We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amended review ”
Review of La Belle Etoile

La Belle Etoile
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: the hotel is listed but not the restaurant is a separate entity
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amended review ”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Loved the staff and chefs, but the European practice of allowing dogs into the restaurant backfired, (so to speak), and degraded the experience. The staff was amazing, but the clientele made no apologies, in fact took offense at even our slightest disapproving glance.
I must commend the staff all around.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
Thank mtngate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    75
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
190 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Grand Dining Experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable meal here. From the setting to the decor, to the service to the food, everything just seemed to be great. The amuse buches started us off well, and the superb food just kept coming. This may have been our best meal in a week of Périgord dining! Don't miss this place!

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very mixed”
Reviewed 24 October 2015

It has taken me three weeks to write this review.
Food was fine, not amazing but fine.
The service and the total feel was questionable.
Bright 70's lights and peach decor was tacky to say the least.
Had to pour our own wine twice.

Ok....... the service and attitude of the waiter was disgusting.
He totally cracked it when we did not understand that it was not service included. And we only has our visa card with us and were happy to add it on.
he cracked such a bloody banana that we said we would come back the next day with a tip.
Are you kidding me???
You cracked it and you expect a tip. He even got an english speaking person to relay his displeasure and to write his name down for the tip the next day, Laugh
You totally ruined our 20th wedding anniv dinner and you expected a tip with your chewed fingernails and attitude. Please..........thank god saint Emilion saved us three days later and with a TIP.
Rude little waiters with a bad attitude should go back to service school.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pudefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
232 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Four of us had dinner here and it was a mixed experience. The dining room is a bit too bright for us. The service was a bit rushed and impersonal. We were there at opening and the restaurant was almost fully seated all at once, so they should stagger the seatings or hire another waiter! The food was a mixed bag. Some of it was very good but some was just OK. In general the food was too fussy. My advice is avoid anything served with a foam. Given the prices I expected better. It did feel like they were having an off night so we’d try them again.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent meal on a delightful terrace”
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We had lunch here. We wre lucky enough to get in without a prior booking and seated at a table on the terrace overlooking the Dordogne. The food was perfect and a great wine list from which we chose. The staff were friendly and helpful to English speakers.

  • Visited October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 632pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Etoile also viewed

La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Belle Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing