai
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Thapwarin Resort
Thapwarin Resort
#5 of 8 in Ko Ngai
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort

Property: Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Address: 105 Moo 4 | Koh Lan Ta Yai subdistrict, Ko Ngai 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Ngai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Ngai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanya Hotel Koh Ngai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing